We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An off-balanced inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smuggler's Notch Inn
Reviewed October 2, 2008

We enjoy staying at quaint and homey places, especially those that have history, but this place was a little sub par. It reminded us of the Joker's Lair, especially as the floors to our 2nd story suite were warped and twisted. It was like staying in one of those "antigravity" houses at the fair. After a shower, the floor in the bedroom had what at first seemed a mysterious puddle as the water had escaped the bathroom and run downhill to the next room. Our room soaked up the sounds from the hallway when anyone else traversed upstairs to get to any of the other rooms. That being said, the "kids' room" was good sized and had plenty of room. The commons room had several board games and books that we all enjoyed.
We did receive $20 coupons to use for breakfast at the attached restaurant and even though there was quite a wait on Sunday morning, this was absolutely worth it. The prices were very reasonable and the food generous and yummy.
The town of Smugggler's is really laid back and easy going in the off season. (Not much to do after 9pm so get your dinner early!), but it is beautiful in the Autumn and a lovely retreat.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 86 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for two nights on a ski weekend at Smugglers Notch. The Inn is very historic which has both benefits and drawbacks. The building itself is reminiscent of, and largely original to, its era, which is charming but at the same time antiquated. The dining is exceptional.

Overall, the Inn is quaint and a good value with proximity to the slopes, but don't expect all the features of a modern hotel. The personnel, while extremely pleasant, seemed a bit amateur in the hospitality business, and in general seemed a bit understaffed. This was somewhat compensated by the eagerness and friendliness of the innkeepers and staff, however.

The rooms could use a bit of a facelift and an infusion of modern amenities, such as shampoo, bathroom outlets, a hair dryer, an iron, a full length mirror, overhead lighting, and headboards. It should also be noted that the walls are *extremely* thin, and sound travels through the narrow, uncarpeted hallways very clearly.

On the positive side, it was great having the room, restaurant, and tavern all in one building, and the hot tub was Wonderful! We ate at the restaurant, tavern, and bakery, and enjoyed fabulous fare in each case. The food is definitely one of the greatest draws at the Inn, and even if staying elsewhere, I would recommend visiting either the restaurant or tavern for a meal!

If the Innkeepers are able, in the future, to capture the conveniences of a modern facility without losing the charm of the historic Inn, I would expect considerably higher prices, and would be happy to pay them. This place is a diamond in the rough, but is still a bit rough when it comes to the lodging.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank UltiDisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

We stayed at the Inn for two nights while skiing at Smuggler's Notch. We found the inn to be very comfortable.
Our room had one queen room and a full bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and separate shower. The room was small, but very comfortable. It was immaculate, and the towels, sheets, etc. were in good shape.
The inn is not for high-tech people who want a huge screen tv in their room. There is a large tv with cable in the tv/game room, as well as a public living room with lots of space to read or play board games. There is also an outside jacuzzi which was great to use after skiing. One night we were interested in watching a dvd in our room, so they lent us a small tv/dvd player so we could watch in bed. There is a selection of movies, books, and board games to borrow.
The restaurant was nice and it was great to have something so close after skiing. You can eat breakfast in the small bakery/cafe or in the restaurant - it was nice to have the choice. Overall, we recommend the Inn to anyone who wants a wonderful "Vermont" experience.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank astra10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

We love Smuggs!

Third time back and each time it gets better. Stayed at the Owls, which although out of the way and somewhat up the mountain, was a beautiful 3br/3ba sleeps 8. Had 2 families of 4, kids shared a room with 4 twins, and adults got separate Q/K.

Kids program is outstanding. You can put your kids in camp from 10-4, with evening events as well. It gives kids time to be kids and adults time to be adults. Then late afternoon you pick them up and jump on one of the waterslides into one of the pools.

Nice feature is an on-demand shuttle service that will take you anywhere in the resort--you're not constantly parking and moving the car.

Lots of fun resort activities, hiking, tennis. Outstanding staff, just great!

Any issues with the room will be immediately resolved (e.g. need more towels).

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank WannaVacataionAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

When I first stepped through the doors, I felt like I had stepped into someone else's house. I stayed in the 1king/1twin room with my sister and a friend and we all had a great stay. It's not a 4-5star place but the food at the restaurant was tasty and filling and the people were real laid back and down to earth.

There seemed to be a lot of things going on the weekends. Some quick tidbits to take note before you decide to stay here is that this place was built 1790s so the walls are not that thick. I imagine during the peak seasons, it can get kinda noisy. But during midweek or slow times, it's probably not noisy.

They also don't have a hair dryer but they had fresh towels and soap bars and private bath with each room. The room that we stayed in was warm and comfy. This is a great place to go just to relax. City folks, try to leave your gadgets at home because there aren't many outlets. There also isn't a television in every room but if you must need one to watch a dvd, then request one at the front desk because it's on a first-come, first-serve basis.

We spent two nights here and everyone had a good night's rest (no tossing or turning). If you're planning to ski/board at Smuggler's Notch Resort then it's a quick 5-10min drive down the road.

I would definitely recommend this place to others who are looking for a nice relaxing place to stay. You'll also meet some of the friendliest people in VT!

Stayed: December 2006
7  Thank brikee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smuggsinn, Owner at Smuggler's Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2008

Hello-

I guess I should look into reviews more often. This is a general response to the reviews I've read. We now have flat screen tv's with Directv in all the rooms. Wifi is available throughout. We've always had irons and blow dryers available upon request, I've just done a poor job communicating this to the guest. Thanks to everyone for the reviews. This is how we get better. Pat Martin Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Texas
115
Reviewed July 27, 2005

We stayed one night at the Smuggler's Notch Inn, since my husband made our flight reservations for a day later than we had reservations at the Smuggler's Notch Resort. The people at the resort referred us to Smuggler's Notch Inn. The inn, which is over 200 years old, was lovely. The innkeeper (Pat Martin) was very friendly and helpful. When we arrived, he offered to help us bring in our suitcases. Our room was beautiful. It actually consisted of two rooms, one with a queen-sized bed and the other with two twin-sized beds. The towels in our bathroom were clean and fluffy, the mattresses were firm and comfortable, and the rooms were decorated beautifully. Breakfast at the inn was excellent. When the town had its July 4th parade, Pat kept our plates under a warming light so our breakfasts wouldn't get cold. We could find fault with nothing at the inn, and we are planning on staying there the next time we are in the Jeffersonville/Smuggler's Notch area.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank laurentnormandeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
8.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
10.8 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
423 reviews
13.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,341 reviews
4.3 mi away
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Smugglers' Notch Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
1,067 reviews
13.7 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smuggler's Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smuggler's Notch Inn

Address: 55 Church Street, Jeffersonville, VT 05464-8917
Location: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffersonville
Price Range: $96 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smuggler's Notch Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smuggler's Notch Inn is an 11-room inn complete with dining room, bakery, and tavern. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served daily. We have discounted ski lift tickets to Smugglers Notch Resort. We now have seven vacation homes in the area that we manage. Flat screens with Direct tv, wifi, hot tub are just a few of the amenities that we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Smuggler's Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smuggler`s Notch Hotel Jeffersonville
Smuggler's Notch Inn Vermont/Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing