We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good price, great location, helpful owner”
Review of Grey Bonnet Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grey Bonnet Inn
Ranked #11 of 14 Killington B&B and Inns
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean, good price, great location, helpful owner”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The Grey Bonnet is a great value. Other hotels/motels in this price range pale in comparison. We arrived for our second stay at the Gray Bonnet late Friday night. Not wanting to venture back out in the snow, we decided to have a few drinks at the bar. The owner, Paul, offered us some delicious chili and rice even though the kitchen was closed. Great conversation with Paul, another gentleman from RI, and a few others ensued. The common areas are very warm, cozy, and welcoming- everything you'd expect from a quaint VT inn. Our room was clean and had the basics, the beds were comfy, and we enjoyed the hot breakfast...which is all we were looking for. Last time we stayed we had a great time relaxing in the hot tub and swimming in the pool after a long day on the mountain. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danirocks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    32
    11
    11
    26
See reviews for
36
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This inn may have peaked about 15 years ago, but it is now definitely showing its age and its large amount of country-village-type charm doesn't fully compensate for its weaknesses in other areas (based on my one-night experience in February). First, the good things. It's close to Killington, which is a good location. Lots of warmth in large spacious public areas, comfortable furnishings, places to relax in quiet comfort. My room - two double beds which I shared with my teenage snowboarding grandson - was spacious and clean. The indoor pool was pleasant, as was the soothing hot tub. Now, the less than appealing. Rooms lack simple amenities. Like, there's no telephone. If you want to talk to the dek withou leaving your room, you call them on your cell. The TV is smallish and way outdated, and there's no TV listing in the room; finding a channel is a frustrating in exercise in channel-surfing. There is no hairdryer in the tiny bathroom, no body lotion, and a miserly thin packet of shampoo - enough for only one person. The dining room has a limited menu and based on only two meals, the food is mediocre. The so-called "pub" does not serve draft beer. The staff make an effort to appear friendly, but it doesn't quite work. When my grandson wanted to buy 2 AA batteries for his camera the desk clerk brought out a four-pack for $4. When my grandson indicated he thought that was a bit expensive, the clerk said "Then buy them in a drugstore." When the power went out in our room (no lights, no TV, to outlets), and we mentioned this to (another) room clerk, he shrugged and responded with "Yeah, it's out in about four other rooms, too." The entire place could use some freshening up, especially the bathrooms. The rates are about average for where it is, and what it is.

Room Tip: Room 212 (two double beds) is close to the pool - down one flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Killington hotels

dedham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Just returned.We have stayed elswhere,however the Grey Bonnet is the best. Close to everything,hot breakfast included, great pool, fireplace. Owner Paul does everything to ensure a pleasant visit.In the summer also the Grey Bonnet rules, Rich & Helena Petersen
Dedham Ma.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lagerbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The price is reasonable for the area. However, the inn is not stellar. The rooms are somewhat dated. There is no phone in the room, and all the channel listings were incorrect. It was good to have free breakfast, but if you have eaten at other Vermont inns, this paled in comparison.
The kids did love the indoor pool. There were also ping pong, pool, and Foosball tables, but it would have been nice if these were included in the price of accommodations, and did not require additional payment.

PROS: the price, proximity to Pico/Killington, the indoor pool and sauna (although the pool was quite cold in February), free breakfast

CONS: older rooms, no elevator, plumbing (the low flow toilet clogged, but at least the management was prompt in responding), limited breakfast choices, no room phones

BOTTOM LINE: If you are looking for a relatively inexpensive, clean place to stay and will spend most of your day skiing, this is a good choice. For families with children, the free breakfast is always a plus. I don't think I would stay here for a romantic getaway, or enjoy spending much time indoors.

Room Tip: No elevators, so keep that in mind if you are lugging around large pieces of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Just stayed at the Grey Bonnet Inn

Great job all, had a lot of fun with you and your guests! Roger, mike and aaron.R

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bunnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUMBERTON, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We have stayed here in the past, and stayed here at the end of summer 2011 on our return home from New Hampshire. This is an older Vermont Lodge, which, for our family, adds to the charm. We liked the fact that we could wander around the main floor, and spend time watching TV in the giant living room.This lodge has less guests in the off season and because of its size, it is possible that when you arrive, there will be only a limited number of guests. We sat in the bar and enjoyed the company of a couple from Long Island, NY. It was ironic that we all debated whether it was better to return home or remain in Vermont during the passing of Hurricane Irene. As it turned out, we in South Jersey weathered the storm much better than Killington. After reading all the reviews, I can still highly recommend this Inn because it speaks to the quaint Vermont which we find more enjoyable than a top notch luxury hotel. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms are small;old fashioned, toilet had some stains from years of well water, not from mold or being dirty. I can say that we have always enjoyed our stay , because when we stay here, especially for skiing, we feel like we are in the heart of rustic Vermont. The breakfast is great, sitting in the morning in a nice room, overlooking a snow filled yard; and being able to make the selection of a few hot items on the menu was very nice for us. We had a relaxing stay and would return again; as we have in the past. If you are looking for top shelf accommodations, then you may not enjoy this place. However, give it a try. Like us, the couple who we spoke to at the end of August, who had stayed the whole week, absolutely loved their stay for the week! We tried it once, and have returned!

Room Tip: We like to stay on first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOWNTHESHORE243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at Grey Bonnet Inn during Christmas break for a 4-night ski trip. The inn was conveniently located between the Pico and Killington ski areas, just off Route 4. Although the Inn may not be the most luxurious or elegant of hotels, it has a friendly charm to it. The main dining area has a beautiful view for morning breakfasts, especially when the surrounding grounds are covered with snow. The innkeeper and staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had some car trouble up at Killington when our car battery died on Christmas, and the innkeeper himself drove out to help us jump start the car shortly after we called him for help.
The hallways can get a bit chilly, but our room was comfortable and included an extra side cot which was perfect for a family with two kids who often argue over bed space when sharing a bed. The complimentary breakfasts in the morning were excellent with a selection of homemade meals to choose from. Overall, the inn was comfortably quiet with a great atmosphere and a personal feel. We had a rather enjoyable stay and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killington hotels
3.2 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#2 of 13 in Killington
239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#11 of 13 in Killington
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Greenbrier Inn
Greenbrier Inn
#7 of 14 in Killington
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mountain Meadows Lodge
Mountain Meadows Lodge
#2 of 14 in Killington
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mountain Valley Retreat B&B
Mountain Valley Retreat B&B
#8 of 14 in Killington
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Bonnet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Bonnet Inn

Property: Grey Bonnet Inn
Address: 831 Route 100, Killington, VT 05751-9586
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Bonnet Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Grey Bonnet Hotel Killington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing