We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slopeside but ugh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Slopeside but ugh”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

beds like rock, pillows worse...ski school literally outside the window = no nap after racing...somebody else's hair on my 'fresh' towel and nobody is sweeping the corners of the bathroom floor...not worth being close to the slope to stay in squalor

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelOnWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okemomountain, Director of Lodging at Mountain Lodge at Okemo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again this past weekend, and while we are disappointed to hear your concerns, we very much appreciate that you took the time to share them with us.

There is no excuse for the cleanliness issues and we have issued you a refund on your credit card for $145. Regarding the bedding, I have also just spoken with the owners, who have agreed to install a new bed. We will also look into replacing the pillows as well.

There is not much we can do with respect to the location of ski school, as it is a very popular option for our guests in that location. We do, however, have other slopeside lodging options to consider, which are farther up the mountain, and tend to be quieter than the base lodge area.

Thank you again for your raising your concerns. We hope the race went well for you and we see you again at Okemo.

Michael Normyle
Director of Lodging, Okemo Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    12
    13
    7
See reviews for
41
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in the Okemo Mountain lodge and it was a clean but dated condo....all you really need and priced well. Beds were horrible...!!!!!!! Like sleeping on plywood....
I addresssed the issue with the lodge when leaving.
All together a nice week of skiing...cant beat the hill and the groooming was fantastic.
Will return but will try another condo....putting us on the 2nd floor with all the vacancy was
a little odd as well.....
will try a private condo next time.....other that a great time !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ace46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Furniture is old - prices are way too high - looks tired - would Never recommend it to any one . The service is slow and not well organized in the restaurants and breakfast is in a cafeteria . The TV 's in the rooms are from 1980 and the thin walls in the rooms are from the old 1970's condo's .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coxp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ludlow hotels

NYC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Horrible, Smelly, no lobby, shlep all your stuff up the stairs, same price as Jackson Gore but without the goodness, Tiny, Way Overpriced, outdated, old, shlocky, run down, not a helping hand to be found, Suckworthy,

Room Tip: Go to Jackson Gore if your going to Okemo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mitchel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okemomountain, Director of Lodging at Mountain Lodge at Okemo, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about the Mountain Lodge at Okemo. As you may or may not know, these units are all privately owned, and unfortunately there is nothing that we can do about the steps. The resort does offer and encourage our guests to enjoy our fireplace lounge and family room (with high speed Wi-Fi) in the Welcome Center, which is directly adjacent to the Mountain Lodge.

That said, we understand that many guests do prefer the Jackson Gore Inn. While these locations are similarly priced, rooms at the Mountain Lodge are quite a bit larger (500 sq ft vs approx. 350 sq ft) and have complete kitchens and fireplace in addition to a private bedroom.

Rooms at the Mountain Lodge are rented through Okemo Mt. Resort as well as many other rental agencies. I would encourage you to share your specific concerns about the interior of the unit you stayed in (if you haven't already) with the agency with whom you rented it from.

In either case, I will forward your note to the Manager of Homeowner’s Association as it is very valuable to the owner of that particular unit.

Thanks for skiing and riding at Okemo. We hope you see you again on the hill very soon.

Michael Normyle
Director of Lodging, Okemo Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

3 of us rented a 1BR unit at Okemo Mountain Lodge from Jan 1-4. It was perfectly located,about 25 yards to the A and B quads. So easy to come home at lunch,warm up by the fire,and head back out. We didn't use the car at all,another bonus.
I purchased online mid-week lift tickets for only $55.00 per day,which is quite a deal.
Fortunately,Okemo had gotten about 25" of recent snowfall so the trails were great,and they continued to make snow and groom while we were there.
No lift lines...and at times I was the only person on the trail!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonvoyage50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our overall stay in Okemo was good. This was our first year to stay slopeside, and we were pleased with
1) the quality of the condo: it is a little dated, but if I were the owner, I wouldn't put top-of-the-line furniture in a rental property either. we felt at home.
2) plenty of kitchen utensils, good bathroom toiletries
3) quiet: we were not bothered by noise, unlike some guests who've written, perhaps due to the location of our condo
4) the Spring House provided great evening entertainment for the kids, who love to swim, and relaxation for me, as the spa is right in the same area with the pool, and you can keep an eye on your children
Less positive:
1) If you get an upper-level unit, bear in mind that to use the ski locker, you and your kids will be trekking upstairs to store your skis. It still beats paying $5/night to consign them or lugging them in and out of your car daily to drive them to the motel down the road. It also is nice, despite the trek, to be able to store your boots right next to your unit, rather than in a communal ski storage area downstairs
2) the fireplace in our unit didn't draw very well. maintenance responded promptly, but there was a lot of smoke in the unit, so we didn't use it after that.
3) the pool/spa is at Jackson Gore, which means getting into the car and driving the kids over there
4) the parking lot is indeed dark and across the road, which is a bummer if you want to go out after a long day of skiing, especially if it's snowing and -5
Overall, though, we were just happy to be slopeside and had no serious complaints about the individual unit. If you have a family with small children, the ski-in, ski-out aspect of these condos, in our opinion, outweighs any negatives. If you are DINKS and in search of an active nightlife, Killington may be more to your liking. However, for families, the Mountain Lodge condos are a very good alternative and, while in some respects less convenient, also less pricey than some of the other on-mountain alternatives.

Room Tip: We obviously had a nice unit away from the snow machines, so we slept well. maybe the key to a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njmotherof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdsboro, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Jackson Gore for Christmas. Okemo has the best skiing in Vermont. The mountains are well groomed and the service is excellent. If you're not sure which mountain ski Try Okemo you will be satisfied. It is a luxury resort so it's a bit pricey but aren't all resorts pricey? I skied Stratton the week after Christmas and the lines were horrible and the mountain was not groomed and The lifts are designed poorly you have to ski uphill on almost every trail to get to the lift.Okemo is bigger, better trails,and Well groomed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.5 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 6 in Ludlow
270 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
1.8 mi away
Timber Inn Motel
Timber Inn Motel
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
3.6 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
0.8 mi away
The Pettigrew Inn
The Pettigrew Inn
#3 of 7 in Ludlow
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lodge at Okemo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge at Okemo

Property: Mountain Lodge at Okemo
Address: 306 Mountain Rd, Ludlow, VT 05149-9600
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Lodge at Okemo 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great home base, this lodge is located right in the middle of Okemo's on-mountain community. Each one-bedroom residence has a deck and four-person breakfast bar. Just a few steps away you'll find the lifts, Snow Sports Shop, Sitting Bull Restaurant & Bar, Penguin Playground Day Care, and the Snow Stars Center. Accessible to everything, including complimentary access to the new Spring House fitness and aquatic center at Jackson Gore.Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Lodge at Okemo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okemo Mountain Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing