We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming atmosphere, great food.”
Review of The Village Tavern

The Village Tavern
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
140 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Welcoming atmosphere, great food.”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Dined with a large group upstairs but it felt like a private affair. The proprietors were most generous with food and drink and the quality was very good. Would not hesitate to come back on my own. Friendly, welcoming and enjoyable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drdblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice cozy pub”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stopped for dinner on way to smugglers notch.Had a nice fish and chips and a tasty local draft.Fish was generous and the fries were good.cheeseburger looked good and Caesar salad was good too.Would go back again when in town.Service was friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the worst meals”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stopped- by for a quick bite after skiing. I ordered one of the "specials" for the night, "Guinness Beef Stew Pot Pie." Sounded great. The "stew" tasted like beef flavored Ramen Noodles and the crust was like card board and tasteless. My husband ordered a burger medium-well, it came out almost raw. Though the sign outside says it's "family-friendly", the language we overheard at the bar during our looooong wait for our bad food was far from it even though there was a little kid present. The waitress made a good attempt to salvage the experience by taking the "pot pie" off our bill but then she said she tasted it and thought it was fine. I regret to write such a negative review - but hopefully they will act on this feedback or at least future diners are duly warned.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good eats.”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We went there only because the place we wanted to eat it at was overfull. It turned out just fine, however, the food was good, the service was fine, ambiance was nice. Easy to get to right on the main road going through Jeffersonvillee. The setup is a pub downstairs, with the main dining room and the kitchen up a flight of stairs. Also there is access from another parking lot on the level of the dining room. We had the fish and chips. Fries were ok, with a generous portion of fish. My wife had a steak which was great, and done just way she ordered. Pub was very busy so there was a constant stream of waitstaff going thru the dining room and up and down the stairs. A little annoying. Over all not a bad place to eat compared to others in our area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average food & atmosphere. ”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The food is typical pub grub. I had the burger in a bowl, which was a little on the greasy side. The place was packed, so call ahead.

Helpful?
Thank stewpot13820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Village Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing