We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vermont countryside charm close to a great selection of Vermont ski areas”
Review of Blue Gentian Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Gentian Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Londonderry B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Very clean and well run inn. Enjoyed the hospitality of the host owners who were friendly and available to make our small group's stay as pleasant as possible. The inn is very close to Magic Mountain which is a small gem of a ski resort. Also very close to Okemo, Stratton, Bromley and Killington.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctor_jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 54 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2011

My husband and I visit the Blue Gentian several times per winter while we ski with friends. Our pass is at Okemo in Ludlow, about a half hour away. We prefer this for price and charm far above anything in Ludlow, but skiiers will find Bromley, Magic Mountain, and Stratton very close by.

Lisa and Ken are the inn keepers. The place is charmingly decorated with Lisa's art, scherenschnitte, and quilts - some of which are for sale as well. The rooms are spacious and have comfortable beds, feather duvets, and attractive art. The main room of the inn is available for guests to sit by the fire after skiing with our own wine and cheese or to visit again after dinner so spend time with friends old and new.

Breakfast is complementary and delicious. Fruit, juices, cereals hot and cold are always available. One morning of our last visit we had eggs, sausage and toast, the next day whole wheat/sour cream waffles, the next day a mediterranean fritatta, and the last day pancakes. There is usually bacon or sausage with the cooked breakfast.

I can't imagine finding another inn as pleasant and fun at a value like this!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gipekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

The Blue Gentian Lodge exceeded expectations! The lovely art for sale at reasonable prices created by the hostess provide a homey backdrop and decorating ideas! The breakfast was lovely, beds comfy, setting pleasant and relaxing. I truly recommend it! Magic Mountain slopes are walking distance!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

This wasn't our first time staying at the Blue Gentian and it won't be our last. The rooms are comfortable and each has its own unique style/decor. I love that you can look out the back window of your room and see almost all of Magic Mountain - it's especially beautiful when it's snowing but equally so when the foliage is at its peak in the Fall. The main lobby/livingroom/diningroom of the lodge is also very comfortable and homey. You can curl up by the fire w/a book or play cards or just relax and do nothing. The owners are very accomodating and friendly and have lived all over the world so they are quite interesting to talk to as well. One of the owners, Lisa, is extremely creative and quite the artist as evidenced by her beautiful "Scherenschnitte" (paper cutting) artwork. (and it's all for sale!!)

All in all, this is a down to earth place to stay with down to earth owners and is best for down to earth people. It will transport you back to a time when the pace was a little slower and you didn't need a lot of gadgets and devices to entertain you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Massgofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

This "lodge" is nothing more than an old-school motel, complete with outdoor room entrances and parking lot right in front. The fake wood paneling and asbestos tile ceiling (with those strange holes popular back then) might have me reeling of nostalgia, if I had been alive back in the good old days. Now, the place just seems worn and tired. Thin walls allowed us to hear all of the other guests, from the partying 20-somethings at 1 A.M. to the early risers showering at 6. Beds that might have had mattresses and blankets as dated as the ceiling didn't help with sleeping either. But the coup de grace of the lousy experience at this place had to be the gruff charmless owners. The dude didn't say two words, and every comment out of the innkeepstress' mouth was snarky. We felt like we were in trouble for everything, from how to open the container of granola to coming into the "closed" lobby after hours. Everything we needed or asked for seemed like a supreme bother to these people. They weren't smiling for the other guests either, so it just seems like they are tired (like the decor) of the business. Oh, and there was some strange Christian paraphernalia around, which is fine if you are cool with that, but always feels uncomfortable to agnostic me. We paid a pretty penny to stay here and it was far from worth it.

I also have to mention the downside of the location. The lodge is located right near Magic Mountain, which has its charms, but once you take a few runs down the poorly groomed trails and hit a rock or two, you might think otherwise. It's not super far from other attractions, but it is clearly an outdated on-mountain lodge for a downtrodden and severely outdated ski area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGentianLodge, Owner at Blue Gentian Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2010

Magic Mountain ski area is know for it's steep challenging terraine, not for the faint of heart, and we consider it a feature to be walking distance from the lifts. The Blue Gentian Lodge is a place for the 'serious skier'. There is no bar. Most folks retire to bed early and wake up early to hit the slopes. Quiet hours (11pm to 7am) are posted in the informational booklet provided in each room.
Descriptions and photos of our rooms are available on our website and customers are more than welcome to inspect their rooms before checking in. Provided in each room is a bible as well as daily devotional guide which many of our guest appreciate. One of the Innkeepers is an artist. On a wall inside the Lodge is a collection of her artwork which at the moment includes some religious themed items such as: 'The Tree of Life', a 'Menorah', and a 'Shalom', as well as a variety of hand cut paper Christmas ornaments, all are on display because they are for sale. Over 50% of our business is driven by 'church retreats' therefore there is a bookshelf in the Lodge containing a large quantity of bibles and other reading material for their workshop and seminars. Sincere appologies to those folks that are offended by the sight of 'Christian paraphernalia'.

Self-service on some of our breafast items, including the pump coffee urns, hot water tea kettle and tupperware type pourable plastic containers are difficult for some of our guests to use. Rather than risking food contamination and a risk to our other guests we feel that assisting them is more appropriate.

There are only 2 rooms remaining on this property that have not been fully renovated. There is no asbestos tile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

We stayed at the Blue Gentian in March '09 with our 2 childen (21 and 24) for a mini-ski trip. This place is full of charm! Both of our rooms were spotless, and nicely decorated with warm pine trim and lovely floral curtains. Bathrooms were a bit small, but that wasn't a problem for us. Convenient storage cubbies inside the room were very handy for our ski/snowboarding gear! Common living area in main lodge is cozy and warm, complete with fireplace and friendly cats to pet. The dining room is charming, decorated with beautiful handmade Scherenschnitte (german paper cutting), handmade quilts, and folk art painting. Finally, relaxing in the outdoor hottub was the perfect touch to a long day on the slopes. We got a great deal for a ski/stay package (for Stratton - our favorite mountain), and plan to return here again this winter.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slopesquad4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Newly remodeled hotel with fascinating rooms. Not your average business hotel. My room had wainscoting with a chair rail and pocket doors. Nicely furnished with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was hot or cold cereal plus French toast cooked to order by the owners. Of course there was juice and coffee, just right to start the day. Breakfast didn’t start until 8:00 a little late for a business trip but most people were tourists and didn’t need an early start. I wish there was a coffee maker in the room but beyond that the price was reasonable even during the foliage season. Check the rates on their website; it changes for different times of year and on weekends.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaleRep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londonderry
0.1 mi away
The Upper Pass Lodge
The Upper Pass Lodge
#1 of 4 in Londonderry
152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Magic View Motel
Magic View Motel
#2 of 3 in Londonderry
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Snowdon Chalet
Snowdon Chalet
#1 of 3 in Londonderry
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Swiss Inn
Swiss Inn
#3 of 3 in Londonderry
59 reviews
9.7 mi away
Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast
5.9 mi away
The Inn at Weston
The Inn at Weston
#1 of 3 in Weston
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gentian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gentian Lodge

Address: 289 Magic Mtn Access, Londonderry, VT 05148-9794
Location: United States > Vermont > Londonderry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Londonderry
Price Range: $106 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Gentian Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking distance to Magic Mountain Ski area! This charming 13 room B&B has an outdoor pool and hot tub. Each room has a private bathroom. A hearty complimentary breakfast is served each morning. Nearby Bromley, Stratton, Okemo & Viking Ski areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Gentian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing