We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty breakfast in a great setting!”

McGrath's Irish Pub
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Killington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Hutschenhausen, DE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hearty breakfast in a great setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Because we had the pleasure of breakfast in this restaurant a few years ago, we returned here again when in the area. We were not disappointed! We walked in just as the breakfast time was closing but the staff was kind enough to serve us despite the time. And they did so graciously, with attention to our meals, and conversation about the area to boot! My husband had the french toast which was thick and grilled to perfection. I enjoyed a standard breakfast of eggs, sausage and hashbrowns. Both dishes were more than we could eat though we wanted to eat it all!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Treva I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    56
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

A little piece of heave here in rural Vermont. This was a welcome oasis along the Appalachian Trail. If you like beer, this is your destination. Have to try a Long Trail Ale. It’s good. The restaurant has very good food, the breakfast is flavorful and filling. If you decide to stay at the Inn you’ll not be disappointed. They have several rooms set aside for hikers with a special rate (includes breakfast). There is a game lounge and you have to check out the hiker box. The regional transit (bus) stops right outside the Inn and will take you into Rutland for about $2. Best check a head and have exact change. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Race B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Real Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were hiking with another couple and heard about the Deer Leap Trail (rated easy but a steep climp up 900 feet) that starts at the Inn at Long Trail. The McGrath Pub is in the Inn and the McGrath Family owns both. A sign on the Inn door said "hikers welcome" so we went in to inquire about the trail and to use the rest rooms. The people there were very helpful and informative. After the hike we decided to stay and eat in the Pub. The bar tender who also served was very friendly and the place had a very cozy warm atmosphere. We ordered a rustic tomato basil soup which was chunky with tomatoes and well seasoned. It was delicious. We split a Reuben sandwich which was also very good. I saw a poster for their first ever Octoberfest which was to be a few days later. We made reservations for it. It was a five course dinner with the option for beer pairings for each course. The Long Trail Ale craft beer company sponsored the beer part. The meal was truly outstanding and each beer was explained by the brewmeister for the beer company The chef that prepares for the dining room is a Culinary Institute of America graduate and did a great job serving fifty people all at the same time. The service was outstanding. The Inn itself looks to be a great place to stay and the common rooms have a great atmosphere. It is located on Rt 4 a few miles east of the Killington access road and less than a mile west of Pico. It is worth a stop just to look around. The hike was pretty tough.. Glad we had trekking poles. Also a huge rock in the side of the mountain was included into the structure of the bar and the dining room. The were three dart boards that we had fun using and a patron came over to show us proper technique. That helped a lot. It was a fun place to be. The lunch was very good but the five course dinner was truly outstanding

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RUguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We usually feel that an Irish pub is a good bed and McGrath's was good. We all had the Shepherds Pie and enjoyed it. Of course, as good Guinness or black and tan made it all even better. We were not there during the weekend music, but Irish background music added to the evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sumackc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bit of Ireland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Today was a wet and gloomy day and were hungry for lunch. We had passed mcGrath's many times over the years and always said we would stop there one day. So today became that day, we had the cheddar and stout soup which was ok. We also had an Apple an Turkey Melt sand which and an Irish Ruben, both of which were very goof. Owen kept us supplied with hot tea, we will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skier444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGrath's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to McGrath's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing