We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vermont Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Lodge & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summit Lodge & Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Certificate of Excellence
philly
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Vermont Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I am hesitant to write this review because I don't want everyone else to know about it! I only wish we found this hotel when our kids were younger because they would have loved it. We typically rented condos ski in/out with kitchens so that we could come home for lunch or breaks. The trade off of not having that may have been worth it. The lodge is nothing fancy but is full of charm. The large fireplace in the common area became our "family room" for two nights (my husband and I and another couple). We met other guest, most of whom were return visitors. The outdoor pool and indoor hottub were just what we needed after a day of skiing. The Pub is warm and welcoming, with great food! The dogs added to the hominess of this wonderful lodge. Be sure to buy the cookies on your way out. YUM! I hate to go to the same destination more than once but we will definitely return to the Summit Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tertib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    71
    22
    13
    14
See reviews for
106
84
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlton, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here at the end of the busy Presidents Holiday Week and loved it. Its nestled up on top of a hill just down the road from Killington where we had skied for the day. Check in was easy and we met the beloved St. Bernards. We dined in the Saints pub & restaurant which was hopping with guests, cozy and FUN thanks to the magician who came to our table 3X to entertain our 9 year old. My family enjoyed the heated outdoor pool and indoor jacuzzi as well. The room was just so-so - bathrooms, beds & and carpets need updating, hence only the 4 stars. However, breakfast the next morning was EXCELLENT and we would happily stay here again.This place is neat - has many nooks and crannies and I got lost a couple of times :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meco871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Nothing else much was positive. The beds were horrible. The very small room wasn't clean and it was filled with cobwebs and stains on the mattresses, bedding, floors and bathroom. The water in the pool was lukewarm. The breakfast wasn't good. Some of the help was nice but others were just plain rude. The only thing that kept us from being completely miserable were the 3 very sweet dogs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksh0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Love coming to the Summit every year with friends for an annual wine tasting. I have never had a bad experience at the Summit. It is very rustic with a warm and inviting lodge feel. Love all the dogs an look forward to seeing them everytime I visit. Very good food and love the breakfast and staff is always friendly and accomodating. I highly recommen the summit if you are looking for good price and good atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tknapp630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killington, Vermont
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We return again and again and find the Summit Inn the place to go. The kids and the adults will enjoy the magic show in the Saints pub on Saturday evenings. Steve, the magician, goes from table to table with his bag of tricks. On Sunday evenings enjoy the unlimited pasta bar. Some of the long standing staff have retired however you will find the peppy new employees friendly and ready to serve you in the Saints pub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kccskihouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stay here every season, usually more than once. Yes, it's old and dated and the matresses need an upgrade. But, the decor is homey and in good taste. We happily overlook the drawbacks because its such a warm, friendly and charming place.

Staff is awesome and the Dogs even better.

The location is convenient and the Breakfast is fantastic. We especially love the Blueberry pancakes.

This is a diamond in the rough and we were pleased to see the new tv's this year. If management were to invest in higher quality mattresses, pillows and bed linens, the place would be heaven.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JvB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holbrook ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Think of a Currier and Ives winter scene,The snow is falling and a sled with a family glides up to the Summit Lodge.The children are excited and the parents are happy.Step inside and be greeted by the friendly staff and the 2 Saint Bernard dogs Rachael and Teddy.We have been going to the Summit many years and have never been disappointed. The entire lodge is rustic wood decor,The family room is large and inviting with a huge fireplace that we sat before every night,The food is excellent there is a heated pool and hot tub a sauna and a great bar restaurant.The rooms are clean and give the feeling of antique furniture to relax in and forget about the busy world you left behind.Inn keeper,owner Bill Bauer is very friendly and professional He is about the hotel all the time and even took time to discuss whats going on in the Kiillington region.My family never had such a relaxing and exciting vacation that we experienced at the Summit.We plan to return in the summer the lodge has air conditioned rooms with new LCD TV's.When I went back to work I couldn't stop thinking of our step back in time.

Room Tip: There are a few family rooms that can accommodate a large family
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killington
4.2 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
2.0 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
1.4 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#3 of 13 in Killington
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
13.6 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Woodstock Inn and Resort
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
0.8 mi away
Snowed Inn
Snowed Inn
#5 of 15 in Killington
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge & Resort

Property: Summit Lodge & Resort
Address: 200 Summit Road, Killington, VT 05751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summit Lodge & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summit Lodge & Resort is situated high on a knoll, just minutes from the slopes of Killington and Pico. Enjoy our commanding views of Killington Peak and the surrounding Green Mountains of Vermont. The lodge's decor of antiques, hand hewn beams, barnboard, and fieldstone fireplaces all combine to provide a warm and friendly ambiance. The Summit Lodge is built for comfort, with two restaurants on premise, two lounges, two swimming pools (one heated for year round use), a large hot tub, and clay tennis courts ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summit Lodge And Resort
Summit Hotel Killington
Summit Resort Killington
Killington Summit
Summit Killington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing