We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casey's Caboose - CLOSED

Casey's Caboose
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, American, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: One of Killington's oldest restaurant is re-opening. A Wide Selection of Craft Beers Specialty Cocktails Proper Gourmet Burgers The Very Best Great Steaks The freshest Fresh Seafood including Vermont lobster when in season. Local produce. Fun and family friendly. A Magical place to eat and drink A unique restaurant built around an 1876 railroad caboose and a 1910 railroad snowplow. Sit in the upper level of the snowplow or caboose and get a great view of Killington, eat in one of the many unique lower areas or have a drink at the historic bar.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We try to come here each visit to Killington. The food is consistently good. The steaks, seafood and onion soup is always just right.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    33
    20
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Casey's has a model train running through the place. We ate at the bar - nice wines, typical pub fare along with other dinner options and a nice beer selection. The people were great. Even got to meet Casey and his wife. We go back, we'll go back to Casey's!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheHikerDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Rustic caboose with great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had planned to have dinner at a place down the road but it was not opened until Ski Season. So glad the other place was closed. The food was cooked as ordered and veggies were fresh not frozen! Mike, our server was attentive wihout being in the way. He was very patient with the table of travelers from Ireland with 4 children asking explantions of things they were not sure of.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank maggie1993093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hanover
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go To Peppino's Instead”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Maybe they are better during ski season because this place couldn't be be any worse. Out of two dinners ordered, the lobster was just okay, shells not cracked for easier access, and when I asked for a pick, no one seemed to know what that was. The second order was filet mignon and it came out raw in the center. After it was sent back, the waitress came and asked if it would be alright for the chef to butterfly it for quicker cooking. When the steak was returned it was chopped into little pieces and burnt to a crisp. When we brought this to the waitress' attention she said, and I quote, "that's a shame. I guess he had the grill too high". She then walked away.

While Vermont isn't primarily known as a destination for gourmets, customers deserve a better
option than Casey's. If need be, seek out a Mickey D's or Burger King.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
479 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Kind of depressing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here. Place seemed kind of depressing, food was just adequate, waitress very pleasant but not experienced (got salad before appetizer). Drinks strong but not tasty. Not cheap. All in all, better options in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huntejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casey's Caboose also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing