We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent eatery”

158 Main Restaurant & Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alstead Center, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a wonderful old building full of history, everyone was super friendly & food was excellent. This is in a historic part of town. Jeffersonville is rich in history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Syrene1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    122
    41
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Two Days In a Row”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

On first visit to 158 Main, I was disappointed because we just missed breakfast service. I discontentedly ordered a grilled cheese with tomato and bacon, and holy smokes, what providence. It was the best grilled cheese I've ever had, at a great price, and a great portion. The service is a little slow and forgetful, but they are all friendly. the atmosphere reminds me up an upscale diner in a small town- which is exactly what it is.

Because we loved the place so much we went back the next morning in time to get breakfast. We were again blown away at the food. Get the french toast. Coffee was pretty good too.

Just remember not to plan on being in-and-out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank alissamgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I love to go here for breakfast. And so do a lot of other people! I reccommend everything on the menu -- the pancakes, the eggs, the homemade bread and pastries. Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Definitely a gem in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We took a trip from Stowe mountain lodge to go horse backing riding & came across this restaurant. Great menu with delicious food. Try the seafood chowder! Delicious! We also had French onion soup, shrimp po boy, open faces turkey sandwich & a salad. Everything fresh and tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent food at very reasonable prices. Go for Prime Rib night when they serve one of the best prime ribs we have ever tasted at a very reasonable price.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dc0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 158 Main Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to 158 Main Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing