We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The best place for families and friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summit Lodge & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summit Lodge & Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Certificate of Excellence
Killington, Vermont
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best place for families and friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We have been going to the Summit lodge for thirty years and it only gets better with time. We go there a couple times each ski season and it is a great place in the summer. The staff under the guidance of innkeeper Billy is friendly and helpful. Our family knows the building with its many short hallways and assorted sitting rooms so we do not hesitate letting the little ones wander around. The outdoor heated pool in the winter adds an experience we will never forget. In the summer we enjoy the tennis courts, the outside pool, the patio bar, and the beautiful grounds surrounding the Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kccskihouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    71
    22
    13
    14
See reviews for
108
84
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

My finace and I stayed at The Summit Lodge the fist week of January and cannot wait to return. There is a cozy quaintness that starts at the big red doors that welcome you and doesn't leave you. The staff was welcoming and remembered you each time you interacted, the food in the Saints Pub was delicious, and the amenities met every need we had. There was no reason for us to leave once we got back from skiing. Whether I was sitting on the floor playing with the dog, curled up on the couch reading in front of one of the fireplaces, or relaxing sore muscles in the whirl pool there was not a single minute of our trip that I wished I was anywhere else. I cannot begin to say enough about them. If you are going to Killington stay here..You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseErica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have had many fantastic visits over the years as a guest at the Summit Lodge. The hotel is the quintessential Green Mountain getaway, offering a comination of old and new. The hotel's barnboard and beam construction and rustic decor take the visitor back to an earlier time, while the hotel sports many modern amenities. It boasts an indoor whirlpool and outdoor heated wading pool, a perfect way to unwind after a day on the slopes. The Saints Pub is a fun place to relax by a fire on a snowy night and enjoy food, drinks and entertainment. In the summer, the outdoor swimming pool is a great way to cool off after a game of tennis on the hotel's clay courts. The staff is always friendly and attentive and what's better s better than a greeting from a friendly Saint Bernard in the lobby at check-in, unless it's the panoramic views of the mountains of Killington from the Summit's living room. I'm looking forward to my return to the Summit in the very near future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

great place to stay good food good drinks great spot !!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

My daughter and I arrived for the recent MLK three day weekend to do some skiing at Killington Ski Area. We stayed there since her friend was also staying there.

When bedding down for the evening in room 14, the comforter looked so old and disgusting, it should have been burned. The blankets had cigarette cigarette burns including the extra blanket in the drawer. I was willing to cope, but my teenage daughter was totally grossed by it! The whole room was tired, old and falling apart. Not rustic... What was the worst... The room is up against the main lodge common area with a thin wall between. The noise from the gatherings in the lodge common area by the fireplace was as if it was right in our room. It went on for hours on two of the nights. You could hear the conversations! I complained and they offered to get me to another hotel at 9pm but at a much higher price. They offered us earplugs... They said they would ask the folks in the common room to quiet down. Fat chance! I just put a pillow over my head and dealt with it.

What they did upon my insistence, was gave me 50% off my room rate at the end of the three nights.

They should have warned anyone reserving the room that it was going to be noisy. And don't trust the pics... The place is as run down as it comes. The hot tube is dirty. The air filled with chlorine gas! I wish I kept my Expedia reservation at the Inn of the Six Mountains. It was about the same price and would NOT have been such a nightmare.

Room Tip: As far away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank DPNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed in room 18. The room was very small and needed updating for quite some time. Dinner was ok. I had the shepherds pie (made with ground lamb) not bad. We ate out after that. Burrito Bar was a hit, Johnny boys for breakfast is a must. After being on the mountain all day, it was nice to have a hot tub to soak in. When you get in for the night, make sure the water is hot and the sauna is working. I had to ask them to turn the sauna on every day and the hot tub twice ( it took the hot tub almost two hours to get hot). The pool was too cold, we didn't bother with it. Free Coffee is ready @ 6:30. Game room was outdated. Dogs were cute and the kids played with them. Fireplace was nice to sit by in the morning with my coffee. All in all, the place was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view if you like a nice scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankfarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiskdale, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I started coming to the Summit Lodge at about 13 with family. Since then, I have returned every year. Now with my own family. They have become our Vt home away from home. We love the ski atmosphere, the friendly Saint Bernards, and it's rustic feel! Thanks Billy, winter or summer the Summit is the place to be.

Room Tip: Not slopeside but they provide scuttle service to mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killington hotels
1.8 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#7 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.0 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Killington Motel
Killington Motel
#2 of 13 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#10 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge & Resort

Property: Summit Lodge & Resort
Address: 200 Summit Road, Killington, VT 05751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summit Lodge & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summit Lodge & Resort is situated high on a knoll, just minutes from the slopes of Killington and Pico. Enjoy our commanding views of Killington Peak and the surrounding Green Mountains of Vermont. The lodge's decor of antiques, hand hewn beams, barnboard, and fieldstone fireplaces all combine to provide a warm and friendly ambiance. The Summit Lodge is built for comfort, with two restaurants on premise, two lounges, two swimming pools (one heated for year round use), a large hot tub, and clay tennis courts ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summit Lodge And Resort
Summit Hotel Killington
Summit Resort Killington
Killington Summit
Summit Killington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing