We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love it here! Sad to leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sterling Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sterling Ridge Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We love it here! Sad to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We just got back from a 3 night stay at Sterling Ridge, our 3rd year visiting the resort. We were so sad to leave! We stayed in cabin 18, on the pond (which was frozen over), and loved it. It was very private and very clean, and we love the wood burning stove in the living room. The bed was soo comfortable. This year, rather than ski, we visited the local winery (Boyden Valley Winery), a local coffee roasting company (Brown & Jenkins) and the local distillery (Smugglers Notch Distillery) and had a fantastic time at all of them, all while learning a lot about each trade. It was fun to mix it up! We had the most relaxing time and were so sad to leave. Next time we will stay longer. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Being on the pond is a great view and quiet, although it is frozen over in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterlingridge, Manager at Sterling Ridge Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Yes, leaving The Ridge is a sad day... but you are always welcome back anytime!
Thank you for returning to us year after year - that makes us happy! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    27
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
94
173
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Castine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I spent five nights in one of the pet-friendly, one bedroom cabins. We had a fabulous time! We loved the easy access to walking trails, and the convenience of being able to rent snowshoes from the resort. The location of the resort is great--four miles from Smugglers Notch and a couple of miles from downtown Jeffersonville. It's quiet and low key, while still being close to everything.

The cabin was clean, cozy and comfortable. The kitchen was well-stocked with pots and pans and cooking utensils. For the nights we didn't want to cook, there were plenty of options in town (some even deliver!). The staff were all friendly and helpful--Max, the canine host, was a particular treat. We took advantage of their pet-sitting services on one of the days, which worked out very well.

We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterlingridge, Manager at Sterling Ridge Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We are so happy that you had a "fabulous time." It was wonderful meeting you both, along with Alice! She is such a happy dog and enjoyed the nice long walk around the pond.
Here at Sterling Ridge, we try to make everyone feel as if our property is their very own special place to be - a home away from home.
Hope to see you soon!

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This Presidents day weekend my boyfriend and I hosted a group of friends at Sterling Ridge, We expected to have a blast especially with the amount of snow we had just gotten, but as we drove up the road past all the other cabins to our private larger cabin (Field & Stream), It was just magical! The cabin was set back beyond all the other cabins and looked out onto a large pond! The smell of the cabin was so rustic and cozy we honestly didn't want to leave! We were able to ski 3 out of the 4 days we were there especially with the discounted lift tickets to Smuggler's Notch! there was plenty of room for all of our friends and the kitchen was fully stocked with any pots and pans that we needed (trust me that means a lot)! We bought 2 of the Morning Baskets and 2 of the Wine baskets which at the end of the trip we raffled the mugs and wine glasses off! The coffee was delicious, the wine exquisite and the presentation when we got there was soo heart warming! It was an amazing trip and we hope to return in the summer for another reunion! :) The only things we were disappointed in was the hot tub was broken during our stay, which wasn't really that bad, and you had to bring the trash down to the front desk area which without a truck was a little smelly and unfortunate.

Room Tip: Make sure to go to their website not VRBO website. Bring trash down Daily. The Field and Stream...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This resort was perfect for our family's ski getaway. The cabins were roomy but cozy and had all the amenities we needed. Ours was clean and appropriately updated. It overlooked a pond and I could see us staying longer than the short weekend we had booked. Not only was it down the road from Smugglers' Notch ski resort but we drove 50 mins. one day to Jay Peak to meet some family. The staff were so friendly and we really enjoyed being greeted by the resident golden retriever Max when we stopped at the front desk for information or wood to burn in our toasty wood stove.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterlingridge, Manager at Sterling Ridge Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review! It makes us happy knowing that our guests enjoyed their time at Sterling Ridge.

We hope, and encourage, for you to come again soon!

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Sterling Ridge while on a ski trip to Smugglers Notch. We had a two bedroom cabin that was roomy enough for all four of us. The cabin was very clean and comfortable and about 5 minutes away from Smuggs. The resort itself is scenic and our cabin overlooked a pond. Really lovely! The office staff was welcoming and helfpul My only minor complaints would be that the cabins could use more hooks (lots of wet snow gear!) and the kitchen could use a few more pots and pans.. Overall, I would not hestitate to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbee201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterlingridge, Manager at Sterling Ridge Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay at Sterling Ridge. We try to accommodate all of our guests to make them feel as though they have "a home away from home."

Please send us an email to let us know what cabin you stayed in so that we can be sure to make adjustments to that cabin (additional pots/pans, hooks.) Thanks for looking out for us :)

Hope to see you again soon!

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We booked the "romance package" for a 3 night winter getaway with our dogs and it did not disappoint. Cabin was larger than expected with a king size bed and huge jacuzzi tub. Small kitchen was well stocked with dishes and had everything we needed to make a few nice meals (including a dishwasher!). Wood stove lets off immense heat and we were toasty all weekend, although there were additional heaters in the cabin. Great amount of rustic charm, but it still had tv and wifi. There's miles of different well-groomed trails to hike (even in winter) on the property and just off the road adjacent to the resort. We hiked with our dogs and rented snow shoes from the lodge. We didn't have to ask for a thing, but I am confident they could have attended to our needs if we had any. There were other occupied cabins, but we barely saw another person, it was very peaceful and quiet. A very minor complaint is that the shower was tiny, but as I mentioned the huge jacuzzi tub made up for it. The town is very quaint and we ventured out for a meal once, but mostly we just enjoyed the resort. Overall it was a great trip and we will definitely be back in the warmer weather to explore the trails and pond when they aren't frozen over.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterlingridge, Manager at Sterling Ridge Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and plan to visit us again in the future. We truly hope we will not disappoint!
I looked at the pictures you took, they are fantastic! I love the one that you took of the glass by the fire - very romantic.

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in the Wilderness Cabin (3 BR) because we wanted 2 bedrooms that had Queen beds. The Cabin was great, very roomy, everything was clean. It was like our own little home on the mountain. Everyone was very helpful both on the phone making arrangements and in person.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterlingridge, Manager at Sterling Ridge Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We are so happy you felt right at home in the Wilderness cabin. It will be here for you clean and ready for your next visit - which we hope will be very soon in the future! Thank you again.
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
7.5 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
12.2 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
9.4 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Smugglers' Notch Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
10.5 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.1 mi away
Smuggler's Notch Inn
Smuggler's Notch Inn
#2 of 3 in Jeffersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Ridge Resort

Property: Sterling Ridge Resort
Address: 155 Sterling Ridge Dr, Jeffersonville, VT 05464-6485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Jeffersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Ridge Resort is located on a scenic back road with stunning vistas of Mt. Mansfield, Vermont's highest peak, and Smugglers Notch, a mountain road pass connecting Jeffersonville to Stowe village. Our log cabin lodging is a romantic getaway for honeymooners and the perfect setting for family vacations and reunions. Sterling Ridge's rental cabins, nestled in the woods, have fireplaces, jacuzzis, and full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sterling Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Ridge Inn And Log Cabins
Sterling Ridge Inn & Log Cabins Hotel Jeffersonville
Sterling Ridge Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing