We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Impressed”
Review of The Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mountain Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Reviewed September 28, 2010

From the moment we pulled up to the hotel we received 5 star service. We were traveling with our 5 month old daughter and I was just entering the hotel the manager immediately came running to help me. The staff was so helpful through out my stay knowing I am traveling with an infant. Now about the room we stayed, everything in the room was in immaculate condition from the bed to the bathroom (newly remolded) to the tiny balcony and finally the view from our balcony was just perfect. I can’t wait to visit Killington and specially Mountain Inn this December without our daughter so I can actually go skiing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agirl_74_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for The Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 133 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2010

I am a traveler looking for good accommodation with friendly service and that is exactly what I found at this place. The hotel was nice, close location from the slopes, good amenities & services and welcoming staff. I was traveling with my kids for a family skiing vacation during their holiday and we had a great time skiing in Killington. The mountain had lots of beginner trails for my kids and intermediate for myself and with hard day of skiing we had a great time at the outdoor heated pool in hotel. Good breakfast to start the morning with and nice food and entertainment at the in-house restaurant. I'm surprised how the other reviews of the hotel were totally off to the hotel that I had gone to. Although, in my opinion, this was the perfect place that we could have picked during our visit to Killington.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kal1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

This hotel would not be a disappointment if you are planning a quick stay at Vermont. Staff were friendly and courteous. The heated pool was good

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank princedinesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

The location is perfect for skiing, there's a free 5-min shuttle to the nearest mountain trails and lifts and you can get from those trails to 100+ others. Other shuttles to restaurants and bars are very useful, too. The staff is friendly and helpful. Santa Fe steakhouse in the hotel is pricey but good, we didn’t have any problems with the service or food. Other reviewers wrote here that the hotel is outdated. That is ok with me as long as it is clean and doesn't have any smell of old carpet or wood. A balcony room with a gas fireplace (which smells with propane if you keep it working more than an hour) was nice. Mountain views were gorgeous! There were no dressers or drawers but this is not the only hotel in Killington with such problem. The bathroom was ok, even with a sink outside in the room. Our biggest complaint about the room is there was no normal size table where we could put two laptops, just a tiny round one, so we had to use nightstands. The breakfast was good enough: hard boiled eggs, toasts, bagels, waffles which you make yourself, waffle syrup, 3 types of cereal with milk, cream cheese spread, butter, 2 types of jam, coffee & tea (regular and decaf), orange and apple juice, bananas, oranges, and apples. There's an outdoor pool - not the best idea for winter. The sauna was downstairs, far away from the pool and always empty. The game room was very old, there's an old air hockey which couldn't show correct results and the game is time limited, not score limited.
With all these pros and cons I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you are absolutely tolerant to noise. Walls and doors are extremely thin. We tried to get asleep at midnight and could hear drunk voices from the bar. At 1:45am drunk people were still roaming the halls screaming something. Looks like the staff can't do anything about that. Only people who’s lifestyle is like "breakfast at 7:30am – skiing/snowboarding till 4pm – shops/sauna/outdoor pool/etc till 7pm – drinking till you forget how to get to your room" can find this hotel the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler111MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Location was as close to the mountain as possible without being on the mountain. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were freindly. It was great having the heated pool and sauna after a big day on the hill. Close enough drive to local restaruants and plenty of free shuttles to restaraunts and bars. The restaraunt and bar at the hotel was great. Our second night we had a great night at the bar with other tourists and a great lady bartender who was a great host. Breakfast was a basic one with a waffle iron, toaster, cereal, fruit, juice and coffee, what else do you need. LIke I said well worth the $100.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussie_in_the_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We were given this hotel as part of a touring packing to New England. I do not know why they booked us into this hotel as it is clearly a skiing hotel. The room was ok but very dated and not used very often so therefore was not very fresh!
The breakfast was in the bar, we were the only guests having breakfast. There were no staff around and it was just a few cereals, some dry bread and very weak coffee which was left out for us.
I think the hotel would be fine for a skiing trip but not for the autumn as everything was closed. We did find Calvin Coolidge's home village and visited his birthplace which was nice but there was nothing else to do in this area for tourists.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adnil48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

I am surprised by the negative comments by other travellers as I did not encounter any problems or even things that weren't great. I had a great stay and I could only wish that I spent all of my time in the Mountain Inn during my stay in Vermont. I will definately know where to go for next time.

The food in the restaurant was fantastic with steak that just melts in your mouth. The owner of the restaurant also owns the local pizza/night club that has live music there regularly. That is definately worth checking out!

The obvious massive bonus is the proximity of the hotel to the slopes. Not only is it walkable but it has a regular ski bus not only to the slopes but also a people carrier on call to the local entertainment venues in the other direction. All at no extra cost! The hotel staff were very helpful in organising a fun night out, advising on the best places to go and making sure that we had transport.

The outdoor pool was exactly what the doctor ordered with chance to relax sitting by the jacuzzi jets to relax. It has a lovely view of the mountains and some days the sun didn't go down until 7:30pm so you got to look out at the mountains with sun shinning down!

The rooms themselves were very comfortable and homely with lovely hot showers and a nice bath to help my ski legs recover! There were a far cry away from the generic business hotels with no character that I have now grown to dislike! On a practical note there were more than ample electric sockets-a common problem I have found in American hotels on recent visits.

I would say that the friendliness of the staff made my stay. The manager went out of his way to ensure that we had a great time and always had a smile on his face. Something I think is very important in customer service. This I did not receive in other hotels in Vermont or New York!

If you want a characterless, generical, sterile, unfriendly hotel then this is not for you. For all of you travellers who want to experience rustic Vermont and true American honest kindness and hospitality then I would definately recommend this hotel to you!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Tim_Londinium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killington hotels
0.1 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#11 of 13 in Killington
184 reviews
2.5 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#2 of 13 in Killington
239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Summit Lodge & Resort
Summit Lodge & Resort
#4 of 13 in Killington
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Inn

Address: 47 Old Mill Rd, Killington, VT 05751-9622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range: $102 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Hotel Killington
Mountain Hotel Killington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing