We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute gem - will be returning.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Upper Pass Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Londonderry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute gem - will be returning.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Visited The Upper Pass Lodge for a two day getaway and was impressed upon arrival. The General Manager, Vince, really made us feel welcome and has really made this special gem worth ever dollar spent.

The room was wonderful, clean, spacious and comfortable with a great bed, pillows and the jacuzzi just incredible.

Breakfast was A++++, very good food all locally produced aiding to the community, as were the local assortment of beers and alcoholic drinks available at the bar.

The decor really is splendid and made the feel all the more wonderful and comforting during our stay. An array of activities were available on the doorstep and we spent some time in Manchester only 15 minutes away visiting the outlets and taking in some of the scenic views.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit the mountains for a few days of relaxation whether it be fishing, horseback riding, shopping, hiking, there really is so much to do and the hotels website lists a multiplicity of things you can get up to.

Looking forward to visiting in the future and left feeling extremely relaxed, fulfilled and pampered, the General Manager, Vince was absolute amazing and really adds personality and character to the hidden treasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    38
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
41
59
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I had plans to attend a weekend-long music festival at Magic Mtn. We weren't keen on camping, since it was predicted to rain all wknd. The festival's website recommended The Upper Pass Lodge. Not being familiar with the area, we headed the site's advice. We arrived on a Friday. Though check-in wasn't until 3pm, we were thankfully able to access our room a few hours early. The property was immaculate. From point of entry, to lounge, to dining room to bathrooms, we felt the attention to detail to be one deserving of applause. The access and frequency of the shuttles, to and from the festival site, couldn't have been more convenient. Though we were too busy and tired from attending our scheduled events, we weren't able to visit the bar or restaurant in the lodge. For what we visited the lodge for, it proved to be everything it promised. We plan on visiting again, for next year's festival.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alandry1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Wonderful, Wonderful stay!
I can't say enough good things about this Lodge.
I wasn't expecting too much due to the $69 a night for 2 full beds and a separate room within with a bunk bed and sink--- but was I very mistaken.

The manager Vince is the best hotel/ inn manager I've ever met. He treated us like he was family. He was attentive, helpful, and just went above the call every day.
One person in our party became ill and he offered help at every turn. We had HEAT bc it was so cold this Memorial Day weekend!!! Extra thanks!!!!
And he gave us 2 servings of hot wings to go ON THE HOUSE bc we weren't able to sample during our stay.
My family went absolutely crazy for them---
Tea and coffee out early and all day
Dominic the chef was friendly and made the best pastries for breakfast!

The most important thing to my famiy is CLEANLINESS! The inn is immaculate--Vince vacuums all day-- the common rooms and the bedrooms were so unbelieveably clean and comfortable. Sure it could use upgrading but that just added to the charm.
The lodge is quaint and looks like a postcard. There is a little stream that runs down the side of the property that my dog loved. There is a pool however weather was too cold and rainy to think about swimming-- as a matter of fact there was snow on Magic during the weekend!!
We also had a door which also lead outside with a porch with table and chairs--unbelievable!

And did I mention that it literally is at the base of Magic Mountain--
Skiing in the winter,
TimberQuest all summer!
I am looking forward to many future stays in this hidden gem!
Thanks for the great weekend Vince and Dominic!!

Room Tip: Rooms on south side have porches with tables and chairs Northside door to lodge and parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kath3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have a second home in the area and was looking for accommodations for a large family gathering. Vince (Manager) was friendly and extremely helpful. He was more than happy to give a tour of all facilities to decide which rooms would be best. My main concern was cleanliness in a "country" environment,- well all the rooms were exceptionally clean and bright. I had no reservations about my guests stay. Family members who stayed in Upper Pass could not say enough, hey were extremely pleased. For the price you cannot go wrong. Snuggled at Magic Mountain year round there are activities for couples and families, such as skiing, lake sports and Timberquest Park. Thanks Upper Pass Lodge for making our family gathering more than we could have expected.

Room Tip: There are rooms for couples, small and large families, so check with the hotel. The management gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

What a great weekend. We were only feet from the ski mountain. The Lodge was comfortable, clean, and our room was perfect. The hot tub was a nice end to a day of skiing. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Food was great but would have liked to have more than a continental breakfast. Look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: the hot tub is well worth it after a day skiing, hiking, or biking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chantelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

There are plenty of reasons we love the Upper Pass Lodge: the hotel manager, the price/location, and the fact that it's dog-friendly. The hotel manager, Vince, treats us like family (or better!!)! He knows which room we like, what kind of tea we drink, and always has a perfect fire going! The rooms are clean and comfortable but the kids and I hang out in the lounge every night! Everyone comes and chats there--or reads, play games, etc! The location is perfect--we considered renting an apartment or condo for the whole ski season since my husband ski patrols at Magic almost every weekend but the UpperPass Lodge is a better deal and so convenient! We walk to the slopes so each family member can come and go whenever they want! The dog loves coming to Vermont, too, and is welcome here! We wouldn't want to leave her at a kennel every ski weekend! And we don't have to!! At the end of the season, my husband dislocated his shoulder skiing and Vince volunteered to drive him to/from the hospital! That's what this place is all about--friendship, commaradarie, and of course, enjoying all that the area has to offer--skiing, snowshoeing, visiting local towns, etc! Hearing plans for the restaurant and watching the renovations has been exciting too! The chef, Dom, makes great wings (among other things!) and has a wonderful menu in the works!! Can't wait for next ski season... Think snow!!! ...on second thought, the UpperPass Lodge will be great in any season! See you soon, Vince!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The lodge was clean and attractively decorated. We loved the fire in the lounge. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The view and proximity to the ski area was wonderful. The front desk was happy to help us with any requests. We enjoyed the free continental breakfast, but wish that a hardier breakfast was available for purchase in the dining room. We wish there was a hot tub for soaking sore muscles after a day on the slopes.

Room Tip: They have suites available to comfortably fit a family of five and give everyone a little space. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londonderry
8.6 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
333 reviews
15.5 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
271 reviews
15.2 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Snowdon Chalet
Snowdon Chalet
#1 of 3 in Londonderry
88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magic View Motel
Magic View Motel
#3 of 3 in Londonderry
38 reviews
4.3 mi away
Swiss Inn
Swiss Inn
#2 of 3 in Londonderry
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper Pass Lodge

Property: The Upper Pass Lodge
Address: 420 Magic Mountain Access Road, Londonderry, VT 05148 (Formerly The Lodge Vermont)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Londonderry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Londonderry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Upper Pass Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AFFORDABLE & PET-FRIENDLY! Year Round Lodging with onsite Restaurant and Bar at the base of Magic Mountain in Southern Vermont. The Upper Pass Lodge returns slope side affordable lodging and outstanding customer service to one of Southern Vermont's founding ski areas. Whether business, pleasure, or family get-aways bring you here, we know your stay will be perfect. Budget-conscious travelers love our darn comfortable places to hang your hat after the day's big adventures. For those traveling with a crew in tow, we're also a great place for you; where kids can be kids, pets can be well-behaved pets, and everyone is welcome. The Lodge is conveniently located at the base of the Magic Mountain Ski Area. There is nothing like the convenience of staying with us and walking to the lifts (and all year-round things Magic has to offer) at Magic Mountain Ski Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Upper Pass Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Vermont Hotel Londonderry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing