We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time spent at Smugg's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smuggler's Notch Inn
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great time spent at Smugg's”
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Our family decided to head to the hills for skiing over Canadian March Break. After checking out the internet, we decided for the Smugg's. Read the reviews before hand and we weren't certain what to expect. We are so glad that we chose here as the place is just fabulous for skiing, young children ages 9 and 12, great accommodation. Definitely we will do it again next year. One suggestion - if you use room charge for food and other expenses, the Resort charges service fee for all room charges. We did not know that so we were basically tipping over 30% total after taking into account 20% tip plus 10%plus service charge.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_Vacationer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
26
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2009

The ABSOLUTE BEST!! Very pretty, comfortable, unique.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank deloressteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes Region
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Contrary to what you might read on this site regarding the Smugglers Notch Inn in Jeffersonville, Vt.; we recently had a most enjoyable stay at this charming, OLD Inn. The floors might sag and creak in places but, the staff was most friendly and helpful to make our stay comfortable and fun. We two retired couples shared the two room suite with no problems and were very comfortable. We enjoyed a great breakfast and part of our dinner, in the tavern, with our inn provided gift card. The living room with comfortable furniture and a cozy fire was a great place to relax with our favorite beverages and meet other happy, interesting guests. We would most certainly recommend this lovely inn to travelers visiting northern Vermont.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silsbee292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We arrived at the inn with a confirmed "fireplace unit". We wound up in a 10X10 ft slum room with 2 double beds that our dogs would not sleep on. No security lock, no in case of fire directions, no in room phone, no A/C. Windows were screwed shut. The heat/air was just dead with a stink. As close as we came to a fireplace was being above the exaust fan from the pub/restaurant below. The advertised inhouse restaurant was closed, so the fine dining for our romantic weekend away turned out to be a grilled cheese sandwich. The office is open for about 2 hrs in the afternoon, so there is nobody to call for anything. We did do better than some. A couple that we were traveling with had bare plywood bathroom flooring, no fixtures in the tub for water. The inn did put down a couple of towels on the floor for comfort and took $20 off the bill. Please do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lostinvt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

This Inn is tucked away in the Vermont mountains of Smuggler's Notch. The downstairs makes you feel like you had stepped back in time, but once you reach the your room you loose that sense of time due to the modern treatment of the room. The towels and linens were very attractive and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. The staff- when you can find them are very pleasant, but they are no where to be seen. So if you need assistance, you're on your own. The breakfast bakery was cute, but very expensive. We didn't go into the tavern, but their staff did attempt to assist us with the air conditioning that was very difficult to maintain. There is a central control in the hallway, but there is no means to turn it on/off from the rooms. We seem to have the air conditioning for 3/5 nights, but in the morning there was none. The room was very stuffy and warm each morning. We found a great little place to eat in Jeffersonville called "158 Main Street" on the Main Street of town, around the corner. You can buy any needed supplies from the town "Country Store" because you will only find a bar of soap in your room. Over all it would have been a more pleasant stay if we could have had the air conditioner on, without having to track down the owner through the bakery staff. Also the cleaning woman will probably clean after you leave! If you can not find anywhere else to go, and you don't need the air conditioning- you found the right place! Have a good trip!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, In
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2009

The inn is a comfortable place to stay, greatly due to your very friendly nature of the innkeeper. The room was fine and the home-cooked breakfasts were extraordinary! The DeWitts and Hansens (from our wedding party) had a great time,also!
We certainly will recommend Smugglers Notch Inn to others...and will surely stay with you again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisamart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

The Inn is poorly run, the service is sub-par. Its noisy and expensive for what is available.
I would seriously recommend staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
8.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
10.9 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#14 of 24 in Stowe
262 reviews
10.8 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,248 reviews
4.3 mi away
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Smugglers' Notch Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
929 reviews
10.3 mi away
Inn At Buck Hollow Farm
Inn At Buck Hollow Farm
#1 of 2 in Fairfax
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smuggler's Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smuggler's Notch Inn

Property: Smuggler's Notch Inn
Address: 55 Church Street, Jeffersonville, VT 05464-8917
Location: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smuggler's Notch Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smuggler's Notch Inn is an 11-room inn complete with dining room, bakery, and tavern. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served daily. We have discounted ski lift tickets to Smugglers Notch Resort. We now have seven vacation homes in the area that we manage. Flat screens with Direct tv, wifi, hot tub are just a few of the amenities that we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Smuggler's Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smuggler`s Notch Hotel Jeffersonville
Smuggler's Notch Inn Vermont/Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing