We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good; distinctive flavor”
Review of Magic View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magic View Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Londonderry
Reviewed February 20, 2013

(+) Rustic rooms; the place has some old charm
(+) Barbara (who took the reservation and greeted us there) was quite nice
(+) Good rate, especially for a real-last-minute booking around the President's Day holiday, when everywhere else for miles seemed fully booked; Barbara took our reservation by phone, no rate surprises when we got there
(+) Decent continental breakfast, nothing fancy, but good enough for a quick bite before heading for the slopes

(-) Very weak water flow/head in the shower, but gets the job done
(-) Room layout could've been better; in the room we had, the desk and chair are right next to the door, making it hard to sit at the desk and have people come in and go out of the room

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sockrateez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 39 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

As longtime guests, we always look forward to our annual January stay at the Magic View Motel. A warm welcome from Barbara sets the up-beat tone for our ski vacation. We settle in to our favorite room, delighted with the amenities of a ski rack, a refrigerator and DirecTV (100's of channels!). Our ski days begin with a hearty expanded Continental breakfast featuring multiple varieties of cereal, fresh fruit, English muffins, bagels, pastries, oatmeal, hot chocolate, to name a few selections. We always sleep well in our quiet room. Magic View is conveniently located near Magic Mountain & Bromley, and half way between Stratton and Okemo--all great ski areas. Fine restaurants can be found as close as 1 mile away or situated along Route 11 (an easy drive). Favorites include The Swiss Inn & Restaurant, Johnny SeeSaws, The New American Grill and Jake's Restaurant and Tavern. Barbara's charming hospitality and excellent maintenance of her motel are the prime reasons why we look forward to "coming home to Magic View".

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monetadmirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a ski trip. The room was an old-style motel room, very clean with a comfortable firm bed. Barbara laid out a nice breakfast (continental-plus), and was super-kind to set us up with coffee for the second morning when we needed to leave early. Good location near Stratton and Okemo. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Some rooms are set up for three people (single + queen) or four people (double + bunk bed)--great op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Over the past 5 years, we have stayed at the Magic View for several days most weeks during the ski season. The Magic View is close to several of the ski areas we enjoy. As with many older motels, many of the rooms are relatively small. However, they are very clean and cozy, with comfortable beds and a refrigerator. A continental breakfast is provided. Over the years, Barbara, the owner, has made many improvements to the structure and the decor. She is also very helpful in providing information when there are any special needs. The Magic View is a great value for those looking for a quiet, clean, and reasonably priced place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Me and my family like to return to this motel again and again.It made me feel 'me' again.It's a kind of magical place where you can feel rejuvenated.A true relaxing family vacation.The rooms are very clean and the owner very nice and helpful.


Michael M.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yelena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a great expierience at the motel. The room was clean and spacious , Totally recommended
Owner very friendly and gave us few tips about the area and shopping. We will be coming back for the Columbus Day weekend

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My family and I stayed Columbus Day weekend and was very happy with the beautiful scenery and peaceful atmosphere. Barbara, the owner was very attentive and helpful in advising the best places to visit. The motel was extremely clean and is great value for the money. We will be back next fall.

Mike, Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londonderry
14.9 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
280 reviews
12.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
678 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
9.5 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Snowdon Chalet
Snowdon Chalet
#1 of 3 in Londonderry
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic View Motel

Address: 3806 Vt Route 11, Londonderry, VT 05148-9551
Location: United States > Vermont > Londonderry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Londonderry
Price Range: $85 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magic View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magic View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing