We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun”

Smugglers' Notch Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Smugglers' Notch offers fun for the whole family no matter the season.
Allentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Family fun”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Even though we don't all have the same interests we all found fun stuff to do. One snow shoe tour, 2 snowboard lessons and a skier proved a great stay for all. Great kids programs, good food and friendly, helpful staff made it a great get away. Rooms spacious but a bit dated. No gym or outdoor pool but lots of alternatives.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your vacation with us. We're glad to hear that everyone in the family found something to do; that's our goal - to provide varied activities that appeal to many ages and interests. For fitness buffs, there are a number of opportunities such as daily winter walking outings, yoga, and our new cardio drumming, not to mention mountain snowsports. Our hope is that those activities provide the opportunity for a new fitness adventure to our guests and take the place of an indoor gym.

Thank you again for your review. We hope you'll consider returning on vacation to Smugglers' in the future.

Best,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    102
    31
    24
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dennis Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Some great skiing!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Despite the very chilly temps, we had a blast at The Smuggs! Our only complaint was the long, slow, cold lift rides to the top of the mtn, but then again, our legs needed the rest. They really should be running high-speed quads, and more to the middle of the mtn.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaK4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks for posting a review of your visit; we're very glad to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed the skiing. We appreciate your comments on your chairlift experience. Suggestions for changes and enhancements are highlighted for our management to assist with future planning. Thank you for visiting, and we hope you'll return to ski with us again.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A resort designed for kids”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our family spent President's Day weekend at Smuggler's Notch, with two kids (5 and 1). It is not a high-end luxury resort, but what it is - a family resort designed for families with kids - it does very well. The kids' ski school is very well run, there is snow tubing and ice skating, the heated pool and 'fun zone' provide other things to do, and you never have to get in your car the entire vacation, which is particular important with young kids.

Having said that, the accomodations are a bit tired, the service is very friendly but uneven (on a busy holiday weekend night the restaurant service totally fell apart), and the food is just so-so.

But our kids loved it, our older one progressed a lot in skiing over four days, and it makes things easy that everything is within walking distance.

So, if you're looking for a high end luxury resort for adults, this is not the place for you, but if you're looking for a fun family vacation with kids, we would highly recommend it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sherief M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hello - Thank you for writing a review of your recent holiday vacation at Smugglers'; we appreciate your recommendation of the resort for families. Congratulations on your young skier's progression; it's truly a pleasure for our snowsports instructors to be a part of such achievement. We're glad to hear you enjoyed many of the activities in our village and that you found getting around the village convenient for walking and through use of the on-call shuttle. We hope you'll consider Smugglers' again when making future vacation plans.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Newbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible accommodations, very inconvenient and kids were bummed no outside pool or huttub.”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I've heard for years what a great 'family' resort Smuggs is so we finally decided to give it a try this year during MA school vacation week. It's midway through our stay and I'm pondering leaving and bailing out what's left of our time off at another mountain. The accommodations are by far the worst part. The issues started when we first stepped out of the car - the entryway into the building is flooded by about 5 inches of water and that is the only entrance. After stepping ankle deep into freezing water I notice others climbing around the stairway rails and over a snow bank to unload, so we follow suit. As we climb the stairs to the third floor we notice a foul that smell that's getting stronger the higher we go and, sure enough, it's strongest right at our unit. Then we go in- it is about this point I first wonder about packing the car back up and taking off. The unit we're staying in is a dump - the gas fireplace is too small so someone nailed up some plywood around it. Then - likely that same someone - tried to screw an oversized fireplace screen around it right into the wall....but it's literally falling down because the screws pulled out! There's a light switch missing on the wall, a window that rattles when the wind blows, and I think the furniture was nicer in my freshman college dorm 25 years ago. The hideous gas fireplace won't light, but maybe that's a good thing given the shape it's in. It's getting late now and we're all tired from the drive and hungry, so I figure a burger and a beer will make things better and tomorrow is a new day. ...right, a new day with new disappointments! We are a family of five and paid to be slope-side because our little guy still naps so my wife and I take turns inside when he gets tired of skiing. While there are some true slope-side accommodations, that is not where they put us. Our unit they claim is 'walking distance', which means it's not necessary to take the shuttles, but whoever decided this is walking distance never tried it with three kids carrying skis and poles with ski boots through streets and parking lots that never seem to get plowed. So I'm wondering how to salvage this trip and figure I'll spring for ski storage so we don't have to tote them back and forth - no dice - no ski storage at Smuggs! The kids are rolling with things better than me by now but that lasted only until they found out there is no outside pool or hottub. Well there is, but it's only for unit owners, not renters. But no worries, the indoor pool is 'walking distance' - yeah right!! ...... As I write this review, someone just came to fix our fireplace and my little guy just finished a nap, so I am temporarily free from 90 minutes of waiting for him in this awful unit and am heading back out for another trek over to the lifts. .....It's pretty safe to say we will never come back to Smuggs. We ski a lot in New England and there are a number of places we enjoy. The 'other family-friendly' Vermont resort is by far our FAVORITE spot in New England and luckily we'll end this season with a trip there in two weeks....,something I'm looking forward to every minute of our stay here at Smuggs!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geese91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We have been in contact with this guest to follow up on his review and apologize that his family's vacation was not what they expected given our resort's reputation. His disappointment is understandable in view of the circumstances described. The details provided have been shared with our quality assurance coordinator. We very much appreciate that this guest took the time to share his dissatisfaction, which enables us to address the complaint and make improvements.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the Best Family Trips We're Ever Had”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My family and I couldn't be happier with our ski vacation at Smugg's Notch this season. We rented a three bedroom condo which was roomy, clean, warm and had ski on/ski off access to the mountain. They also have an on call shuttle service which brings you wherever you'd like to go on the resort. Everyone on the staff was very friendly and offered us some great ideas of things to do at the resort for our young kids. Our group was seven adults, two infants and one toddler so we had a lot of group meals in our condo & enjoyed our time together having hot buttered rum by the fire place. We also had a great group dinner at Hearth & Candle. The mountain had fun challenging trails for our more experienced skier/boarders and easier trails which my brother and sister in law used to take their little guy out after his snowboard camp. We really loved our time at Smugg's and are already planning our next trip back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing a review about your family's stay with us. We're happy to hear that you found your lodging to be comfortable and that the vacation home provided a great set-up for your family's meals and relaxation time together. We also appreciate your comments on the helpfulness of resort staff, our on-call shuttle and the variety of our ski and ride terrain. Glad to hear you're ready to plan your next visit - that's what we strive for!

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smugglers' Notch Resort also viewed

 

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing