We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sterling Ridge Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2007

My wife and I wanted a getaway from our apt in NYC and discovered Sterling ridge via Google. We spent two nights the first trip and have been back every years since- each year adding a night! We love the utter peace, quiet and beauty of the location. Nearby Stowe, vineyards, walks in the woods and friends a few miles away make this a the perfect blissful getaway. Nothing better than sitting out on the porch drinking wine, strumming my guitar and breathing in clean air. The folks that run it are great and the cabins very cozy.

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank kilroy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 348 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2007

My son attends Johnson State (near-by college) and told us about Sterling Ridge Cabins. We were up there for just a three days but wish we could stay longer. There were five of us (Mom and Dad and three teenage girls) biggest worry is trying to keep everyone entertained. Not a problem!, these cabins sit close to plenty to do, if you like outdoors or just shopping small shops in the area.

Very nice pool/hot tub to relax with a great view, owners were outgoing and willing to give you great advice to have fun in the area. Cabins were clean and a great place to relax at the end of the day.

Be sure to ask about the local swimming holes "Billington Falls" for cheap fun for an afternoon. Limited eating in Jeffersonville but able to find plenty of places with good food on the way or in Stowe

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank up-for-fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2007

Our family took a holiday of a lifetime to New York and Vermont in February 2006. I came across Stirling Ridge on the internet and booked online.
What a fantastic place it is. We skiied at Smugglers Notch most days, although did venture up to Stowe on the last day.
The cabins are brilliant - very warm and cosy.
The restaurants around Smugglers Notch were very accommodating and served delicious food.
We have 3 boys, aged 8 10 and 12 and they had the time of their lives. We cannot wait to go back again and would recommend Stirling Ridge Cabins to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoupsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2006

What more could you ask for as winter sets in than a roomy fully equipped cabin in the woods, a nice warm woodstove and the sound of a running stream when you step outside.
The cabin was well maintained, spotless, and well located. It's not fancy but it sure is homey and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolaz&fadeintoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2006

We discussed what we wanted in a vacation. Hiking, canoe trip, scenery, shopping, and privacy. If we could find a log cabin somewhere, that would be ideal. A quick google search brought us to Sterling Ridge.

We stayed at this property from Aug. 14 - Aug 21. The website has plenty of photos from the property and it is represented quite well. Since we are a party of 2, we decided on a deluxe 1 bedroom.

Upon arrival, my first thought was how the heck do people get up the hill on Junction Road without a 4x4? That is a crazy entrance. But once you get to the site, it is worth it. We were greeted by the owner, Scott, who quickly ran down the property details for us. Not much to checking in. Just verify who you are, get your directions to your cabin (we were in # 9) and off you go. Each cabin is a property onto itself. Although you can see others, you do have a lot of privacy.

The website states that each cabin comes fully equiped. You can pretty much take that for heart. We brought some extras just in case (tissues, papertowels, saucepan) and ended up not having to touch any of it. You will find the kitchen is ready to go no matter what you need. 9x9" square and round cooking dishes, a larger cooking dish for a lasagna, 3 frying pans, cooking pots, all the utensils & accessories you could ever imagine that you would need. Stove, microwave and fridge with freezer. There is cleaning supplies to wash by hand, or a diswasher if you don't feel like washing. There are also regular glasses as well as wine glasses (I brought those also without having to). The cabins are extremely clean & the owners are strict on their no pet policy to ensure that no special cleaning is required. I think this helps to keep the price competitive.

Our cabin had a tv with built in vcr, but we were told that we could check out a dvd player if we wanted (no extra charge, and there were 3 available when we checked in) plus any movies that they had in their collection could be checked out (again no charge). We only rented one night, but were able to get a good movie. There are plenty of tv stations available. And for us Canadians, CBC and CTV were also there. Always nice to get the news from home when you are away.

There are no phones in the cabins. I found this to be a plus, as I probably would have brought my work computer and set up. No need. There is a computer in the office which you can check your e-mail on. We only had time to check one day. The pool is small (only about 12.5m long) but very relaxing. The view of the mountains while swimming is amazing. The hottub by the pool is also a nice touch. We didn't get a chance to use the game room, but I am told it is nice.

We managed to eat in every night and bbq all except our last night since it rained. Having never cooked without a gas bbq before, I was a bit nervous, but we manged without a problem. Cleaning is simple also.

The most amount of work you will have to do is throw out your garbage and replace your towels. The dumpster is close to the entrance, so we just dropped off everyday. They also recycle which is great. Towels are dropped off at the office and fresh clean ones are available all day. There are never any questions about how many to take. Just take what you feel you will need. The office has pretty much everything to keep you running, but I found that the cabin was stocked when we arrived so no need to ask for more. We only took a lightbulb since a light went out one day (they use high effeciency lightbulbs by the way).

Overall, we found this property to be excellent. Although at times it was full, we still had a lot of privacy and found the evenings to be very quiet. There are plenty of activities on the property or within a short drive to keep you occupied. Smugglers Notch ski hill is within a 10-minute drive. Mount Mansfield is probably about another 10-15 minutes away, but during the winter, the road that seperates these two places is closed. Take a trip there in the summer and you will see why. We enjoyed driving the route to Stowe almost everyday, but could not imagine how anyone would want to be on that road on an icy winter day.

I highly recommend this property for your next vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

MY husband and I stayed here for two nights and found it really delightful. Our cabin (one bedroom deluxe) was simply furnished, but so comfortable and everything is fairly new and very clean. We stayed in Cabin 18 which overlooks a pond. It was wonderful to sit on the front porch in the morning just admiring the view and breathing that fresh mountain air. We couldn't see any other cabins from our porch and even though the resort was completely full, it felt very private. If you have small kids with you, there is also a playground and pool near the lodge. I think this would work well for either a family vacation or a romantic getaway.

I would highly recommend Sterling Ridge as an alternative to staying in Stowe or at one of the in-town resorts. It combines the best of both worlds--great access to all the activities in this part of Vermont with a real "retreat" experience. If you do want to cook, the kitchen is equipped with a full stove, microwave and full sized refridgerator, but if you want to go out, there are many options just a short drive away. The property is lovely and while not luxurious, it has every comfort. I highly recommed it.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2006

My husband and I took our 6yr old son to Vermont for a chance to see snow. We stayed in the Deluxe 2br cabin with a fireplace. What a fantastic cabin!!! We were quite surprised.

It was very comfortable, well heated with and without the fireplace. They even had a hairdryer stocked in the bathroom!! The kitchen had everything we needed right down to a potato masher, wine bottle opener, and cassarole dishes.

We were in cabin 7 which had it's very own brook running past, very convenient to the main office when we ran out of items (paper towels, matches for fireplace), and we were even adopted by the owner's golden retriever, Max!

The trails they have set up the circles the pond are terrific, scenic and safe. They will help plan or give advice on any activities. They are also the day operators for Smuggler Notch's snowmobile tours.

We had an absolutely wonderful trip despite the fact it was unseasonable warm, rained two days and only snowed the day we left! We found the Brewski Pub and Grill near Smuggler's Notch and had a great time there.

We are already planning a return trip the week after Christmas and bringing friends with us to experience this little gem. I have worked in the travel industry for over 13 yrs and am a self described "hotel snob" and the Sterling Ridge Resort definitely met and exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kim_Floyd_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
7.5 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
12.3 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,381 reviews
12.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Smugglers' Notch Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
1,061 reviews
10.5 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
962 reviews
8.3 mi away
Muddy Moose
Muddy Moose
#1 of 2 in Morrisville
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Ridge Resort

Address: 155 Sterling Ridge Dr, Jeffersonville, VT 05464-6485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Jeffersonville
Price Range: $209 - $780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Ridge Resort is located on a scenic back road with stunning vistas of Mt. Mansfield, Vermont's highest peak, and Smugglers Notch, a mountain road pass connecting Jeffersonville to Stowe village. Our log cabin lodging is a romantic getaway for honeymooners and the perfect setting for family vacations and reunions. Sterling Ridge's rental cabins, nestled in the woods, have woodstoves, jacuzzis, and full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sterling Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Ridge Inn & Log Cabins Hotel Jeffersonville
Sterling Ridge Inn And Log Cabins
Sterling Ridge Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing