We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place for groups” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summit Lodge & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summit Lodge & Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I was here for a group conference in the off season. We were the only group in the hotel. The staff could not be more friendly, accommodating, or service oriented. Bill and his staff truly know how to take care of people.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    71
    22
    13
    14
See reviews for
108
84
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moro, Illinois
Level Contributor
350 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was just what we were looking for in our first stay in Vermont, so it was good for us.

If you are picky about beds that are past their prime, bathrooms with very little counter space, very thin walls and intermittent wifi in the room, this isn't the place for you.

If you aren't picky, like a homey feel with a living room for all to share, a library, outdoor heated pool, Saint Bernards that roam the lodge and beautiful views all around, you will love this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFreeWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Summit Lodge is comfortable, charming, and cozy, as a ski lodge should be. Our family of 5 stayed in one of the large family rooms containing a king-size bed, a bunk bed, and a twin bed. The room wasn't luxurious, but it was spacious, comfortable and warm. The bathroom showed some age but was fine. The common spaces in this lodge are the highlight: You can sit in a cushy armchair by a warm fire and read, have a drink in the pub, or hit the hot tub. The made-to-order breakfast, included in the room rate and served in a charming dining area, was a great way to start a ski day. It's a five-minute drive to the Killington K2 base. There's space to leave your ski gear by the entrance, so you don't have to deal with it in your room. And of course, there are the dogs. BEST DOGS EVER. Oh, and the staff is really nice, too. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iknowhowitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hospitality in traditional surroundings. It's marvellous to go to a lodge/hotel that is not part of a chain and exactly the same as hundreds of others all round the world. This hotel takes you back to the days of individuality with wood panelling, large open log fires, cosy places to sit and bedrooms that are not simply identical boxes off long corridors. Bill Bauer, the owner and host, makes everybody most welcome and the atmosphere is more of a large, extended family house than a hotel. This is not to say that the hotel lacks amenities. In winter there is the heated outdoor pool and the large, indoor hot tub and sauna while there is a larger pool and sports courts for when the snow has departed. Inside, there is also a large games room. Summer or winter there is a marvellous bar with a variety of interesting beers (including local ones) that serves excellent food at realistic prices.

Despite having had many family holidays here (although solo on this trip) we cannot match the lenrth of time that other families having been going back to the Summit. Some of them now on to the third generation. I have always found the summit clean, comfortable and providing a good night's sleep. Room rates are competitive for the area. The welcome is always excellent from Bill, his staff and the dogs.

If you want something a bit different with traditional hospitality, give the Summit a try.

I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I am hesitant to write this review because I don't want everyone else to know about it! I only wish we found this hotel when our kids were younger because they would have loved it. We typically rented condos ski in/out with kitchens so that we could come home for lunch or breaks. The trade off of not having that may have been worth it. The lodge is nothing fancy but is full of charm. The large fireplace in the common area became our "family room" for two nights (my husband and I and another couple). We met other guest, most of whom were return visitors. The outdoor pool and indoor hottub were just what we needed after a day of skiing. The Pub is warm and welcoming, with great food! The dogs added to the hominess of this wonderful lodge. Be sure to buy the cookies on your way out. YUM! I hate to go to the same destination more than once but we will definitely return to the Summit Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tertib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here at the end of the busy Presidents Holiday Week and loved it. Its nestled up on top of a hill just down the road from Killington where we had skied for the day. Check in was easy and we met the beloved St. Bernards. We dined in the Saints pub & restaurant which was hopping with guests, cozy and FUN thanks to the magician who came to our table 3X to entertain our 9 year old. My family enjoyed the heated outdoor pool and indoor jacuzzi as well. The room was just so-so - bathrooms, beds & and carpets need updating, hence only the 4 stars. However, breakfast the next morning was EXCELLENT and we would happily stay here again.This place is neat - has many nooks and crannies and I got lost a couple of times :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meco871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Nothing else much was positive. The beds were horrible. The very small room wasn't clean and it was filled with cobwebs and stains on the mattresses, bedding, floors and bathroom. The water in the pool was lukewarm. The breakfast wasn't good. Some of the help was nice but others were just plain rude. The only thing that kept us from being completely miserable were the 3 very sweet dogs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksh0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killington hotels
1.8 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#7 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.0 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#2 of 13 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#10 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge & Resort

Property: Summit Lodge & Resort
Address: 200 Summit Road, Killington, VT 05751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summit Lodge & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summit Lodge & Resort is situated high on a knoll, just minutes from the slopes of Killington and Pico. Enjoy our commanding views of Killington Peak and the surrounding Green Mountains of Vermont. The lodge's decor of antiques, hand hewn beams, barnboard, and fieldstone fireplaces all combine to provide a warm and friendly ambiance. The Summit Lodge is built for comfort, with two restaurants on premise, two lounges, two swimming pools (one heated for year round use), a large hot tub, and clay tennis courts ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summit Lodge And Resort
Summit Hotel Killington
Summit Resort Killington
Killington Summit
Summit Killington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing