We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Upper Pass Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Londonderry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I discovered this place through Groupon and checked it out through TripAdvisor and saw that it had average reviews, and a few glowing reviews! I checked out the website and saw "Londonderry Vermont Luxury Lodging" at the top of the page near the lodge name and within the description of the facility. One of the pictures showed this grand resort at the base of a mountain so I thought it would be a great place to stay during leaf peeping season. It is also less than 1/2 hour from Manchester Village shopping! So I went for it. When I called to reserve a room, Vincent asked if I wanted to upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi for $12. Sure why not.

So we turned up the access road and came up on the Upper Pass Lodge. The sign was a cover banner, the lodge looks to be in disrepair, the parking lot is nearly empty, and across the street is an abandoned rundown hotel. I went past the lodge to make sure that what I thought was the UPL might be at the end of the road, but no.......I was at the right place! I did not see the nice black and white picture of the lodge I had seen on the website. And certainly, my first impression of this place was NOT a luxury lodge.

My partner and I sat in the car just looking at each other questioning if we should even go in. I pulled out my tablet to check everything again and we were at the right place. There even was a TripAdvisor sticker on the door. Cautiously, we approached the door and went inside. It is dark and somewhat barren. Vince was very pleasant in greeting us, and recalled speaking with me on the phone. My partner walked around checking out the lodge area (which was appropriately represented on the website) and the bar area. No one was around, and it was dark. Vince ran the charges on my card and went to a back room (closing the door behind him) to retrieve my receipt. We were told that the office closes at 9:00 however Vince left his business card and cell phone number on the back so that we could reach him if we needed anything. Apparently, he stays in a room there. All of this was really starting to creep us out. But we just had to check out the room.

The stairs up to room 19 were very steep and high. Open the door......and well......let's just say I wanted to run out immediately! I am going to try and post pictures because I don't think that you will believe what I'm about to write. The room is nearly barren as well. There is a 70's style 3' long blonde dresser with an old TV (not current flat screen) on it. The king size bed is sunken on one side and I could feel the springs. The bedspread is old school and whatever! And the jacuzzi.....well it is approx 2-3 feet to the right of the bed! There is a loose light fixture directly above the jacuzzi. The room was freakishly hot, yes a lot like hell! The bathroom is so outdated and tiny. The carpet.....dirty. The paint on the walls and ceiling is peeling. The window, that we had to open because it was so freakishly hot, is cumbersome and drafty and in disrepair.

I hated it! We did not have a good feeling about this place from the get go, and even feared for our safety. We approached Vince who was very nice and accommodating. He said that he was sorry that the lodge didn't fit our expectations and that he would refund our money. He even made a few suggestions of places that would fit our needs.

I felt that I was greatly mislead by the website, and by others who apparently had a much different experience from us. I suppose that if you were a young skier looking to have fun and party at a lodge near the base of a mountain, this might be awesome. For a family, or these two 50 yr old women, this is not the place!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank CJnLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for The Upper Pass Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 145 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have been here several times and we love it. We will come back every season. Vince is amazing and super helpful. The food is delicious and the staff is great. I recommend this place to all my friends. Londonderry is a beautiful area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakley30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Upon arrival, Sharee greeted us and checked us in. Room was comfortable with two twin beds which my wife and I found too small and had to sleep separately. Room was clean, with an extra sink in another room with bunk beds for kids if you are a family. Breakfast was satisfactory. Eggs made to order with home fries, bacon and some apple wedges. Coffee and juice. A picnic lunch was provided for the two of us, which was really enough for four people. It contained our choice of roast beef o r chicken sandwich, two containers of fresh vegetable pasta salad, and two containers of fresh fruit salad. Silverware, and cotton napkins, all packed in a chilled ice pack bag. We did lose our key card and found it strange that there was no replacement. The gentleman at the bar got us in with his card, problem temporarily solved. All and all a great place with wonderful staff managed by Vince.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on bottom floor with rear deck.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I wondered why it was cheap.. but I had room 16 with my gf and we roasted sat night... turned heat down but nothing. Next day we left window open and when we returned sun night like 9pm the room was still roasting. We went to the bar and the bar tender said that room is having issues and is either extreme hot or cold.. I was like thanks for telling us this when we checked in... I did not come to vermont to roast! I think this is lousy since they knew about it. All the guy gave us was a baby fan... wow. Glad I was not paying for this room. No hair dryer in room either. The breakfast was the worst of the three mornings I had in VT. The home fries tasted like french fries.. should be nice fresh cut potatoes like most dinersetc. have. The bacon was a joke... it was 1.5 pieces just broken in half...wow. The place sure does need more help too.. we stood at checkin for 10 mins before we found bartender and he got the owner. I'm not a fan and do not plan on ever returning here and already told friends to avoid a place that gave us cheap room with busted heating system.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aircraft C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I just stayed at the Upper Pass Lodge and we had the two bedroom suite, it was wonderful. Our rooms had two beds in a room near the bathroom and the other bedroom had a sink in it, which was very convenient. The beds were a bit hard but I didn't wake up with a back ache, so that was good.
Vince puts out complimentary coffee and finger size bites of muffins in the morning for the guests. It was right next to Magic Mountain.

Room Tip: Our room with the two bedrooms was #10, it is however on the second floor. There is a balcony that...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecoastgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here four days last week and really enjoyed our time here. All the other reviews are pretty much on the money. Vince, the manager, is worth all the raves he's gotten, but we found that all the other employees we came across are terrific also. Everyone multi-tasks and does what they can to help each other and to accommodate the guests. The current ownership is less than one year old and it seems every effort is being made to make this a successful venture--I certainly hope so, since we plan on staying here any time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had an awesome time at the Upper Pass Lodge this past weekend. The breakfast was sumptuous and the packed lunch was absolutely wonderful. The General Manager Vince was a great host. The family rooms we stayed in had two queen beds and a small attached room with two bunk beds - perfect for a family of four.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londonderry
8.6 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
337 reviews
15.5 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 5 in Ludlow
270 reviews
15.2 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Snowdon Chalet
Snowdon Chalet
#1 of 3 in Londonderry
90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magic View Motel
Magic View Motel
#3 of 3 in Londonderry
38 reviews
4.3 mi away
Swiss Inn
Swiss Inn
#2 of 3 in Londonderry
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper Pass Lodge

Address: 420 Magic Mountain Access Road, Londonderry, VT 05148 (Formerly The Lodge Vermont)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Londonderry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Londonderry
Price Range: $51 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Upper Pass Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AFFORDABLE & PET-FRIENDLY! Year Round Lodging with onsite Restaurant and Bar at the base of Magic Mountain in Southern Vermont. The Upper Pass Lodge returns slope side affordable lodging and outstanding customer service to one of Southern Vermont's founding ski areas. Whether business, pleasure, or family get-aways bring you here, we know your stay will be perfect. Budget-conscious travelers love our darn comfortable places to hang your hat after the day's big adventures. For those traveling with a crew in tow, we're also a great place for you; where kids can be kids, pets can be well-behaved pets, and everyone is welcome. The Lodge is conveniently located at the base of the Magic Mountain Ski Area. There is nothing like the convenience of staying with us and walking to the lifts (and all year-round things Magic has to offer) at Magic Mountain Ski Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Upper Pass Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Vermont Hotel Londonderry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing