We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Bear Motel

Happy Bear Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Happy Bear Motel to your Saves list
Happy Bear Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1748 Killington Rd, Killington, VT 05751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Killington
New York City, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I've stayed here twice and I always have a very good experience.
Pro's-
The staff are lovely folks and extremely accommodating, so if you need something just ask.
I've only stayed in a single bed room. It was clean in all the right places, very spacious, with fantastic heating units. Clean filtered water for bathing and washing. ( No mineral rusty odor like some places in the mountains.) Bed, pillows, & towels were comfy. I had an awesome refrigerator in my room, and there is plenty of closet space and racks in the room. It's a pretty quiet place as well. I'm an entertainer so I would get in after 2am and sleep late. It was a little noisy @ 8-9am, but once everyone leaves to go ski/snowboard/tube etc. it's quiet again and I slept till 2pm w/ out a peep of noise. I also stayed on the ground level.
It is walking distance to great restaurants, and great night life entertainment. By car it's just minutes away from the mountain. Parking is free and plenty of it.

Cons- The rooms are a bit dated, but somewhat in a cool way. TV was a blast from the past and the vibe & colors of the room & bathroom were a little depressing & dated. The carpet was a bit worn down, but I never walk barefoot anywhere except my own home, so I advise bring slippers or slaps to walk around in. The doors lock nice and tight & it seems to be a super safe motel and the surrounding area, but I would prefer a bit more secure locking system, but it's a motel and I know what I should bring & not to bring when I stay @ motels. Just an FYI

Bottom line- Great place to stay, I would stay here again and I do tell my friends to stay here.

Thanks Happy Bear!

Room Tip: Top level rooms will be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    14
    4
    10
See reviews for
4
13
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Listen. It was by far the cheapest in the area. It was freezing out and the rooms were toasty. Owners were friendly. Bathroom was clean. It did have a strong odor of cleaner when I checked in, but I aired out the room and it improved. Location is perfect for the drinker. Okay, the continental was lacking, but for Pete's sake, what do you expect for the price? I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Sorry, no restaurant or room service. But there are plenty of close places for food, store, bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We decided very spur of the moment to go to Killington for the weekend to ski. The last time we stayed in Killington we stayed pretty far away from the Access Road and the mountain, so we decided to stay a bit closer this time. We found the Happy Bear Motel, and seeing that it was right on the Access Road and not ridiculously expensive, decided to try it out.

The location is ideal. It's a three minute drive to the Ramshead Lodge and probably a five minute drive to the main lodge. You can walk to Jax, The Pickle Barrel, Sushi Yoshi, and many other places. The location is quiet and we had no trouble sleeping.

The rooms are clean enough. There were a couple of spots in the bathroom that could have used a scrub, but I felt very comfortable in the room. The bed was pretty soft and the room has a rack for your skis, a mini fridge, closet, dresser and TV with plenty of channels.

Management was very friendly. We had called them to let them know we'd be in a bit later, and I'm glad we did. The office closes at around 10 or 11, so if you're planning on coming in late, definitely call ahead.

My one complaint is that their continental breakfast is a joke. You have a choice of mini bagels, mini muffins or HoHos. It was better than nothing, but plan on eating at the mountain or going out somewhere for breakfast.

All in all, I would recommend the Happy Bear Motel for anyone heading up to Killington for the weekend looking for a good, clean place by the mountain. There's nothing super special about the motel, but there's also nothing wrong with it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night with a bunch of friends while skiing. The rooms had a strange odor when we first walked into the rooms but later on went away. This place is located across the street from Pickle Barrel and next to a great restaurant (Garlic). The so called "continental breakfast" at this place is a joke. Packaged bagels and toast with 2 choices of cereal. If you are on a budget and need a great location then stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were on a white week right on new year's and decided to focus on location, therefore decided to go to the Happy Bear. It was a great surprise to find out that not only the location was really great (walking distance to many restaurants, bars and nightlife and less than 3 min drive to the mountain) but also the motel was extremly clean,had plenty of hot water, a good breakfast in the morning (muffin, bagels, bread, coffee, juice, cereal etc) and two great people in charge. The couple that is responsible for the reception and management is very pleasant, helpful and kind. They gave us good sugestions for dinner and were always available to help (specially with tips on how to deal with the ice over the car).
Would definitely go back anytime!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nique_Guto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have to say from the reviews I was very worried about what we would find; however, it was a good surprise! The place is a classic old motel with old decor, small bathroom but the room was clean (we checked!!) and the location cannot be beat. It is located directly across from the bars and very close to the mountain. The manager/person who we dealt with was very nice everytime we called and on check in/out. We were two women who just wanted a place to sleep in between skiing and going out at night and for that this place was just fine. If you are planning on spending any real time in the room then this place isn't for you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sunsilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It seems decent enough at first but the hospitality is awful. After a mix up about check up time, the owners moved all of my belongings without permission to their laundry room and threatened to call the cops because I was on the property without permission (I'm 22 and a girl). While I was l was waiting in the lobby, a couple came in saying they had found an unsanitary object in the cot - a dirty diaper. The owner told them they had to pay $25 for the cot since the couple had borrowed it from a friend's room. He never apologized for the diaper and he seemed shocked that he was expected to take any responsibility, instead focusing on the fact that the cot had been moved without his permission. Overall a disgusting experience - it's worth finding something else slightly more expensive to not support this business.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alyssa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Killington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killington
4.2 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
9.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
9.9 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
1.6 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#3 of 13 in Killington
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Bear Motel

Property: Happy Bear Motel
Address: 1748 Killington Rd, Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Bear Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Happy Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Bear Hotel Killington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing