We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better then expected.”
Review of The Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mountain Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Killington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better then expected.”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

After reading the reviews previously posted I was a little scared when we got into Killington to check in. But it's way better then what we had expected. We drove 9 hours from Ontario to get here and it's totally worth the price.

The location is great. You can see the mountain from your room, and it is in walking distance but there is the shuttle that operates at least once every half hour starting at 8:00 am until about 5:00 pm giving people lots of time to get to and from the mountain. It stops at a max of 5 places. There are several shuttles that operate in the area and only pick up at certain resorts/hotels.

The staff here are more then welcoming and very friendly.
We got upgraded from a king room to a king deluxe with a fire place. It's really nice. Yes, the sinks are on the outside of the bathroom, but that's really not a big deal. And yes, the inn is a bit dated, but for the price and location we couldn't ask for more.

The continental breakfast is alright. It's nothing special. Cereal, breads, omletes, waffles and drinks. The waffles are really good.

The reviews that state you can hear other people are true. But we are also beside a group of college/university boys and they are the only ones we are able to hear. There aren't many people staying this week so it may be different with all the rooms full.

Would I stay here again? Definitely.
We did the stay and ski mid week package and came as a couple. It's more then what we were expecting and we had a really great time here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MooreB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    42
    27
    22
    20
See reviews for
35
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We were in Killington for 3 nights in January (Tuesday-Thursday) and we had booked the package through Killington resort (the midweek ski deal); the price was pretty decent at the end (about 75 dollars/night), and based on the location and the price, it was the reason why we booked this place.

Just a few things to note:

You can see Killington mountain from the hotel and snowshed/ramshead can be seen from the hotel, BUT it's still a walk, and if it's snowing like crazy, you're in ski boots and holding a pair of skis, you don't want to walk, and it's a good walk, but there is a shuttle that picks you up right from the hotel - but the shuttle goes to all lodging in Killington to pick up people and drop them off, so it doesn't matter where you are staying. We ended up driving to the different bases because it was midweek and parking wasn't a problem, and we could go back to our room anytime.

Staff are very friendly (+1). I believe it's probably run by an east indian family because all the staff seem to be of the same background. They were very courteous and were present during late hours because...

Lots of young people staying there (-1), possibly due to the price. You can hear young people talking and screaming down the hall and near the hot tub area in the evenings. People smoking marijuana all the time so we had to put our towel in the crack of the door so we wouldn't have to smell it. Our room was in front of a common sitting area in the middle of the hallway and young people decided to sit on the couch there and smoke weed and have a conversation at 12 in the morning; luckily we called the front desk and they were quick to shoo them away.

Walls/floors/ceilings were kind of thin (-1). We could hear the people upstairs walking; it was so bad my fiance wanted to change rooms but I said it was too much of a fuss; luckily they slept at a normal time so it didn't bother us too much, but when we wanted to sleep in, it was nearly impossible.

Continental breakfast was disappointing (-1). They had cereals, some funny looking pastries, mouldy fruit, some breads/bagels... it was so boring. The only thing I was somewhat willing to eat was the waffle, which was served with fake syrup. Nothing else on it. We ate it because we had to (no other breakfast served unless you want to drive out somewhere). My fiance missed our last bed and breakfast stay dearly.

The room was below average (-1). Clean, warm, sufficient. There's a TV, self adjusted thermostat, mini fridge. The bed was mediocre at best; hard as a rock but better than no support. Oddly enough the sink to the bathroom was outside in the bedroom. As well our shower head had absolutely NO power; the tub faucet itself was very strong, but as soon as you switch to the shower, it was a sprinkling. You could barely stay warm in the shower because so little hot water was coming down on you and the bathroom was an icebox with no heat source. Staff kept it clean though.

Would I stay here again? Probably not, until I try all the other lodging in the area, if I come back. It was worth the money, and it served its purpose as a ski hotel, but I think there are many other options out there to try out before I will visit this place again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed at Killington right next to the Mountain at the Mountain Inn last week. Great location but - oh boy - this place is tired!! My boyfriend said it was built in the 80s and never been updated. It was very clean and the 2 people managing were nice, they even had breakfast but that wasn't very good. It may not be Poor but it's Below Average and not worth the cost of the room. No snow but the parking lot was thick with ice and dangerous!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ddd1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Killington hotels

Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I had spent time reading reviews & looking at pictures before booking this inn. When we arrived, the halls had a disgusting smell....our room was even worse! We spoke with the front desk staff & they offered us an air freshener to cover the putrid smell. This was unacceptable. They moved us down the hall to an "upgraded" room. Only difference was a bigger tv. You can hear coversations in the rooms next to you, in the hall, and banging through the ceiling. The door does not seal, so you have an inch gap on the top and bottom, letting in light & sound at night.
The Continental breakfast was something they should be ASHAMED of. STALE cereal, STALE sliced bread, STALE everything! The fruit was a bowl of 5 soggy & wrinkled apples.
The vending machine did not accept bill, nor did it accept coins. ?????? Luckily we were there to ski....we tried to stay away from the hotel as many hours each day as we could. They cut corners & costs everywhere at this place.
I seldom actually take the time to write reviews, but this inn put a damper on the trip. My stomach is still turning thinking about the moudly smell. Stay elsewhere!
This should be rated a ONE star. I do not know how they get away with charging so much per night. I was expecting more based on the price alone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgeToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The positive things I can say about this place - friendly staff, rooms are clean, location is great, kids enjoyed the outdoor heated pool, nice to have a fridge in the room.

The walls/floors are ridiculously thin - any time the people upstairs were walking around, it sounded like a herd of elephants in our room. Any conversation in the hallway also sounded like it was in our room. The worst was the lousy music (and loud patrons) from the bar - you guessed it, sounded like it was in our room. Between the bar and obnoxious guests keeping us up until after midnight and the folks upstairs tap-dancing at 6am, we were hardly rested. We didn't request another room because it was the middle of the night before we realized how awful it was.

The only available outlet in the room was at the vanity - makes it tough to plug in cellphone chargers, boot heater chargers, etc.

The breakfast was underwhelming. Tang instead of orange juice, lousy coffee with only nondairy creamer available, sad-looking fruit and pastries. The in-room coffee service came with only one condiment packet.

I might try going back, bringing my own food and requesting a room as far as possible from the bar. And bringing a power strip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom2a-n-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Level 6 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We purchased a mid-week ski and stay package through Killington Ski Resort and found The Mountain Inn to be very good. We drove up on Monday and skiied prior to checking in arriving at the Inn around 4 pm. At check-in we were upgraded to a balcony (deck) room facing the mountain with a gas fireplace (nice surprise). The room was larger than most Vermont ski resort rooms that we've stayed in and had a small refrigerator, table with 2 chairs and a king bed. As mentioned in previous reviews, the bathroom sink is outside the bathroom in its own little corner but not an issue. The room was clean and housekeeping was attentive. They had a room to lock skis and snowboards and provided the locks. The restaurant and pub were open nightly with Live music on different nights even Monday and on Thursday the week that we were there. We only ate from the bar menu, the sliders were very good. They have a small outdoor pool that was warmer than some hot tubs that we've been in. The downside is you have to walk past the pool table/bar area to get to the pool which again isn't a big issue. A hot tub would be a welcome addition. The breakfast was basic with cereals, muffins, belgian waffles, etc..Overall we had a great stay and will return next year. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is 1/4 mile from Snowshed Lodge and there is a free shuttle that will pick you up.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor facing the mountain are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Yes the rooms are dated, but are clean and functional. The breakfast was better than I expected. Location is definitely the best feature of the mtn inn. Can easily walk to snow shed with snowboard boots, bout 5 minutes, would not suggest walking with ski boots. Outdoor pool was nice. The one big complaint I have is the lack of pressure and water flow from the shower. Lastly, the front desk workers were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrbgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killington hotels
0.1 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#11 of 13 in Killington
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#6 of 14 in Killington
198 reviews
2.5 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#2 of 13 in Killington
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Inn

Property: The Mountain Inn
Address: 47 Old Mill Rd, Killington, VT 05751-9622
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Hotel Killington
Mountain Hotel Killington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing