We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for & a little more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Sports Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Killington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you are looking for 5 star hotel, this is NOT the place for you. However, if you are a savy traverler, looking for an inexpensive place to sleep, shower & get ready to ride, then this is DEF. the place for you!
Our 6 & 1/2 hour drive ended in rainy, hard to see weather, but the MSI was easy to find, about 1 mile up the Access Road to Killington Mnt from Rt 4 on the left side. The front desk was closed when we arrived but the staff left us a note w/ our room info so we were able to get in w/ no problem & 4 very tired traverlers were able to get a good nights rest. The beds are very comfortable, but we found the pillows to be a bit thin so we doubled up & were ok. There are extra blankets in the room for if you get cold but the heat was crankin so we were comfortable thru the night.
The next morning we 'checked in' w/ the hotel & was given a quick tour; entertainment room, dining room & shown the hot tub area. There is a contenental breakfast each morning, consisting of juice, coffee, milk, cereal, fruit, toast/bagels/muffins & spreads that is hosted by a very attentive & friendly staff. They made it easy to start your day w/ a full, healthy belly. The Inn is less than 4 miles to K1 base lodge so we were able to get there quickly & get to our snowboarding & skiing!

Upon our return, we decided to check out the hot tub (open 1500 -2200). It's located inside the building, downstairs & thru a small work out room. (not a lot of equipment but if you are serious about working out, it's available at no charge). The hot tub is somewhat small, seats 6 comfortably but no more & they keep it HOT for those sore muscles. The sauna was clean but not hot, we couldn't figure out how to turn it up but it was still nice. There is also a nice 'shower room' for men & 1 for women. Sort of like a private large bathroom... this was very convient, as I was able to shower after getting out of the hot tub & notgo back to my room feeling gross! The room had towels & shampoo & soap provided but no hair dryer. don't recall if there was an outlet to plug 1 in tho if you brought your own. Back to our room to get ready for our night out.

MSI is not far from Jax, Pickle Barrel & Yoshi Sushi (they are all next to each other) so staying here was a good choice. We got a great deal on lifts & the room & since we are bare bones basic kinda people, this was a treat for us. The staff were all very friendly & helpful, they even brought an extra pillow to the room. So if you are looking for some place close to the mountain on the access road to stay for a few days, this is a great option. It has a very homey feel that we all enjoyed

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 212 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great place to stay. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Price is very reasonable, breakfast is included hot during the peak ski season and continental during the late season. Caters to the serious no frills skier and families on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Mountain Sports Inn is more than just location, location, location, although it is just a few minutes from Killington's Snowshed Lodge. Additionally, expect: clean and comfortable rooms, hot showers, nice freshly prepared breakfast, all at an extremely reasonable rate. The staff and ownership take a genuine interest in your being satisfied with your stay. Been here several times and would highly recommend.

Joe

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 1 Sunday night in room 19 on the first floor which is down a hall to the left of the entrance. This place was inexpensive and conveniently located, Our room was basic but had flat panel TV, shower tub, alarm clock, and a soft bed. No hair dryer. After 10PM is posted as quiet hours and noise was not an issue. The manager, I believe also the owner, was friendly and helpful as was the staff at breakfast. The included breakfast was plentiful, organized and fresh. There is a common room with a large TV, and a jacuzzi.

On the negative side, the entrance to the bathroom was awkwardly constructed so that the bathroom door did not open all the way and hit the wall loudly-not a big deal but still annoying.
The other thing was that some rooms have a common heating control outside the room, and others are controllable in the room. Our room was supposed to be the latter, controlled by a valve at the end of the baseboard, however we turned it on when we got there (3PM) and nothing happened until later in the evening 7 or 8PM. It seemed that the heat was really controlled elsewhere. Not that it was ever really cold in the room but my wife has mild Reynaud's and likes to keep the temperature toasty, which we couldn't do.

I'd stay here again, but my wife not so much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you want to ski, drink and sleep this is your place. Rooms are simple, very well priced and perfect for what i needed.

There is a sauna and jacuzzi, a brilliant breakfast and very friendly staff.

You are 10mins drive from the slopes and within easy reach of all the bars and pubs via the free shuttle bus services the different buses provide.

It's not the most luxurious hotel but that's not we wanted and so it get 5* based on what we needed...somewhere well priced and a base for skiing.

Only down points was the dodgy heating system and the very thin walls! The wifi is free but very patchy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jez1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

A couple girlfriends and I stayed here fo 2 nights over MLK weekend. We had a blast at this hotel. We would definitel stay here again. They serve free breakfast that is freshly cooked every morning. They have a lobby that is like a big living room with big screen tv. They allow you to BYOB and just hang out. This hotel is close to everything and there are free shuttles that will take you anywhere on the road. Everyone who stays there are so friendly that we made some friends.

One small negative is the hot tub is inside and only seats 6 people. It's in a room so it's a little boring. I suggested to them to have a tv or music. You can BYOB down there as long as no glass bottles are used.

The guy at the desk, Chuck, is an awesome guy. He was so friendly and very cool.

I would recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor. The floors can be a little thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraZ363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went for a ski trip in Killington in early december. Nothing fancy, but the room was really clean and the continental breakfast was nice. The owner is really helpfull and he was great for communicating his knowledge for the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadtripalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killington hotels
2 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
95 reviews
2 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#5 of 13 in Killington
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge & Resort
Summit Lodge & Resort
#2 of 13 in Killington
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#10 of 13 in Killington
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Sports Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Sports Inn

Address: 813 Killington Rd, Killington, VT 05751-9739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range: $91 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Sports Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Play hard...sleep for less at Mountain Sports Inn. You will experience a clean and spacious comfortable room, a relaxed homelike atmosphere, great service, and most importantly -- all these, at an affordable price! All rooms and suites have private baths, CATV, telephones with voice mail and free Wi-Fi internet service. Furthermore, regardless of your interests or activities, we will provide you with the necessary information needed to enjoy the area to the fullest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountain Sports Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sports Hotel Killington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing