We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quaint lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Upper Pass Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Londonderry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed at the Lodge for 2 nights this past week with my wife. It was a very pleasant experience.

The manager, Vince, works extremely hard and seemed to be available 24 hours a day. He checked you in, served breakfast, poured drinks at night and was a great ambassador for the lodge.

Pros - Quiet (even as a dog friendly motel), breakfast was served on the Friday and Saturday when we were there, nice lounge area to relax with fireplace and comfortable seating as well as a bar. Some rooms have personal decks that was nice to spend a leisurely evening.

Cons - Rooms are dated ( but clean and comfortable), weak wifi signal (needed to go to lobby for signal), breakfast service is very slow ( function of Vince being pulled in different directions).

If I were to be in the area, I would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank johng032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 154 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last week for two nights as part of a Living Social deal, and we were very impressed. Vince, the owner, made us feel very welcome and comfortable. He packed a picnic lunch for us (that was part of the deal) to enjoy when we went to Weston to the Vermont Country Store. He served us delicious complete breakfasts every morning, and gave us a bottle of Vermont wine when we departed. He is the perfect host, and I know that people will return again and again to his establishment. I know we will!

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor which was very convenient for my husband who has mobility issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JANE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Upper Pass Lodge is a little old, and some parts could use updating.

Other than that it was great! Vince (the GM) is amazing and never stops working to make sure everything is the way it should be. We stayed there with a living social deal. As other people have said, the lunch on Saturday was great. We brought it on our hike and it was perfect.

Breakfast was also included...I will say, if we had been paying for the meal, the slowness of the service would have been concerning. Since it was included in our deal and we weren't in a rush the 90 minutes we were there was fine. They have a self-service coffee bar w/ little tea breads, so you can have a little snack and all the coffee you want while you wait. Everything tasted great.

It's nice to see people working so hard to make a welcoming environment for their guests. In addition, wi-fi and parking are included. You should stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I just returned from an absolutely great weekend at Upper Pass Lodge. From the moment we arrived at 9:00 PM Friday night, the General Manager, Vince Presciti, proved to be the MOST gracious innkeeper we have ever met. He started out by asking if we'd had our dinner. We did, but what impressed us was his genuine concern and that he was willing to make us something to eat, even though the kitchen had closed.

In the short time we we were there, we know we have made a real friend. Vince is new in this position, starting less than a year ago last November. He carries with him lots of experience managing both big and small hotels. He's the kind of host who's always right there when you need him, yet he's not in your face. He works like the Energizer Bunny, but he always has time to chat.

We received the weekend getaway package that our newly married daughter and son in law gave us through Living Social. The included breakfasts were great, but we were unaware that a picnic lunch on Saturday was part of the deal. Vince asked us during breakfast what kind of sandwich we would like and then told us he'd have it ready when we left for the day. My wife came out with this heavy, attractive insulated tote and remarked that she thought she'd need two hands just to carry it. We put it in the back of the car and didn't think about it till we were hungry. We found a bench in a nice little park in Weston near the Vermont Country Store and opened the bag. To our surprise, we didn't have just two great sandwiches, but 2 little crocks of two different types of mayo, two good sized portions of a great tri-colored pasta salad, 2 jars of fresh fruit salad and 2 bottles of water. The best part was the 2 setups of silverware each wrapped up decoratively in linen napkins. I almost thought Vince might just hop out of the bag to serve us! I truly expected a sandwich and a bag of chips in a cardboard box.

The facility is a very clean ski lodge, nothing elaborate. The only thing we think it needs are a few updates to the bathrooms. While I wouldn't classify it as a five star hotel, the service was six star, to say the least. Our dinner that wasn't included was awesome. For a ski lodge the kitchen puts out first class meals, better than many fancy restaurants. When you go, try the Flat Iron Steak, you won't be disappointed.

We wish Vince and his staff continued success and know we will return this winter for some skiing. The walk up the tiny hill to the Magic Mountain ski area is a shorter walk than from the parking lot of a large ski resort to their front door.

This place is a real gem, is very reasonable, and is all because Vince the Prince, treats you like royalty in a very casual, friendly, yet thoroughly professional way. Check it out - you will definitely return for further visit.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at The Upper Pass Lodge for 5 nights. Great value. The rooms are clean and comfortable and generally quiet. We had a family room which has a separate room with bunk beds, lots of space for my family. Vince is wonderful, always around to help in any way he can. My kids loved his little pup Brico. Very relaxing we all had a great time, didn't want to leave. Will definitely be back. Timber quest is a 2 minute walk away and is fantastic for kids and teenagers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at the upper pass lodge for 2 nights with a groupon for a little getaway with my girlfriend. Had a great time during my stay, Vince the hotel manager was super nice and helpful making sure we had everything we needed and recommended some great ways to spend our time near Londonderry. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice personal deck that was a pleasant surprise. The breakfast there was very good, and the complementary coffee in the lobby was a great touch. We also had a nice evening at the bar in the hotel one night, with Vince serving us drink and providing some great conversation. Overall I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to getaway for a few days in beautiful Vermont this hotel is quiet, clean, comfortable with good food and excellent service! Also has some great rates so a great package overall.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed up here for 4 nights, just last week. We fell in love with Vermont, and our stay at the Upper Pass was great. The manager, Vince, goes above and beyond, to make sure that all guests enjoy their stay and are well taken care of.

Upon arrival, he gave us his phone number, saying he was available for us 24-7. We thankfully never needed him at 4 am, but I would bet that even if we had, he would have shown up smiling. He couldn't have been more hospitable, or harder working. Every morning he's putting out/refilling coffee, bringing breakfast, answering phones, chatting with everyone, pretty much doing it all, and by the end of the day, he's still going, serving drinks at the bar, recommending restaurants, making sure that everyone has been taken care of and is enjoying their stay- and through it all, he's smiling, attentive, and friendly!!! You'd be hard pressed to find better service, I'm sure.

Breakfast was delicious, and our room was great- we stayed in one of the jacuzzi suites, which was AWESOME to relax in at the end of a long day. We didn't get a chance to try out the pool outside, since there were so many other things we wanted to do, but it was nice to have the option.

We couldn't have been happier, and we are planning to go back to visit in the fall, when the leaves are changing, and we just can't wait!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londonderry
15.5 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Snowdon Chalet
Snowdon Chalet
#1 of 3 in Londonderry
91 reviews
1 mi away
Magic View Motel
Magic View Motel
#2 of 3 in Londonderry
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Swiss Inn
Swiss Inn
#3 of 3 in Londonderry
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Gentian Lodge
Blue Gentian Lodge
#2 of 4 in Londonderry
55 reviews
14 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper Pass Lodge

Address: 420 Magic Mtn Access, Londonderry, VT 05148-9812 (Formerly The Lodge Vermont)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Londonderry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Londonderry
Price Range: $42 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Upper Pass Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AFFORDABLE & PET-FRIENDLY! Year Round Lodging with onsite Restaurant and Bar at the base of Magic Mountain in Southern Vermont. The Upper Pass Lodge returns slope side affordable lodging and outstanding customer service to one of Southern Vermont's founding ski areas. Whether business, pleasure, or family get-aways bring you here, we know your stay will be perfect. Budget-conscious travelers love our darn comfortable places to hang your hat after the day's big adventures. For those traveling with a crew in tow, we're also a great place for you; where kids can be kids, pets can be well-behaved pets, and everyone is welcome. The Lodge is conveniently located at the base of the Magic Mountain Ski Area. There is nothing like the convenience of staying with us and walking to the lifts (and all year-round things Magic has to offer) at Magic Mountain Ski Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Upper Pass Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Vermont Hotel Londonderry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing