We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless!”
Review of Inn at Long Trail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Long Trail
Ranked #6 of 14 Killington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Martinsville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Timeless!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

First stopped in here to visit the pub 35 years ago after a day of skiing. The beautiful wood bar and stone wall in the back give this place so much character. I brought my 16 year old son in to grab a sandwich and he looked around soaking it in listening to the live music and never reached for his cell phone. I always stop in here when I am close enough.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ghself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    44
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
84
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

As a family holiday we chose the Inn at Long Trail for accommodations; the value of 2 meals/day included in the room cost was the key for booking this place. I have to say, however, on New Year's Day, the breakfast buffet was a disappointing table of carbs "muffin-mania", high-glycemic fruit and scant amounts of cheese and ham in some sort of flour/corn based casserole with an egg as a secondary ingredient. As hungry (ravenous) skiers we were looking forward to eggs, bacon, ham or sausage as advertised when they tell you about the wonderful breakfast they serve when I booked the reservation. A simple offering of hard boiled eggs &/or a nutty granola with yogurt would be easy additions to add some protein to this starch load.

The rooms were clean, the building old - expect to see some water spots and patches in the plaster that need repair. We rented 3 rooms, 2 on the third floor - a malodorous stench in the room with 2 twin beds made for a sleepless night for children -mothballs? On a high note, the temps were frigid and our rooms were toasty warm all night long. Common areas and Pub are authentic Americana and staff very friendly & knowledgable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sky2Big
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We have a new holiday tradition, coming here! Room was very nice, cozy and clean, but we spent most of our time in the pub, large common room and the hot tub. Common room and the game room were awesome! Pub was TRULY AWESOME! Food, people, music... everything! Love thus place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GreggandMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed four nights in the fall at this Inn and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was outstanding and the hosts gave us lots of good information about hiking in the area. We stayed over a weekend and were able to enjoy the live Irish music in the bar.

Room Tip: We asked to be away from noise and were given a room that faced away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pupsqueak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 717 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Bottom Line – We loved it and will be staying here again for the foreseeable future. On to the details…..

So, after many trips to Rutland and hating the tasteless strip-mall scenery of downtown, complimented by the reliable unsurprising blandness of the normal chains available there…we ventured out to this place; boy are we glad we did!

We paid $89 a night for our 3-night stay in a Country Bedroom with Queen + Daybed, including included breakfast, which was easily worth $20 per day. Reservation process was easy, with a personal confirmation received quickly. When you see the exterior, you may have a moment of doubt because it doesn’t look like much, but this is all redeemed once you walk in. Also, just so everyone has their expectations reasonably set – this place is perfectly fine and clean but it is NOT a luxury property.

Good Points

-Top notch staff. Dare I say, the best team we have ever encountered in a hotel stay. Every single person – Oakie, Owen, the breakfast crew….they had such great stories to tell and made you feel authentically at home. They are always there to help but laid back and not in the way.
-Great location up in Killington, right across from PICO, a few minutes from Killington Ski area.
-Perfectly rustic and adorable inside, almost what I imagined going to a Vermont lodge must have been like back in White Christmas and the old days. Lovely wood interior with fireplace, games, hot tub, etc.
-Incredibly delicious made-to-order breakfast. Really, we went to bed every night looking forward to it.
-No TV or phones in the rooms….so it was REAL QUIET in evenings.
-Everything was clean.
-Hot showers every morning (to me, one of the most important things).
-Authentic Irish Pub in your hotel – yup, nothing like getting an authentic (not ice-cold!) poured Guinness in the evening, and they have a delicious Irish Pub menu. The weekend entertainment was more “modern” Irish Pub music than we expected, but everyone seemed to enjoy it.
-Free WIFI (although signal not very good in bedrooms)

Be Aware Of

-Thinner towels & sheets, no down comforter.
-Pump shampoo/ shower gel , toilet paper, Kleenex, are only bathroom amenities. No hair dryer, no q-tips, no-hand lotion, etc….again not luxury, but absolutely fine with a little preparation.
-No bathtub, if that matters to you.
-I thought it was positive as it kept others quiet and forced me to relax, but No TV or Phone in your room (shared TV available in the bar or game room).
-No individual room climate control (unless you count the window). There were moments of chilliness, followed by moments of heat when the steam kicked in (every few hours).
-No bathroom vent (so it can get foggy, and the room a little musty if you don’t ventilate).
-Mandatory 5% gratuity charge. Staff was great, and I tipped appropriately at the bar, at breakfast, in my room….so I am not sure what the 5% was for, as they don’t explain it, and the service was so good I didn’t want to risk shorting someone. My only guess is this is because some backpackers don’t tip well? Not sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

As hikers we have stayed at the Inn 5 times and is the only place we stay when in the area. Oke, Owen and the rest of staff are wonderful, they are genuine in wanting to make sure you are comfortable and well fed. Everything you need is here. The rooms are clean but not fancy. The Pub is lots of fun and restaurant puts out amazing meals. A local magazine recently voted them best restaurant in the area. At the Inn you can kick back and relax. If you are looking for the Ritz this is not the place for you. "Jazman" & Kathy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We've stayed here after 10 days on the long trail, and we've stayed here as a base of operations for day tripping in the area. The lodge is beautiful and authentic. The pub is a fun and friendly place to socialize and enjoy excellent pints of guinness after a long day. The breakfasts are AMAZING, and the staff is friendly. We have especially enjoyed our conversations with Okie, who often runs the front desk. You cannot go wrong staying here at any time of the year, and we make it a point to visit here at least once a year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_baker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killington
2.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
5.6 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
2.6 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#5 of 14 in Killington
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#2 of 13 in Killington
239 reviews
3.0 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
132 reviews
2.7 mi away
Birch Ridge Inn
Birch Ridge Inn
#3 of 14 in Killington
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Long Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Long Trail

Property: Inn at Long Trail
Address: 709 Route 4, PO Box 267, Killington, VT 05751-4421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the charm and hospitality of Killington's most historic inn and ski lodge, serving skiers, hikers, golfers and people who love the mountains since 1938! Offering country bedrooms, whirlpool rooms and Fireplace suites. Our McGrath's Irish Pub offers Guinness and Long Trail Ale on tap and pub fare daily, with live Irish Music weekends. Serving candle lit dining, fall and winter in our main dining room. Hot Tub. Wireless. Children welcome. A unique experience. 1/3 mile from Killington's Pico entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Long Trail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Long Trail Hotel Killington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing