We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Mountain Valley Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Valley Retreat B&B
Ranked #8 of 14 Killington B&B and Inns
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
“Great experience at Mountain Valley Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here one night for a snowshoe marathon in Pittsfield, VT.

This is perfectly located in a very beautiful valley - close to Killington and not far from Pittsfield. The house is very charming and the room was perfect. Mike and Barbara was the perfect hosts and I highly recommend Mike's omelet for breakfast made with fresh eegs from their own hens.
It was the perfect start to a day with a snowshoe marathon!

I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scharfenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed for a ski weekend and could not have asked for a better deal. Mike was a great host and breakfast was fantastic. Mountain Valley is a great alternative for a nice quiet place off the access road. Would certainly stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend ski-trip in Killington. We really enjoyed the warm welcome, the copious breakfast & very attentive service. Mike really did everything to make our stay as close to perfection as possible -- I'm pretty sure he would even have changed the weather if it would have been under his control ...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mountain Valley Retreat with Mike and Barbara. The place is located within 3 miles of all Killington attractions in a very picturesque valley. The house is immaculate and has a lot of character, you almost feel like you are in a Swiss chalet. Our bedroom was very spacious, clean and bright, with a beautiful mountain view from all windows. The bed was super comfortable. The bathroom, although shared, was very neat and appeared to have been recently remodeled. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious (I especially liked the French toast with Vermont maple syrup) and Mike went out of his way to cater to our food preferences. He even served us an omelet made with farm fresh eggs from their very own hens that they have on the property. Both Mike and Barb were very hospitable and accommodating, which made our visit a very memorable one. We can't wait to come back next winter!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Katya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Beautiful country setting; interesting clean and cozy house. Mike & Barb were friendly, helpful hosts that went out of their way to take care of us. Mike cooks a great breakfast to get the day started! Our room had a very comfortable bed with great views. Convenient to skiing, outdoor activities. Best deal in a long time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg_Nancy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed with at Mountain Valley during October. What an amazing place to stay, we were made to feel really welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was perfect, and all you could hear was a nearby stream. Mike very kindly took us on a waterfall walk which we enjoyed. If you are after peace and quiet, this is the place to stay.
We loved our stay here and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet, and friendly welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was perfect
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TP300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killington hotels
1.7 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.7 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#5 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.3 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Trailside Inn
The Trailside Inn
#1 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#12 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Valley Retreat B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Valley Retreat B&B

Property: Mountain Valley Retreat B&B
Address: 1940 River Rd, Killington, VT 05751-9569
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Valley Retreat B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Green Mountains of Central Vermont, our secluded 16 acre Mountain Valley Retreat Bed and Breakfast in Killington offers a unique opportunity to privately explore wetlands and mountain terrain uninterrupted by traffic and the din of city life. This unique home has three bedrooms. Two of them have double occupancy queen sized beds which we rent. The Queen Room with a Spring is a corner windowed bedroom with a natural spring close by. The Queen Room with a View is a corner windowed bedroom with a view of mountains and valley wetlands. My wife Barbara and I live in the third bedroom, welcome guests, serve breakfasts, and maintain the property. We have two common bathrooms, one upstairs, and one on the main floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mountain Valley Retreat B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing