We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski Trip with Two Teenage Boys”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Green Resort
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We rented from a private owner and were very pleased at the warm reception from the Resort staff. Having rented privately I thought they might not be overly welcoming but they were very nice and filled us in on all the amenities of the resort like the games room, pool, ski lockers and wood for the in room fire places. The phone in our unit had not been turned on by the owner but when we went into the main building they let us use the house phone.
The condo it's self was well appointed for our needs with two bed rooms, one full bath and one half bath and a full kitchen with microwave, stove and dishwasher. After a day on the hill it was nice to come back to the condo, stoke up the fire and relax then fall into a very comfortable bed. This is an older building and could use some upgrades but since this was a ski weekend with the kids it was perfect. The wifi and the TV worked so everyone was happy.

The best part was the shuttle to and from the mountain. It came every 15 min and was only about a 2 min drive to or from the skiing. We had our car but still took the shuttle as it was quicker than driving and finding parking and the boys could come and go as they pleased.

Killington Mountain was fab with a great verity of runs and the boys loved that there is "The Stash" which is an all natural park terrain park designed and built by Burton. We are already talking about planning next years trip.

Room Tip: I would suggest renting from one of the many condo owners as they are much cheeper but look around a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacqWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 151 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

I guess i should be more specific since this place is comprised of individually owned condos. The unit we had was in building 2. It was a 2br unit which we rented for 6, so 2 had to sleep on the pull out sofa bed. The sofa bed in this unit was pretty old and worn and the bed in it was not worth sleeping on. Overall, the place was build in 1984 and our unit looked like it had not been updated since it was new. It was functional, but was small and the carpets weren't in the best of condition.

The location was great and the shuttle stopped just outside each building which made things convenient to get to/from slopes. This place would have been much better if the owner of our unit had done some updates to the carpet and sofa.

The fireplace was wood burning, not gas. There was only one log in our room but more were available just outside our building. We did get some logs but they weren't very dry so we never had any real luck with a good fire. Would have been better if it were just a gas fireplace.

The pool and other facilities were in building 3 which was a bit of a pain go go back and forth in the cold. Try to get a unit in building 3 if possible.

Room Tip: Get a unit in the main building with the pool/hot tub if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mahesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I want to start off by saying some people really have high exceptions for a ski condo in Killington VT. WE ARENT in Aspen and its not the Ritz Carlton.

Stayed at Mountain Green from Feb 10-15. My boyfriend and I purchased a ski and stay package from Sno Search thru Killington at the Toronto Ski and Snowboard Show.
I won't mention the price because I truly think we got an awesome deal and really don't want people to complain to Mountain Green... because we didnt book thru them.

We drove from Toronto so having a late check in Sunday night (6pm) was perfect.
The Front Reception were great, we were in and out in 5 minutes tops.
The only thing that was not presented at the time was our ski passes.
Which wasn't at the fault of Mountain Green but of Sno Search who hadnt dropped them off.
Monday morning we just picked them up at Killington ticket line.

We stayed in Building 1 which is the building behind the main reception.
Our 1 bedroom Condo was clean and had everything that we need (basic 1 frying pan, 1 pot alot of dishs, cups, mugs, silverware). (A8 was great)
Yes this was no 5 star accommodations. BUT we were skiing all day and then having a quick bite and then sleeping. Tv had great options and the wifi was awesome.

WARNING to out of towners
If you are going to purchase groceries, DO NOT go to the Market on the killington access road, poor selection and prices are super high.
It is about a 20 minute drive to Rutland (i believe there is bus service there) but the Grand Union Grogery has a hugh selection and better prices.

The shuttle bus to Killington was very quick and only took 1-2 minutes to get over to ski area.

Only went out for dinner 2 of the nights we were there.
The Garlic --> was awful ... over priced pasta with no taste

On the Rocs --> Amazing drink menu and food selection at a reasonable prices

All in all, We will be back to Mountain Green next ski season :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveskiing87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

There are lots of bad reviews on this place. I booked cause It was a last minute trip and there were few options. I have to say I was very surprised and satisfied with my stay. Very large condos. Perfectly clean. Certainly outdated but really who cares when you need a bargain. All the amenities were there. Fireplace, full kitchen, restaurante and bar, ski shop with rentals, health club with pool and hot tub..... Shuttle came like every 10 minutes and was a quick 3 minute ride to mtn. Seriously nothing to complain about. The only reason I didn't give all 5's was because it is an old faciltiy and with condos you have less service like in room dining and such. The employees do deserve a special mention. Front desk help was very accommodating and pleasant. Staff in the ski shop were excellent! Give this place a shot if you want a good experience on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aspicer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very convenient to Snowshed and Ramshead base areas. Shuttle buses ran promptly for 1-minute ride to the mountain. It was fine for our needs for a 3-night stay with two little kids. Pool, spa, game room, restaurant, convenience store, etc. all on site as promised.

That said... I'm glad we got a low price (under $300/night) for a 2BR condo by booking directly with an owner through VRBO . com. I'd have been annoyed if I paid the prices the resort was asking via Killington reservations. The resort is definitely dated and worn. Walls/ceilings paper thin - bring earplugs if you want to sleep through the night. As for kitchen dishes/utensils, let's put it this way: you want a frying pan? Too bad. Decor: 1980s minimalist.

But I wasn't expecting luxury accomodations - and we certainly didn't get them - but we had a very convenient location for a long weekend at Killington.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DylanWilco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was my second time staying with a group at the Mountain Green. In 2010, a group of us got a rental through the hotel, and found it to be mediocre at best. It certainly provided us convenient access to the mountain for skiing, but aside from that, the amenities were so-so.

However, this stay, we booked directly through Skylark Properties, the owners of a unit in Building 1, and were very pleased. http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3482413 We stayed in 1C5, and upon our arrival, the cleaning lady was just finishing up and was able to give us more towels and explain anything we might need to know. The bedrooms were sufficient, with televisions in each of them, and the common area was perfectly large enough to suit us.

The one thing we would have preferred was a dining table that could fit all 8 of us, which we believe had been advertised. There was always parking available over New Year's Eve weekend, which isn't always easy to imagine, and our unit had nearly all the equipment we needed to prepare dinners most nights. I personally never had issues with the shower temperatures, but I am pretty sure that showering between 4-5pm, as everyone is returning from a day of skiing, left some people in some lukewarm water. Overall, it was a great property for our needs, and we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheZFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The place was filthy. Nothing worked. The staff was rude. We were promised a fully stocked kitchen,, however there was absolutely no silverware so we had to go out and buy plastic ones. The TV didn't work. When the maintenence guy came (who was independtly hired) he admitted all the problems witht his place and advised us to stay somewhere else next time. They plowed in our car in their parking lot (where they told us to park) and then they made us pay $40 to shovel out what they did. When we check out we asked what the service fee was for and they told us it was for replacing our towels! And get this...the shower didn't work there so noone could shower....so they charged us $40 cleaning fee for absolutely nothing. 30% of the arcade games didn't work. The "slope side" grill which we were told had a view of the mountain had windows covered in filth...probably not cleaned a very long while.....so you couldn't even see through them. It was disgusting. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killington hotels
0.1 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mountain Inn
The Mountain Inn
#5 of 13 in Killington
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#5 of 14 in Killington
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
193 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#10 of 13 in Killington
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Green Resort

Address: 135 E Mountain Rd, Killington, VT 05751-9615 (Formerly Mountain Green Ski & Golf Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Killington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Killington
Price Range: $212 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Green Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of Killington, the best skiing in the East, Mountain Green Ski & Golf Resort is Killington's most complete resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Green Ski And Golf Resort
Mountain Green Ski & Golf Hotel Killington
Mountain Green Hotel
Mountain Green Killington
Green Mountain Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing