We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vermont is beautiful”

Smugglers' Notch Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Smugglers' Notch offers fun for the whole family no matter the season.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Vermont is beautiful”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went and stayed a week (off season) and had a fantastic time. There is a lot to see and do.....we went ziplining, walked a road that was so packed with ice cars can't travel thru it. Went to a winery (Boyden) -- best Cranberry wine you will ever find! Also went to a coffe beanery where you could purchase coffee from almost anywhere. Also went to Cabot's cheese store ---cannot believe they make so many varities. Visited Stowe, Cambridge, Jericho. Make the trip - it's well worth it esp. if you are not a skier.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience here at Smugglers'. You certainly hit some of the highlights in our area - the Boyden Winery, which has great tastings; Brown & Jenkins coffee; the Cabot Cheese store (heaven for cheese lovers!); and some of the charming towns and villages nearby ... plus ziplining! We're glad that you found so much to do and that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for making Smugglers' your homebase to explore Vermont.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    104
    31
    24
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Icy and Cold”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Skied at "Smuggs" December 30, 2013. Was very cold, but cannot blame hill on weather. Unfortunately at this date not all runs or lifts were available. The more difficult runs were very icy and not comfortable to ski on for my wife and daughter. The teenage boys found the runs icy also but did have praise for the single terrain park that was open. The potential is there for a more stimulating time later in the season perhaps. Given the cold and icy conditions we did not stay the whole day.
Access to the hill and parking were sufficient and the restaurants were good.
Would go back again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrowngettingBrowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hello - Thanks for sharing your experience; it is nice to hear that your boys had fun in the park and that you found the restaurants satisfactory. We hope you and your family will be able to return and fully enjoy our three mountains!

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful amazing skiing”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We went to go snowboarding and skiing. We own our own equipment. The mountain is beautiful. We only skied and boarded at Madonna mountain but there is an easier mountain called morse mountain. The runs are beautiful and are so fun to go down. The prices are fine too. On Thursday they had a winter carnival with free hot chocolate and pop corn. They also had candy making and cheese sampling. Over all it was a great exspireance and I am sure to come back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michiganstatehockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your visit; it sounds like you enjoyed the terrain on Madonna, which serves intermediate and expert skiers and riders (as does Sterling Mountain), with Morse serving beginners, as you pointed out. The views from all three mountains are beautiful. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our weekly Winter Carnival, which is an event that is new this season. In addition to the hot chocolate and food sampling, perhaps you saw the ice artist? Each week, he carves amazing ice sculptures that are fun to see. We hope to see you back soon!

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pot smoking state”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I was going up the lift at sterling and the lift ahead of me had 2 teenagers that were smoking mariajana (pot). So when I got off I went to the ski patrol and explained what I had experienced. That is when it went from bad to worse. The ski patrol (female maybe 20 yrs old.) said well you are in Vermont and it happens all the time. I stated there were kids on the mountain and having someone "high" was totally unacceptable. Forget the fact that it is illegal! She said "again , you are in Vermont and that is what it is like" and walked away as if u was annoying her! So, for all the families out there, be prepared for pot smoking teenagers to run your kids over on the mountain!

Helpful?
2 Thank Padro65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We apologize that you did not receive a constructive response from the individual you approached. Please be assured that our ski patrol is dedicated to ensuring a safe and enjoyable experience for our visitors. Thank you for bringing this incident to our attention.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“All-in-one!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My family vacationed her December 2013 and had the best time! Our teen agers, ages 13 and 14 were well amused in the teen room and Fun Zone(teen nights). We felt 100% comfortable with our kids being alone together at any of the ammenities or on the ski hills. They'd take the shuttle by themselves. The shuttle service is FABULOUS! We loved that we could just park our car and use the shuttle service for everything. The staff we encountered were all very courteous and up beat and wanted to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. Nothing was rushed- which was great. We took ski lessons and found them to be very valuable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Molly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hello - Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Smugglers'. We are very pleased to hear that your family had a good vacation, and we appreciate the feedback that your teens enjoyed the teen center and teen activities at the FunZone. Thanks also for the positive commentary on our staff and the shuttle service - our goal with the on-demand shuttle service is to allow our guests to park their car and forget about it, so we're glad to hear it met your needs!

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smugglers' Notch Resort also viewed

 

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing