We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Nearby Hotels
Deer Run Motor Inn(Jeffersonville)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Mountain Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$208
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$69
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topnotch Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$145
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stowehof(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$109
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trapp Family Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motor Inn(Morrisville)
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,245)
Filter reviews
1,245 results
Traveler rating
655
363
143
56
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
655
363
143
56
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfun zonemountainside poolgreat family vacationwater slidesski schoolmorse mountaintime sharemaster bedroomzip liningwasher and dryerspecial needswinter vacationthrough rcidisc golfsmuggs passsnow tubingice skating
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
817 - 822 of 1,245 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We've been back multiple times in winter and summer and love Smuggs. WE have 4 kids from 15-7, and we have our best vacations at Smuggs (especially summer), mainly because of the location and the amazing variety of (simple) activities. Mom hikes. Kids swim in every great pool. We usually do an afternoon at the reservoir (RumRunners) that is pristine and beautiful. Mom and Dad always get a meal at the fine dining restaurant (very unique menu, bottle(s) of wine, and a 100-yard walk back to the unit!). Love hopping over to Stowe for an afternoon. We arrive, park the car and barely get back into the car for the whole week. Our perfect place.

Room Tip: We love the units right in the central village. They are older than the brand new places up the hill, but we literally walk out our door and are just yards from everything. Kids can go on their own, which younger ones couldn't do at the further out (newer) units.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hello from Smugglers' Notch!
Thank you sharing your testimonial; we are very honored to be your family's perfect place for both summer and winter vacations! We're glad to hear that each of your family members finds an activity to have fun with. As you point out, it is nice to have the accessibility to Stowe on the other side of the mountain, with the Notch open during the warm weather season. Many of our visitors do enjoy heading out for a little bit of exploring, and there are certainly attractions like the Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory that are well worth a drive.

We very much appreciate your review.
Best wishes for many more wonderful family vacations!
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We met here with extended family and that was the highlight of the trip. We had 2 condos in the same building (thanks to Smuggs for accomodating that request) which gave us lots of family time together. I only saw the building we stayed in (Hakone), but it's by no means glamorous, though it was located centrally making it easy to get to any of the activities. We loved the family activities (karaoke, bingo, scavenger hunt), the pools were OK, Rum Runners Hideway was a blast for the kids and in a beautiful location (but be prepared for a true uphill hike to get there). We bought just the basic package since we were only there for 2 nights, but I hated being nickel and dimed. After paying approx $500/night, I was shocked to pay an extra $10/day for Internet, was surprised to find the bungy at the Notchville pool was an extra $8, etc, etc....the kids had a great time, so overall a successful stop, but I probably would not choose this spot again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KimGleason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Hello - Please accept my apologies for the delay in acknowledging your review. We value your feedback and I'm very sorry that I did not provide a response in a timely manner.

Thanks for sharing feedback on your extended family's stay at Smugglers'. We're glad that you had fun and enjoyed a lot of family time. We're always happy to try and accommodate lodging requests for family groups.

It's disappointing to us that you did not think the package provided good value. You mentioned a few of the family activities that are included like bingo, karaoke, the family scavenger hunt; all of which we're very glad you enjoyed. Other inclusions are the FunZone, daily Stretch & Go aerobic walking, weekly movie on the green and Country Fair and more. While there are a number of fee-based activities, we try to offer package inclusions that appeal to all ages and interests. We also welcome feedback on families' interests so that we can make appropriate adjustments.

Again, we appreciate your review. Thank you for visiting.

Karen Boushie
Smuggler's Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

if you like to be on the move, this is the vacation for you!! whether it be hiking, biking, swimming, sightseeing, or .. well... even relaxing!! The camps are fantastic as well as all the camp counselors, the kids have a blast and are exhausted from all the activities at the end of the day! Sitting on the deck and looking at the mountains after a long day is just heaven! I highly recommend smugglers notch resort!

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the green are close to everything and you can look out and see all the kids play including your own!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 821Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hello - Thank you very much for the recommendation; we appreciate your positive review. It's great to hear that your children enjoy our camp programs for all ages. Thank you for pointing out that relaxing is an option; a visit to Smugglers' does not have to be totally focused on activities! As you mention, the decks on our condominium homes are a great place to kick back since many have lovely views of the mountains or forest. You got us thinking - we might also suggest the rain garden area or the gazebo on the green as other good spots to take in the scenery.

Thank you for vacationing with us, and our best wishes to you.
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have been to Smuggler's Notch for years in the winter and summer. Whereas I love the skiing, I am continually impressed with all of the summer activities Smuggs has to offer. Our children can attend the day camps, which are great with a wonderful staff, while the parents play tennis, go ziplining, or just relax with a good book and great views. There are family events every day and every night. We recently bought our own condo because we knew we'd be back multiple times a year. We hope you'll consider bringing your family to Smuggs and creating your own memories.
Sincerely,
Owners of Mountain View 1

Room Tip: Mountain View 1 (or any of the Mtn View units) are centralized and close to everything... bball, volleyball, the teen center, fun zone, and courtside pool, not to mention the village just being steps out your back porch.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hello - Thank you for posting a review highlighting your great vacations in both the winter and summer at Smugglers'. We're glad to hear that during summer stays your children enjoy the kids' programs and that you've had a few adventures of your own, such as ziplining. Hopefully your family was able to sample some of our new programs on your July visit, like mountain biking, the Morse Mining Company for mineral panning or some of the new Artists in the Mountains classes. We certainly always welcome feedback on your experiences and ideas for new activities.

Our best wishes for many more years of wonderful family vacations in your Mountainview home!

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Kestrels three bedroom ground level home affords a beautiful up-scale residence with open access to a convenient grill and picnic table. We hiked the amazing morse Mt, swam, fished and biked ! The Hearth and Candle restaurant is amazing, the staff at Smuggs willing to go the distance to make your stay a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello from Smugglers' Notch!
Thank you for posting a review of your vacation; we are very happy to hear that you were pleased by your Kestrels accommodations. It sounds as though you valued your time spent enjoying many different adventures that our mountain setting has to offer. We appreciate the positive feedback on your dining experience at the Hearth & Candle in our Village and our staff's commitment to guest service.

Thanks for choosing Smugglers' for your vacation and we hope to see you again sometime soon!

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews