We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eclectic atmosphere, great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Country Restaurant

Hidden Country Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Lowell
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great American restaurant serving Prime Rib, seafood and Vermont country cookin' such as Roast Turkey Dinner and Pot Roast. Salad Bar with soups and breads is available to accompany your meal. Though we're usually open Sunday- For the first three weeks in November 2016 we will be open for Friday and Saturday dinner only. Winter 2017 Hours: We will be open sporadically this winter. Please call 802-744-6149 for dates and times. For January 2017- WE'RE ON VACATION! AND we'll be open sporadically for the remainder of this winter season. Please call 802-744-6149 for dates and times.
Hyde Park, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Eclectic atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We hadn't made the 20 mile trip to Lowell and the hidden country, for quite some time. Forgot just how charming it is, we like all the old collectibles and things on the walls and ceilings, though some might not. We walked in and our old friend Dave was strumming and picking old easy-listening songs on his flattop guitar. A very pleasant surprise. Food was fantastic as usual and their well stocked salad bar a real treat. The "steak and ale" chowder was very tasty. Prices are very fair and the waitress over the top as usual. Couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Been going to Hidden Country Restaurant for a number of years, but went to have breakfast a couple weeks ago and it just was not good. It's a shame because we enjoy going there. Not inclined to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYork10NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Great date night with my husband. We loved the unique look and collectibles. The service was great. Very fresh salad bar and bread. Our seafood was also great! I can't wait to bring the kids next time

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville VT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“long time favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hidden Country has long been a favorite of ours. Great service --- the head server, Barbara, knows everyone and is most congenial--- and the weekend specials of prime rib are unsurpassed. That, coupled with soup bar and salad bar are enough to keep us returning year after year. A hidden jewel with rustic atmosphere in Vermont's north country.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Food so so, but service and fun atmosphere makes up for it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We love this place. Prime rib is excellent, alot of other entrees are just so so, but the wonderful friendly service and quirky atmosphere make up for it. This place is one in a million for its campy decor, and a must visit for anyone staying in Northern Vermont on vacation!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank rgehring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Country Restaurant also viewed

Lowell, Northeast Kingdom

Been to Hidden Country Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing