We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Basic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hillside Inn at Killington
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Killington
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Basic Hotel”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Very reasonable rates at this hotel. a little dated but had all the amenities needed, we were happy to stay one night on our leaf peeping trip

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noscire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    55
    56
    18
    36
See reviews for
46
61
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zutphen
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Nice room. Good comfy beds. Kitchenette. Separate toilet/shower. All in good working order.
Parking right in front of our room.
This is a good place to stay! Comfort for a fair low price.
Breakfast is to discuss. But you know what you get when you pay a economic price.
One of the guestrooms is transformed into a small breakfast room with a selection of cold breakfast items. For us it was fine. Otherwise go to Johnny Boy's Pancake House just up the hill.
For great pizza in the eve out of a wood-fired oven go to Outback Pizza. You'll love it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

For an economy hotel, we enjoyed our stay. Room was clean and pleasant with fridge and microwave. Parking is an issue, so prepare for a walk from the upper parking lot if coming in later at night. Breakfast is a bit strange, but if you like Hostess Ding Dongs and watery coffee, you'll be fine. We just had breakfast out. The heat was not an issue, but I could see problems if the weather was colder as you take what they give you, radiant heat with no way to turn it up, at least no way we could find. It was warmer than expected, so we were fine. We would return here as some who stayed elsewhere in Killington said they paid more with no better service, so would recommend as an economy stay if you want to stay in Killington.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WithMyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh Pa
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Room was very clean and roomy with lots of storage space. Small kitchenette was very clean and easy to use. It was chilly outside but the room was warm and cozy.
Location was easy to find and a good place to stay if traveling all the areas around Killington Vermont. Small breakfast area, no lobby or other extras but for the great price and clean rooms it was a great deal.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground level so it was easier to take in the luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrip15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Basic, cold, damp, wierd set up in the room. The bedding didnt get changed unless we asked them to do it. The breakfast is all cold stuff, really basic and all served on paper plates. Definitely not enough parking space for the number of rooms. Wouldnt stay here again ever. Lots of steps which is no good with luggage and ski gear. Lots of noisy college students have parties in their rooms at night too.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran_Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsideinnkillingto, Webmaster at Hillside Inn at Killington, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hillside Inn at Killington for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast.

• Management was approached about making parking arrangements in such a way that the best possible use could be made of the space available.

• Management was reminded of their responsibility to see to it that our valued guests remember to be thoughtful of their fellow guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Hillside Inn at Killington. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2011

This was our first time to the Hillside Inn; we usually stay in Rutland, but the price was comparable to other 2-star hotels in town. We were very pleasantly surprised by the room, which was very clean, well-maintained and well designed. The mattresses were firm and comfortable. The comforter was warm but scratchy - one of the synthetic ones that are common at value hotels. The hot water was plentiful and water pressure was good. The room was surprisingly spacious - we had plenty of space for three large ski gear bags. Breakfast was also about what one would expect in this price point: bagels, English muffins, juice, cold cereal - enough to get one going at 7:00 AM. It takes about 10 minutes to get to the Snowshed/Ramshead area or the Killington Base Lodge. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kretheme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We just returned from a stay at the Hillside Inn. It's not the Ritz, by any means, but it is clean, recently renovated, and CHEAP. I chatted briefly with the owners when I checked out, and this is their first season owning the hotel, so look for improvements next year. The biggest problem right now is that people don't realize there's a third parking lot, so they park all over the two small lots, making it difficult for everyone to get in and out. The free breakfast left quite a bit to be desired (Ring Dings? Really?) but we had brought our own food and took advantage of the fridge, coffee maker, and microwave in our room. The price can't be beat, particularly for being on the access road, and it was comfortable and clean. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2a-n-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killington
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
10.1 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
7.3 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
2.0 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn at Killington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn at Killington

Property: Hillside Inn at Killington
Address: 375 Killington Rd, Killington, VT 05751-9738 (Formerly Alpine Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillside Inn at Killington 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near Killington Ski Area, Killington Golf Course, Kent Pond, Coolidge State Park, Vermont State Fairgrounds, Spartan Arena, Dartmouth College, Bromley Mountain Ski Resort and the Norman Rockwell Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hillside Inn at Killington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Inn At Killington Hotel Killington
Red Roof Inn Killington
Killington Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing