We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place with Great Hosts”
Review of Snowdon Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snowdon Chalet
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Londonderry
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place with Great Hosts”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Snowdon Motel. The hosts are terrific and caring and introduced us to their really cool hydroponic garden. The location is great and our room was simple and tastefully decorated, very clean and quiet with a nice balcony and comfortable lounge chairs. The view was also nice. We are going to be returning to Vermont and won’t hesitate staying again. The Snowdon is just minutes from Lowell Lake which is a gem for kayaking and swimming, bird and wildlife watching (see attached photo). It is also very convenient to the Vermont Country Store, Manchester, and skiing. Trail heads for the Long Trail are only 15 min away and you are minutes from the National Forest and all kinds of hiking. The bottom line is nice accommodations at a fair price.

Room Tip: Our upstairs double room on left was great, balcony is really cool, wonderful mourning doves
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takinahike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    24
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
29
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

I said I would come back and I did! LOL! Service was just as great as on the first visit even though the owner was away. Winnie was filling in and was welcoming and friendly, even though we arrived very late. The room was spotless and there was a nice variety of breakfast items the following morning. I will definitely go back a third time when in the area!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GypsyGirl1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Spent two nights here. When we arrived, the owner walked us to our room, unlocked the door, turned on the light and turned up the heat. He made us feel very welcomed and at home. One thing I worry about when staying in motels is that the heater will clank all night long but that didn't happen here. You couldn't even hear it turn on or off...so quiet! Plenty of good lighting which is important to us readers! Internet was free which is something I don't always get even at Hilton Hotels! Also, we never heard one neighbor through the walls! The room was very clean and cozy...nice chair with footstool for putting your feet up after a long day! I absolutely would stay here again on another visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GypsyGirl1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The room was spotless. The owner gave me a choice of rooms, warning me that there was a small group of college students coming and offering to put me at the quiet end. Well cared for motel. You could adjust the temp in the room--really important because it was MINUS 9 in the morning when I went out! Oh ya, free wi-fi--Fast. Only a few minutes from 3 ski hills.

Room Tip: Loved the bottom floor, because my car was right in front of the room. No dragging luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed here last week while ski resort hopping for a few days throughout Vermont and found our stay to be just alright. It's an older motel so we weren't expecting the best. Overnight rates were decently priced and staff was welcoming. Would definitely go back if going with friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avenanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCHESTER
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This Inn is what it is. It is an older motel in a nice setting. Older does not mean it is not as clean or as comfortable, just that its old, The owner does a great job making it nice for his guests. He takes pride in his Inn and it shows. The price is nice and the location is great. If you need a place to rest and relax on your journey this fits the bill. Don't expect a 5 star, it is not, it is what it is and is good at it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is an older inn. However, it's very clean, the beds are comfortable and the place is cozy. The owner is very welcoming and friendly. The price is great and the location can't be beat for Bromley or probably Stratton Mountain. We had booked one night so we could spend the day at Bromley Mountain for the Alpine Slide. We had friends staying in the area. Breakfast is provided with toast, bagels, fruit, cereal, coffee, juice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRob28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londonderry
9.2 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
330 reviews
8.9 mi away
Stratton Mountain Resort
Stratton Mountain Resort
#1 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
193 reviews
13.7 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
268 reviews
12.6 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magic View Motel
Magic View Motel
#2 of 3 in Londonderry
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowdon Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowdon Chalet

Property: Snowdon Chalet
Address: 4071 VT Rte 11, Londonderry, VT 05148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Londonderry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Londonderry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Snowdon Chalet 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowdon Chalet offers affordable retro lodging in the heart of the "Golden Triangle" of southern Vermont's ski areas including Magic, Bromley and Stratton and Okemo. This Alpine Chalet style motel offers simple accommodations in 12 guest rooms, each with private baths and large windows overlooking Vermont woodlands. Located off Route 11 in Londonderry, means easy access to all your year-round Vermont adventures! Snowdon Chalet located in Londonderry, Vermont, has panoramic views of Glebe Mountain AKA Magic Mountain as our backdrop in the middle of the Taconic Mountains and the Green Mountains. Guests eager to get close to nature will appreciate Snowdon Chalet's park-like setting on 5 acres, with several lakes nearby including Lowell Lake State Park. Snowdon Chalet Features: Air Conditioning, an Energy Star 32 inch Flatscreen Cable TV, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave, an ensuite bathroom with eco-friendly toiletries, recycling bin, along with retro charm and large windows overlooking the Vermont woodlands. *The Budget Room (#9) is a small guest room without a/c or large windows, no view. Complimentary Continental Breakfast from 7am - 9am in the office/breakfast nook area. A light breakfast, consisting of coffee, tea and baked goods with butter and jam. BBQ Grill and picnic tables (in the summer & fall months) Covered terrace area with seating area Upstairs rooms have a large shared balcony to enjoy. Things to Do nearby: Magic Mountain Ski Area, Stratton Ski Resort, Bromley Ski Resort, Okemo Ski Resort, (each ski resort has tons of activities all summer long) Mountain CommUnity Yoga, Lasser Ceramics, The Weston Playhouse, The Vermont Country Store, The Weston Priory, Waterwheel House Quilt Shop, Lowell Lake State Park, Jamaica Cottage Shop (they build tiny homes and more), local Farmer's Markets, Taylor Farm, horseback riding, Tater Hill Golf Course, Green Mountain National Forest, Hapgood Pond and Emerald Lake (swimming summer months) and Mount Equinox Skyline Drive. Viking Nordic Center is one of the oldest cross-country ski centers in North America which is just down the road from us. Wild Wings Ski Touring Center located in Peru. Nearby restaurants: The Garden Cafe & Gallery, The New American Grill, Jake’s Restaurant and Tavern, The Maple Leaf Diner (breakfast & lunch), Grandma Miller’s Pies, The Mill (winter only) The Red Slate Restaurant, SoLo Farm to Table, JJ Hapgood General Store and Eatery and Bromley Market a full-Service Gourmet Deli with BBQ Smoker/Wood Fried Pizzas and amazing Maple Creemees in the summer! Towns Nearby: Weston, Windham, Jamaica, Peru, Manchester, Ludlow , Chester and Grafton. The village of Londonderry is 2 miles away with a small grocery store, pharmacy store, liquor store and 2 gas stations. Along with a few restaurants listed above. Please keep in mind this is rural Vermont and they close by 9pm usually. Gas stations are earlier. Please plan accordingly. Cell phone service is spotty at best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Snowdon Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing