We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“No frills, good for ski weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Inn at Killington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hillside Inn at Killington to your Saves list
Hillside Inn at Killington
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   375 Killington Road, Killington, VT 05751 (Formerly Alpine Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Rooms Great Rates!
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Killington
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No frills, good for ski weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

It was by far one of the cheapest hotels in the area for a 2 night stay in March. It's your basic, run-of-the-mill hotel. It's very close to the slopes which was important and for the price, we weren't expecting anything fancy.

Parking was an issue - they have a very limited number of spots so we had to park in a remote lot about a 5-10 minute walk from the room. It wasn't a huge deal, but just one more thing to think about after a day of skiing. Breakfast was your standard continental breakfast fare - cereals, toast, waffles, fruits. We stayed in a standard room with two double beds for 4 people. It was a tight squeeze but we made do. The toilet was in its own room with a door but the shower was only hidden from the rest of the room by a partial wall which I found a bit odd.

All in all, Hillside is a good option for a less expensive hotel close to all of the activity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smc0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    47
    45
    13
    31
See reviews for
35
53
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our room of 2 queen beds was fine for the kids and I; large and clean. There was plenty of drawer and closet space, too. The proprietors were friendly and helpful whenever I asked for anything. The toilet is separate from the rest of the bathroom so there's no bottleneck. The continental breakfast was more than adequate since they had a waffle machine and fresh fruit also. The kitchenette included a microwave, mini-fridge, sink and cabinets. My main disappointment was there were no dishes or flatware. We ended up bringing styrofoam plates and plastic flatware from the breakfast room.

Room Tip: nicer to stay on ground floor if you have ski gear to haul.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pvbeachmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It is what it is...a motel to sleep in. Beds comfortable. Room spacious. Nice bathroom set up with separate toilet room. Mini fridge in room good if skiing and staying a few nights. Free continental breakfast AND free wi-fi. The TV looks like it came from another era (it did), but no worries there...we were here to sleep and ski.

It is just minutes up the road to Killington, or down the road to Pico.

Don't expect the Ritz or a roaring fire, but if you are looking for a dependable place to sleep close to skiing, this is it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubfanjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
160 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location (just a few miles from Killington Resort) and is clean and friendly. They allow dogs, which was key for us, and the end-of-season price was hard to beat (just $79 / night). Breakfast was good, if simple, and the decor is a bit out-dated, but realistically who needs fancy when travelling with kids and a dog? Especially on a ski trip, when all you really want is a good location and a decent bed. Our room even had a fridge and microwave.

If you're looking for a clean and reasonable option in Killington and don't mind a no-frills room then you should consider the Hillside Inn.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is in a great location if you are on a budget for a ski weekend. The rooms were clean and neat, beds were a little uncomfortable, but for such a short stay it was fine.The breakfest on Saturday morning was great.There was waffles, pastries, cereal, orange juice, coffee and etc...However, on Sunday the breakfest was not as good. They did not have as good of a selection. It was as if they ran out of food and were using Saturdays leftovers.But all in all it was still a nice touch to have .It was overall a great value for the money .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic County, NJ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed our last night in Killington at the Hillside Inn on 2/15/2013. The price was great (for a Friday night rate), the room/bathroom were clean, and the beds comfortable. The thermostat for the heat worked on a motion-sensor (according to the front desk) so it did take some time for the room to get to a comfortable temperature. Energy conscious, I guess. It is true about the limited parking, but are you there to sleep not park. We would stay at the Hillside Inn again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJBeachbummz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were on a trip to vermont,new hampshire during the fall 2012.
We had reserved this hotel prior to our visit just a few days ago as almost all hotels were booked.
Thankfully we got a reservation to this one as our room was very clean and everything seemed new. Room was small but had all the amenities like microwave,tv,coffee/tea maker,mini fridge,hot water,Clean bathrooms everything that one could ask in really low price. We were happy with the morning breakfast too.

All in all nice warm stay in this one.Would recommend it definitely!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anky05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killington
3.7 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
10.1 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
0.6 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#3 of 13 in Killington
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
2.0 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn at Killington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn at Killington

Property: Hillside Inn at Killington
Address: 375 Killington Road, Killington, VT 05751 (Formerly Alpine Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillside Inn at Killington 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near Killington Ski Area, Killington Golf Course, Kent Pond, Coolidge State Park, Vermont State Fairgrounds, Spartan Arena, Dartmouth College, Bromley Mountain Ski Resort and the Norman Rockwell Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hillside Inn at Killington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Inn At Killington Hotel Killington
Red Roof Inn Killington
Killington Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing