We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Wedding Venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summit Lodge & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summit Lodge & Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Certificate of Excellence
Poultney, Vermont, United States
1 review
“Beautiful Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I just recently celebrated our Marriage at the Summit Lodge on August 25th, 2012. Our ceremony and reception fit perfectly at this rustic, classic, and gorgeous location! Bill Bauer along with his experienced staff made it the most special and amazing day of our lives. We could have not asked for a more beautiful, intimate, and accomodating wedding. We plan to go back and visit again soon. The adorable Saint Bernards add just the right touch to the warm and welcoming crew at the Summit Lodge. Thank you Bill and staff for making our wedding a moment to last a lifetime!
Love Charles and Amber

Room Tip: The Complimentary Bridal Suite was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    73
    23
    13
    14
See reviews for
113
87
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was the second year in a row that my husband and I took time for a late winter getaway at the Summit after meeting at Killington 25 years ago. Hectic schedules always seemed to keep us from making it back, but we are so glad we finally did. We just love the lodge and plan on returning every year. Although the rooms are a little dated (but clean and comfortable), the owner Billy, and his staff, are extremely accommodating and friendly and that's what truly makes a good stay great. The St Bernard's are adorable! We love the coziness of the great room and the roaring fire. The outdoor heated pool and the large indoor hot tub are just what the doctor ordered (plus a cocktail from the Saints Pub which is a few steps away from the hot tub) after a long day on the slopes. The rates are very reasonable (we book for two nights and get a third night free, mid-week). Breakfast is included and the selection and quality are superb. Even though there was not much snow this past season, we still had a great time (snow shoeing is available close by and is a lot cheaper then buying a lift ticket when the conditions are not that great). There may be fancier places to stay throughout the area, but there is definitely something special about the Summit that you don't find often when staying away from home. Can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are rather small so for a few dollars more we upgrade to a suite, which has plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Billy the owner and his staff go out of their way to make each and every guest feel welcomed. The two wonderfully behaved St. Bernard's great you when you check in. The blueberry pancakes are to die for. The pool is great and the views are lovely. We are going back next summer and staying longer. So much to do in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stellahanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

If you are looking for a perfect place to get away and relax, then this is it. We stayed during a spring ski trip and it was absolutely perfect. There was always a warm fire to welcome us back after spending the day on the slopes. The mountain shuttle was so convenient---not schlepping our stuff back to the car at the end of the day--priceless!! The breakfast each morning was wonderful--the blueberry pancakes are not to be missed. The owner is ever present making sure that guest's needs are being attended to. The outdoor pool was an amazing experience on cold winter night. Perfect spot, we plan to return in the fall for some leaf-peeping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VT-Traveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We recently spent 4 wonderful vacation-filled days in Killington at The Summit Lodge. I started my day with an early morning brisk walk taking in the beautiful scenery followed by a hearty, delicious breakfast. The staff were friendly yet professional. Two of the days we hiked parts of the Apalachian Trail. The afternoons were spent soaking up the sun at the Summit pool. The pool temperature was refreshing yet not terribly cold. The bar provided refreshing cocktails. The staff recommended local restaurants for dinner; we were not disappointed. On particularly hot nights, we used the portable air-conditioner in the room. We had a fun-filled, memory-packed 4 days thanks to the hospitality of everyone affliated with The Summit Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Summit Lodge was the perfect venue for our daughter's wedding on July 14, 2012. The ceremony was held at the gazebo with Bill Bauer, the Summit owner, officiating - it couldn't have been better. Guests raved about the food. We chose the pasta bar and salad and craving stations. There was so much food - no one went away hungry! The staff was fantastic! The morning after the wedding we hosted a breakfast buffet for our guests. Again, guest raved about the quality and quantity of food. We could not find a more reasonably priced venue or one with such quality food and service. The atmosphere is relaxed and laid-back for families. The pool and poolside bar adds to the fun of staying at the Summit. Many guests took advantage of hiking and riding the Killington gondola. Comments from guests: we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photobug313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Summit Lodge is located in Killington, Vermont. I had never been to Killington in the summer before and I found the town to be charming and the views from the mountains to be lovely and the air to be fresh and clean.
Whenever I plan a trip, I always check the tripadvisor web site prior to making a reservation at any hotel and this time was no different. For the most part, the Summit Lodge had very positive reviews on tripadvisor and I booked the Summit Lodge based on that information. This is the first time in the many years that I have used tripadvisor that the reviews absolutely did not match the actual experience. The employees of the Summit Lodge were friendly enough and we did not have any sort of incident, but the place is an absolute dump.
The dirt road into the Summit Lodge has potholes. The carpeting throughout needs to be pulled up. It's filthy. The wallpaper is really old and dirty and it needs to be taken down. The whole place needs to be painted. In the room, the pillows were flat, the blanket had holes in it and there were mosquitos everywhere. The air conditioning unit was an in-the-room stand up unit. The walls are paper thin and the doors are really flimsy. The bathroom was small and old and I didn't feel clean after I took a shower in there. There are two St. Bernard's that roam the lodge who both are in need of a bath and a good brushing. They are sweet dogs, but they, too are dirty.
The only good thing that I could say about the Summit Lodge would be that it is centrally located. Beyond that, I would not recommend the Summit Lodge at all.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovestotravel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killington hotels
1.8 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#8 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#3 of 13 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge & Resort

Property: Summit Lodge & Resort
Address: 200 Summit Road, Killington, VT 05751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summit Lodge & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summit Lodge & Resort is situated high on a knoll, just minutes from the slopes of Killington and Pico. Enjoy our commanding views of Killington Peak and the surrounding Green Mountains of Vermont. The lodge's decor of antiques, hand hewn beams, barnboard, and fieldstone fireplaces all combine to provide a warm and friendly ambiance. The Summit Lodge is built for comfort, with two restaurants on premise, two lounges, two swimming pools (one heated for year round use), a large hot tub, and clay tennis courts ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summit Lodge And Resort
Summit Hotel Killington
Summit Resort Killington
Killington Summit
Summit Killington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing