We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful location, with great accomodations. July 7-11, 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Unit #57 in the Tamaracks is very new, and the 3 bedroom unit had a king bed master bedroom with Jacuzzi tub and a TV in the bathroom, a queen bedroom, and a 4 single bed bedroom, and a couch that had a sleeper. So you could have 10 people, enjoying 5 TV's, 2 baths, and a nice balcony, with a great view. We walked into the second floor and up a flight of stairs to our 3rd floor unit. Move in without an elevator was the only time we really missed it. There was no central air conditioning, only individual units in the 3 bedrooms, but it rarely gets hot up on the mountain. It was a 200 foot vertical climb on a winding dirt road from the base to our unit every time we went anywhere, and while shuttles were free and frequent, we were never told about them. The pools were plentiful and spread out all over the mountain. Mini golf was fun. The nightly entertainment changed daily with music trivia, a magician, a hypnotist, and afternoon bingo for cash or candy were enjoyed by all. There was a lot to do, and peaceful quiet if you chose. The drive through the actual "Notch" in the mountains was a narrow squeeze that entertained all. The kids did the Arbortrek zipline, and we drove up Mount Mansfield for the view. All the resort staff, including the younger lifeguards and counselors, were friendly and nice. We did sit through a Wyndham 'update' and had a bit of pressure to upgrade our timeshare.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank 5inavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Hello - Thank you for sharing a review of your Smugglers' vacation. We're glad you enjoyed your condominium in the North Hill. We certainly apologize that you were not informed about the on-call shuttle.

It appears that you enjoyed a great many of our family programs and also took some time to explore in the area. For others reading this review, there is a toll road drive to the summit of Mount Mansfield on the Stowe side of the mountain. Whether one enjoys the toll road or a hike to the summit, the spectacular view is rewarding and a don't miss for visitors to our area.

Thank you for choosing Smugglers' for your family's vacation.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
There are newer reviews for Smugglers' Notch Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have been owners for about 18 years and have always had wonderful vacations at Smuggs. The kids' camps are excellent- first our daughter and friends enjoyed them and now our granddaughter has a blast every day. The setting in the mountains (near Stowe, Vermont) is beautiful with hiking trails and tons of activities--yoga, a country fair, family movies, a comedy show for adults, magic shows, crafts....I could go on and on and not mention everything offered.
There are lots of pools, some with water slides,--my family is partial to one set on the mountainside with fabulous views and croquet !
Stowe is nearby with wonderful restaurants and shops.
The staff at Smuggs has always been outstanding- helpful and caring. Love this place!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CandyB117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Hello - Thank you for sharing your experience as an owner and identifying for Trip Advisor readers some of the activities and attractions that are your family's favorites during your visits to Smugglers'. How wonderful that the third generation of your family is now enjoying their Smuggs experience and making new memories and friends in our children's programs! We very much appreciate the kind words about our staff.

Best wishes to you for many more vacations filled with fun!
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were given TA67, a new building in the resort. The roll in shower was great, the unit very clean and lovely. We do have a couple of suggestions. There should be more paving in the parking lots. My wheelchair picked up dirt and gravel from all of the parking areas and unfortunately transferred to the interiors of the buildings, especially on the rainy days. Also the beds were VERY HIGH. I couldn't get in the bed, even with a small stool, so I had to sleep on the sofa. In the accessible units, I would suggest the resort put in lower beds so that the travelers can sleep in a real bed. Since Smuggs is remote we were relieved that there were two restaurants, which did not disappoint. We were disappointed in the the extremely high prices in the small convenience store. The employees we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for unit in a new building.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Hello - Thank you for choosing Smugglers' for your vacation. We appreciate that you took the time to post a review of your May stay during our spring programming season. We're glad that you enjoyed your Tamaracks home and that you were pleased by the service provided by our staff. We very much appreciate your suggestions related to the parking lot and the beds to improve cleanliness and accessibility; your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments for consideration.

For others reading this review who might be considering a spring visit, our programs and services do change seasonally and details can be found on our website to assist your planning. Any questions can also be answered by making a quick call to our vacation planning staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience in a review.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We own Unit #2 in the Mountain View Complex right in the center of the village. We have been going to Smuggs for 7 years in both the summer and the winter. Our kids leave the condo at 9 AM and we don't see them until 3PM. My husband and I relax by the pool or winery - then we join as a family to do outdoor activities until we all collapse! Phones, computers and TVs are OFF! We have become friends with some of the staff and other repeat vacationers. We love the fact that this vacation is not centered around food and technology (although there is plenty of that available!) Our whole family is outside and active while we reconnect with each other and nature. Some of our favorites are: The dive in movie, zip lining, biking through Stowe and stopping for craft beers in each beautiful restaurant, the Boyden Family winery, kids night out, hiking, bonfire sing-along, and the list goes on!
We would highly recommend vacationing at SMUGGs in both the winter and - especially - summer. We are so fortunate to have our children grow up with this family tradition.

Room Tip: We have recently remodeled and upgraded our 3 bedroom unit (can be rented as a 2 bedroom) It is Moun...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hello - Thank you for posting a review and sharing your family's experience from your vacations at Smugglers' over the years. You identified a great mix of activities that can be enjoyed on resort property, as well as highlights in the local area that are a short drive away. Active families can definitely find plenty to enjoy during their vacation. Arts and crafts classes, nature walks and health and wellness programs are also part of our programming for anyone seeking a laid back and relaxing option for vacation fun. Lots to choose from!

Thank you again for sharing your Smugglers' experience.
Best wishes for many more happy vacations in your Mountain View with a mountain view!
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here and my kids said it was the best vacation ever.
I was very disappointed with the room. We stayed in the Sterling building, which is the ugliest on the property and our bedroom had white concrete brick walls which gave the room a prison feel. Also, there were bags of trash or recycling or something laying outside our door for some reason and no path so you have to cut across wet grass to get out of there.

I don't care for such 'rustic' accommodations but if you want to make your kids happy, I think these rooms are one of the least expensive. My kids loved the room because it had a sleeping loft for them and the building is close to everything.

Tons to do. Restaurants good. Pools clean and fun. Staff seemed unknowledgeable a lot of the time but they were very quick to solve a maintenance issue we had so that was good.

Not sure we will go back but, if we do, definitely splurging for a better unit!!

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank cbcg516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hello - Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent family vacation at Smugglers'. We love the "best vacation ever" testimonial from your children! It's great to know that you found lots to do and enjoyed the pools and dining experience.

From your comments it appears that for you the experience was colored by your accommodations. As you note, the Sterling condominiums are convenient to our Village activities and amenities. However, as a smaller home with a loft, it is not to everyone's tastes. Please accept our apologies that this home was not to your liking and for the bags on your doorstep that were not picked up.

Since your experience otherwise appears to have been positive, we sincerely hope that you'll choose to return on a future vacation. If you do plan a return trip and you'd like to discuss the different types of homes available, our vacation planners are happy to answer questions.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

we've been looking forward to our trip to "Smuggs" for several months, my kids watched the DVD a million times and as we pulled into the parking lot, we were happy to arrive after our long drive.

We were the only people checking in when we arrived, and there were about five young (teenage) workers behind the desk talking. They were visibly annoyed to have to check us in and downright rude. Hmmmm . . .interesting welcome.

When we arrived at our condo we were appalled - - my freshman dorm was nicer. We didn't realize that Smuggs is actually renting out condos that are privately owned, and the vary greatly. Do research on the EXACT unit you're getting.

After that one-two punch of disappointment, all we wanted to do was immediately leave. But instead we called to complain and were given the option of "upgrading" to another condo. It was better, and we appreciated the "over the phone" customer service. When my husband went back to get the new keys from the check-in counter . . .the group of teenagers were talking about us!!! "yeah, they're getting an upgrade . . .unbelievable".

Our kids' did have fun during the stay - enjoyed the pools and the staff driving the golf carts (Ted being one of them) were professional, courteous and helpful. We didn't do any camps - no way I'm letting my kids go with the staff after I got a taste of their attitude.

The resort needs to seriously improve it's training of all of their young workers. I especially loved standing waiting for a golf cart with my 7 and 2 year old with a teenager worker who was just dropped off for her shift . . .yet stood right in front of my kids smoking away . ..really??????

Lastly - when we checked in, we had to go to the "Wyndham Desk" to get our keys. Because - after our rude check-in we then needed to hear a time-share sales speech for a tour. We're not against vacation ownership - but not being given our key until we heard it was unprofessional.

think twice if you're going and do your research.

Room Tip: research your exact unit
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank heathertunnicliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hello - Thank you very much for sharing a review of your recent stay at Smugglers'. We certainly set our sights on offering our guests a wonderful experience, but try as we might, we do occasionally fall short. Our guests' feedback helps us improve and adjust our training and operations. Please accept our apologies that your visit started off on the wrong foot with your check in. Your review has been shared with the appropriate managers so that further training can be conducted.

We were happy to upgrade your lodging and we're glad that the second condominium suited your family's needs. Our village is composed of five different neighborhoods with homes of varying sizes and configurations, both timeshare and full ownership. In furnishing and decorating their homes, our renting owners do adhere to quality standards; we're sorry that in your case the home in which you were first lodged fell short of your expectations. We are glad you brought this to our attention during your stay so that we could make an effort to address your concerns and ensure a comfortable stay for your family.

We're glad to hear that our pools were a hit with your children and that you also enjoyed interacting with our shuttle golf cart drivers. They are great resources for information about Smugglers' and our local area.

Thank you for your feedback.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is our third trip and we still are finding new things to do in Vermont and even at the resort. We had booked a three bedroom but were able to upgrade to a 3 bedroom presidential Reserve in the newest area in the called the Owls. The Owls has its own workout room and small salt water pool. The unit was great, The master bathroom had a shower with to shower heads. The rooms were large. The only thing that seemed small were the TVs (one would think if they upgraded everything else that would include the TVs...not a complaint just an observation) The kitchen had the best appliances and the cabinets and drawers were even upgraded...when you closed them they had something built into them that was almost like an automatic closer so when you push them closed they would get about an inch or so for closing then slow down and slowly close...something I had not seen before and it keep everyone from slamming the cabinets closed. The resort was nice as always. They have a lot of choices for food and even more choices for swimming. I would highly recommend this resort for anyone to try. Note this is a timeshare location so you will be asked (but not required) to sit through a presentation. Since we are already owners we have seen the show a lot of times and it doesn't bother us. In fact this was our fastest and easiest presentation to sit through.

Room Tip: If you are a Wyndham Time share owner and have the points try to stay in the "Owls"
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty_RTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Greetings from Smugglers'!
Thank you for posting a review of your most recent stay. We are very happy to hear that you and your family have chosen Smugglers' as your destination for three vacations. It's great that you continue to find new things to do - as you know, we offer a number of activities here on site, and there are plenty of adventures to be had in the area!

Your observations about your lodging will be helpful to other guests considering Smugglers'; thank you for posting photos. We appreciate that you shared your thoughts on the televisions. Such comments are helpful when considering future planning of amenities.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,319 reviews
6.0 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
21.3 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
676 reviews
7.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers' Notch Resort

Address: 4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range: $168 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers' Notch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers' Notch is a year round mountain resort offering acclaimed programs for families and seasonal activities including alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and snowshoeing; enjoyment of 8 pools and 4 waterslides; guided hiking; children's programs and a zip line canopy tour. The resort village amenities include condominiums with fully equipped kitchens, restaurants, a child care center, two teen centers, a country store, a sport shop, a massage center, and winter ski & ride equipment rental and tuning/repair facilities. Smugglers' is nestled in Vermont's northern Green Mountains about 50 minutes from Burlington, Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Smugglers' Notch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers` Notch Hotel Smugglers Notch
Smugglers' Notch Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing