We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite places”
Review of Garlic

Garlic
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Killington
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We travel to Vermont for 2 reasons. One is to photograph either the snowy mountains/foliage and the other to dine at the Garlic. This was my late holiday gift. The food and service are excellent. Lots of menu choices.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mpm0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    130
    50
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Calling All Garlic Lovers!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had two nights to eat in Killington and picked this restaurant based on reviews from here (andddd the fact that my wife LOVES garlic)! We were NOT disappointed. The roasted garlic brought out to the table was delicious! Whats better than fresh roasted garlic covered with oil and parmesean cheese??
We werent starving so we opted for a few appitizers. We had the fresh pan fried mozarella, very good! She had the garlic soup....DELICIOUS!! I opted for the eggplant stack appitizer, my only complaint was the amount of eggplant. Two teeny tiny slices and a lot of aragula. Good flavor though!
Overall this was a great choice and we will definately be back on our next Killington Trip. Thank You Trip Advisor for the recommendation!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATandSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I went to the Garlic with a group of friends at 7pm on a Saturday night of MLK weekend and had to squeeze in to the bar for our 1.5hr wait. We made the mistake of not having reservations at any restaurant, knowing that it was going to be packed, but came here on the suggestion of our hotel staff. It took some time to get drinks at the bar, but we finally flagged down a bartender and grabbed a table. The place was packed, and the overwhelming smell of garlic was tantalizing (leave your jackets in the car unless you want everything to smell like garlic while you are on the slopes the next day!!). We finally got a table and they brought out some roasted garlic and hot fresh bread as an app. We also split the roasted olives which were good. The servings are generous, so consider sharing with a friend. Most of us had pasta and there were plenty of leftovers. We didn't save room for dessert, but the local beer selection was pretty good. We had a great dinner and definitely recommend this place to others!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank csi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Spot, glad we finally went”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We've been going to Killignton for years, but had never gone to The Garlic till this time to meet a friend who raved about it. Very glad we did. We sat at the bar, which has great VT craft beers on draft, and mostly ordered off the tapas menu. While not amazing, the food was quite good, and the bar staff was very friendly and attentive. We found the prices to also be quite reasonable for the area, often things on the Killington Access Road are over priced by quite a bit. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jgoodhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Great Dinner, Wine, Martinis and Service”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We ate here last night after reading the other reviews online and had a great time. The restaurant was very busy and had a great vibe. We went to the bar until our table was ready and had a few martinis, which were great. When we got to our table we were met by our server Ryan almost immediately with water. He knew the menu like the back of his hand and recommended entrees and a very nice bottle of wine to compliment dinner. Excellent job on his part. The fresh bread and garlic was amazing. We will definitely be returning. Thanks Garlic!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garlic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing