We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greenbrier Inn - Great Place to Stay”
Review of Greenbrier Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greenbrier Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Killington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greenbrier Inn - Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I just returned from a short business trip to Killington. My stay at the Greenbriar Inn made this short trip to the frozen northland very pleasant. Their hospitality and concern for the guests comfort was second to none. Steve was happy to suggest activities for a potential future visit that could include my family and was very knowledgeable about all of the events occurring in the area during each season. This was definitely a welcome deviation from the large corporate hotels. The Greenbriar was exactly what I was looking for, a warm, comfortable, place I could call home during my short stay. I would definitely recommend the Greenbriar whether it is for a trip to enjoy the fall foliage, to enjoy the slopes in the winter, or to partake in many of the outdoor activities Killington has to offer during the summer months.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    42
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
34
60
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I just have to say....Greenbriar inn is one of the friendliest Inn's i have ever stayed at...Steve and Otto were awesome....They also have a few great snowshoeing trails and just ask Steve to leave out the snow shoes for you....

Very Clean, Great rooms, reasonable prices, close to Killington mountain....what more can you ask for....I will be back for my money....

Also visit their great gift shop....!!

Thank you Steve and Otto for a great weekend stay....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_from_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just returned from a fantatsic week ski ing and boarding in Killington made all the better by the stay we had in the Greenbrier. Otto and Steve really are as nice as the other reviews suggest. Right from our first phonecall to our departure their attention to detail was excellent. Concerns about the softness of the beds, that some earlier reviews indicated were a problem, were unfounded with Otto personally ensuring that the bed we slept on was nice and firm!! The complimentary breakfast was always fresh and plentiful and there were no objections to our taking food back to the room for our still slumbering teenagers. Hot chocolate, cookies and candy canes were always available on our return from the slopes. The rooms were huge, warm and cozy and spotlessly clean, This isn't a five star hotel but what it is is a charming, characterful Vermont Inn that has a lovely atmosphere and a fantastic gift shop. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The two generations that own and operate the Greenbrier Inn in Killington, VT made us feel like we were visiting family. From the first phone call with Otto while making our plans through the “welcome home” from his son-in-law Steve that greeted us every time we returned to the property, they showed a genuine interest in our wellbeing. The rooms were clean and are very spacious. They even arranged for a little snowfall each night so we had fresh powder upon the mountain when we got up to ski.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CACKMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Greenbrier Inn is a family owned hotel, and as such, you, the traveler, is willing to forgive for a few things that are not perfect, but in return you expect to get a cozy experience and a personal treatment, in other words you expect to feel at home.

Greenbrier doesn't have the best location, doesn't have a great view from its rooms, is a bit old fashion and provides a basic breakfast. But as a family owned hotel where the family members do work there, it has a great potential to give you the feeling you've got home anytime you get back to your room.
Unfortunately we had a bad experience there that made us feel like a teenager that wants to run away from home. We ordered 3 nights after having good mail and phone conversations with Greenbrier, at the day we were supposed to come, our flight was cancelled, and we had to drive all night from Washington DC to Killington. We left DC at 23:00 and arrived at 9:30. We let the hotel know about this at the evening we were supposed to come, so they knew the room will be left unused through the whole night. Not only our flight was cancelled and we had to drive so many hours, and one out of 3 ski days was ruined, the owner of the hotel with no sensitivity and lots of greed told us that we have to pay for the night we spent driving, even though it was a week day and the hotel was practically empty.
This is a behavior I would expect from a large chain when talking to a clerk, not from a family owned hotel talking to the owner.

Room Tip: the good rooms are in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalYas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just went for MLK weekend with my wife and two other couples. Amazing location for the cslopes and nightlife. Really cosy communal chill out area and the freindliest staff you could ever come across... Book here and you wont be disappointed with the comfort or value!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I just spent 5 nights at the Greenbrier and had a great experience. It seemed like it is a prerequisite to be one of the nicest people alive to work there. Otto, Tom, and Steve (hope I got the names right :)) were warm and generous. The Inn was also so perfectly decorated for Christmas, that you felt like you were home for the holidays. The room was quiet and the beds had actual down duvets. The pillows could use an update but that was minor. Morning breakfast at the bar with seemingly endless coffee refills was lovely. I can't wait to come and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckyrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killington
2.4 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#5 of 14 in Killington
198 reviews
2.9 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
198 reviews
4.1 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
The Trailside Inn
The Trailside Inn
#1 of 14 in Killington
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbrier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbrier Inn

Property: Greenbrier Inn
Address: 2057 Rte. 4, Killington, VT 05751
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenbrier Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel with Vermont country inn charm. Conveniently located just off the Killington Road. Attractively decorated with beautiful mountain and valley views. Our second generation family-run Inn affords a true commitment to customer service. Common area lounge with fireplace, free Wi-Fi, television and games. Continental breakfast served each morning in the lounge. Non-smoking property with 21 spacious guest rooms all with private bath, refrigerator, hairdryer, cable television, telephone and patio or balcony. On site 7,000 square-foot gift shop full of unique gifts and home decor. The gift shop is a year round destination for travelers throughout the world. Guests enjoy complimentary use of snowshoes to explore on premises nature trails that follow our brook. In the spring, summer and fall try your hand at fly-fishing with beautiful gardens and sitting area. Enjoy the warmth, casual elegance and friendly service of the Greenbrier Inn. Amenities: Lounge with Fireplace & Wi-Fi, Continental Breakfast, In-room refrigerator, balcony or patio attached to rooms, Non-Smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Greenbrier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbrier Hotel Killington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing