We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hiking”

Gifford Woods State Park
Ranked #11 of 25 things to do in Killington
Attraction details
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Hiking”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Ranger at the entrance is very helpful and friendly. You can spend as much time as you want hiking and enjoying the views. Kids of all ages will enjoy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WHELBING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holden, Missouri
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Kent Brook Trail”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stopped here on a rainy day to walk the Kent Brook Trail. Due to the weather, we were the only people in the park and had the trail to ourselves. The trail through the old growth forest was interesting and alerted us to look for similar conditions in other locations. This trail is suitable for young and inexperienced hikers. Total length about 1 mile.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank westmotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A nice diversion during the peak autumn color season”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A typical visit here might include a day hike through the trees or around the nearby lake. The lake trail is highly recommended for its lake views, but also a small but scenic cascade into the lake. Worth a visit, especially during the peak autumn color season.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Explorers Welcome!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I decided to go to VT for an autumnfestpolration and I was so happy to have done my research ahead of time! the sites are clean and tidy and the cabins clean and cozy! Easy access to bathrooms and showers.

The trails and views were stunning. I completed 14.9 miles and hit 4 summits. I loved every minute. What impressed me most was the hospitality and kindness of the two college aged park attendants. They were nice, full of information and so excited to have visitors from out of state! Kudos to Gifford Woods State Park, you exceeded my expectations immensely!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarJMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice trail.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was just perfect for me to get some evening exercise while enjoying the beauty of nature. It has a great little brook, and the pathway was well marked. My visit was on October 1st, so I really enjoyed all the colorful leaves!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank govteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gifford Woods State Park also viewed

 

Been to Gifford Woods State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing