We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent, very clean small independent motel”
Review of Snowdon Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snowdon Chalet
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Londonderry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This motel is well-situated for visits to Weston and vicinity. It is immaculately kept up, quiet, has pleasant grounds. I would highly recommend it to anyone seeking an inexpensive, nice place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collingswoodtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 91 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here over Presidents Day weekend. It was the perfect place to stay - a 10 minute drive to Stratton Mountain, very reasonably priced, breakfast included, and extremely nice owner. The decor could use a little sprucing up, but coming home after a day on the slopes, I didn't care what was on top of the comfy, king sized bed. There are a few places nearby to eat, and we liked picking up snacks on the way back from the mountain at the little country stores. The power went out and they accidentally charged us twice for one night. They wiped the extra charge, and for our trouble gave us a free night to use any time within the next year. So thoughtful!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SybilAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Stayed at the Snowdon for a weekend in January. This is now our "go to" place when we ride at Magic Mtn. Our room was quiet, clean, comfortable and affordable. The owner is very friendly and accomodating!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knuckledrager40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We used this motel for a week whilst we were in Vermont to visit family and explore the area. Upon arrival, the owner gave us a genuine welcome. as he Motel was not full and we were there for a few days, he offered us the choice to upgrade for free and pick the room we wanted, showing us round the options. A really nice touch I thought.

The room was clean and tidy with 2 comfortable double beds, plenty of storage space although the decor was a bit dated both in the room and the bathroom. There were no tea & coffee making facilities in the room, although there was a microwave. Good free wifi though.

It was an excellent location for several ski resorts, Magic Mountain 2 minutes away, Stratton, Bromley & Okemo all within 30 minutes drive.

Overall a good value place to stay with a friendly owner, but dont expect any frills.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatfish59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We booked the Snowdon Motel as a last resort, not realising staying somewhere one night over Columbus Weekend in the fall is practically impossible!

We were impressed by how easy the Snowdon Motel was to find, and it was excellently priced. The room was clean, but presentation was an issue - the old decor was definitely on its last legs and the carpet may have been clean, but it had some faded stains!

Breakfast is literally barely more than toast and coffee, but again, it's functional.

We were happy for a night, but wouldn't suggest longer, even if you're planning long days.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessKenny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

You will never meet a nicer motel owner! The rooms are very clean and may seem out of date, but it is comfortable. It was nice to know that we could use the fire pit and the barbeque grill at anytime. Beautiful country setting off of the beaten track...just what the Dr ordered!!!! Cannot say enough good things about the staff! I would (and will) go back to the Snowdon Motel again :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traceygirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

I had a very nice stay in the Snowdon Motel. Faheem, the owner, was friendly and chatty and went above and beyond in mailing me a book I had accidentally left behind. The continental breakfast included a nice selection of fruit, fresh coffee, plenty of bagels and bread products and several types of cereal. The beds were comfy and the location is perfect for a day of skiing at Bromley Mountain. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ildera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londonderry
15.1 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
280 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
13.7 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magic View Motel
Magic View Motel
#2 of 3 in Londonderry
39 reviews
3.6 mi away
Swiss Inn
Swiss Inn
#3 of 3 in Londonderry
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowdon Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowdon Chalet

Address: 4071 VT Rte 11, Londonderry, VT 05148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Londonderry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Londonderry
Price Range: $74 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Snowdon Chalet 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowdon Chalet offers affordable retro lodging in the heart of the "Golden Triangle" of southern Vermont's ski areas including Magic, Bromley and Stratton and Okemo. This Alpine Chalet style motel offers simple accommodations in 12 guest rooms, each with private baths and large windows overlooking Vermont woodlands. Located off Route 11 in Londonderry, means easy access to all your year-round Vermont adventures! Snowdon Chalet located in Londonderry, Vermont, has panoramic views of Glebe Mountain AKA Magic Mountain as our backdrop in the middle of the Taconic Mountains and the Green Mountains. Guests eager to get close to nature will appreciate Snowdon Chalet's park-like setting on 5 acres, with several lakes nearby including Lowell Lake State Park. Snowdon Chalet Features: Air Conditioning, an Energy Star 32 inch Flatscreen Cable TV, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave, an ensuite bathroom with eco-friendly toiletries, recycling bin, along with retro charm and large windows overlooking the Vermont woodlands. *The Budget Room (#9) is a small guest room without a/c or large windows, no view. Complimentary Continental Breakfast from 7am - 9am in the office/breakfast nook area. A light breakfast, consisting of coffee, tea and baked goods with butter and jam. BBQ Grill and picnic tables (in the summer & fall months) Covered terrace area with seating area Upstairs rooms have a large shared balcony to enjoy. Things to Do nearby: Magic Mountain Ski Area, Stratton Ski Resort, Bromley Ski Resort, Okemo Ski Resort, (each ski resort has tons of activities all summer long) Mountain CommUnity Yoga, Lasser Ceramics, The Weston Playhouse, The Vermont Country Store, The Weston Priory, Waterwheel House Quilt Shop, Lowell Lake State Park, Jamaica Cottage Shop (they build tiny homes and more), local Farmer's Markets, Taylor Farm, horseback riding, Tater Hill Golf Course, Green Mountain National Forest, Hapgood Pond and Emerald Lake (swimming summer months) and Mount Equinox Skyline Drive. Viking Nordic Center is one of the oldest cross-country ski centers in North America which is just down the road from us. Wild Wings Ski Touring Center located in Peru. Nearby restaurants: The Garden Cafe & Gallery, The New American Grill, Jake’s Restaurant and Tavern, The Maple Leaf Diner (breakfast & lunch), Grandma Miller’s Pies, The Mill (winter only) The Red Slate Restaurant, SoLo Farm to Table, JJ Hapgood General Store and Eatery and Bromley Market a full-Service Gourmet Deli with BBQ Smoker/Wood Fried Pizzas and amazing Maple Creemees in the summer! Towns Nearby: Weston, Windham, Jamaica, Peru, Manchester, Ludlow , Chester and Grafton. The village of Londonderry is 2 miles away with a small grocery store, pharmacy store, liquor store and 2 gas stations. Along with a few restaurants listed above. Please keep in mind this is rural Vermont and they close by 9pm usually. Gas stations are earlier. Please plan accordingly. Cell phone service is spotty at best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Snowdon Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing