We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What do body hair, mold and cob webs have in common?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butternut Inn and Pancake House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Butternut Inn and Pancake House
Ranked #9 of 14 Killington B&B and Inns
Arlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What do body hair, mold and cob webs have in common?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Answer: they can all be found in the guest rooms at the Butternut Inn :( This best thing about this place is its proximity to the Killington hot spots. The room was small. It had recently been updated with newish furniture. It was just nice enough to make you think it was going to be bare bones, but adequate. As soon as the Inn keeper left us and we had time to use the facilities the filth became evident.
There was curly black body hair in the corners of the bathroom. There were long (like 8" long) hairs on everything. I wish I could tell you that I have very long black hair but I don't. I found them on the "clean" scratchy towels; a hair came off the washcloth as I was washing my face...they were EVERYWHERE. I think Sasquatch stayed here before us.
There was mold on the painted walls above the shower enclosure. No bath mat was provided and the shower curtain was too short. Water went everywhere. Because they only gave us each one set of towels we had limited ability to clean it up. BONUS! The filth from the bathroom floor also stuck to our wet feet! Dust-caked cobwebs ran from the nightstand to the wall.
Breakfast comes with the room. Avoid it. Restaurant is as dirty as the rooms. Maple syrup bottle had not been washed in so long it looked like maple candy had been drizzled down the sides. Food was only average.
We paid 148.50 for our room. I thought that was reasonable given it is peak ski season. After staying I feel like they should have compensated us for he health risks the bathroom presented. Stay away!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnieArlington_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had a room with two double beds: the room was spacious and came with all the usual comforts that you'd expect - flat screen with decent channel selection, comfortable bed, space for your ski stuff, hot shower, and wifi. Breakfast comes free with the room, and is served in hearty portions which are yummy. The bacon strips are a must try. The lounge/ restaurant areas are great places to unwind at the end of your skiing day. Location wise, it's close to the ski slopes, convenience stores/ restaurants/ shops, and its served by a shuttle bus that runs around the area as well. Jim, the owner is very friendly and helpful, and enjoys meeting and chatting with people. There's no housekeeping service, but not a big deal for a short ski trip and the price paid. All in all, a good, cosy experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tantw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Feb 2013.
Rooms - very basic, there is TV and free wifi, ok for the price (about 165 dollars/night) in this area. Breakfast is the real star of the show - perfectly done omelettes, tasty locally sourced bacon/ham/sausages, yummy pancakes (buttermilk/choc chip/blueberries) - start at 3 pancakes and ask for more if you want!
I would normally rate it as 3 stars but if you have a special situation Jim the owner is very helpful, that's why I give it 4 stars. One of our friends was injured on the slopes and he drove out to the killington medical clinic to pick him up. Also saw him helping to jumpstart a guest's car. If you talk to him, he has lots of other advice on the best trails for your ski ability level.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forestmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This nice little B&B provides all the necssary comfort such as clean room, clean towel, hot shower, fridge and tv. The location is great. It is near restaurants, pubs, supermarket and th ski slopes. With these attractive attributes, Butternut is a perfect place to stay at Killington at a reasonable price. Jim, the owner, is very friendly, polite and helpful. He offered to pick me up from the clinic even though I could take the shuttle bus.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at the Butternut this weekend and really enjoyed it!! Everyone who works there is friendly and makes you feel like family. The morning breakfast is fantastic and the cook comes out to greet you, make sure you enjoy your meal and makes you feel welcome and appreciated! Getting to Killington Mountain takes just about 6 minutes and the views from the hotel are spectacular! The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable!
I will definitely stay there again!!
Neil Wood, Massachusetts

Room Tip: As for a room on the second floor facing the mountain ~
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Traveled to Killington from NY for a weekend and the Butternut proved to be a great place to stay! Jim, the owner, was super friendly and gave us great recommendations on where to grab a bite to eat and drink. The breakfast (included) hit the spot as well- I'm still thinking about the strawberry and whipped cream pancakes. The rooms were very basic, but give you all you need for a ski weekend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was my first trip to Killington, and my boyfriend and I decided to eat breakfast here on our first morning. The atmosphere was so comfortable and cozy, the waiter Phil was amazing and breakfast was delicious. We came back every morning of our trip and before we left! Next time we will be staying here too, because breakfast is included. A perfect place to start your day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killington hotels
1.9 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#8 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.5 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#5 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#2 of 13 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#13 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butternut Inn and Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butternut Inn and Pancake House

Property: Butternut Inn and Pancake House
Address: 63 Weathervane Dr, Killington, VT 05751-9816
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Butternut Inn and Pancake House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Butternut Inn and Pancake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butternut On The Mountain Hotel Killington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing