We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“June vacation in Aspens Highlands village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“June vacation in Aspens Highlands village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This resort consist of several villages. Each village has some facilities available only to its residents. Aspens has a very nice heated to 86 F pool with beautiful views, bathhouse ,small gym and a playground. There is a covered corridor leading to those facilities. Rooms are well cared, spacious. Kitchen is filly equipped - we even had a slow-cooker provided. There is a big balcony with very basic outdoor furniture.
This resort has facility to make vacation enjoyable even if weather is totally miserable. The water playgrounds are heated and fun zone is a life saver if you have a bored kid... Their summer camp is really good if weather is nice. In a bed weather, kids are staying in-doors building puzzles or boarding games - there is not much equipment to keep them busy inside. Camp takes kids to the pool even if it is 56F outside. But our son didn't complain. If there are not many children, then water activities are planned for non-swimmers and good swimmers can be bored or upset because they are not allowed to go on a big slide and kept in the waddling pool.

They have day care center on the property which runs Kids night out program on several evenings a week. It is $30 for 5:30-9:30 including dinner. Was a huge perk for us. There is a nice restaurant on the property with small but attractive menu.

Overall - the set up is perfect for a good family vacation. Perfect even- if Vermont's weather cooperates. We most likely will be back, but not in June. Please be aware, the temperatures in Smuggler's notch are even lower for 3-4 degrees than a neighboring Stow

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello from Smugglers'!
Thank you for posting a review of your June vacation; we appreciate your observations, which we're confident will be useful to other travelers planning their Smugglers' getaway.

We're glad your family enjoyed the FunZone and our summer children's programs. Our summer programs for kids are focused on being outdoors for recreation and adventures in our beautiful mountain setting, so it's good to keep the weather forecast in mind when preparing a child for the camp day. Regarding use of the pools during the camp day, we make every effort to match children up with a water experience that is appropriate for their swimming ability.

We're happy that your children were able to attend the Kids' Night Out program organized and hosted by our child care staff. In the summer, the program is offered for 3-11 year olds on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Saturdays, and includes dinner, art projects and games. While kids are having their special night of activities, parents can enjoy dinner or quiet time together.

Thank you again for your review, and for choosing Smugglers' for your family's vacation. We hope you'll be back!

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    304
    120
    56
    38
See reviews for
593
129
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I recently stayed at Smuggler's Notch Resort for three nights with my wife and two children. I have mixed reviews for the property. I will take you from check in to check out...the entrance to the resort is full of pot holes as you drive into the resort. Check-in was rather quick , as we checked in early, but we were just basically given a welcome packet and room info then told to come back when we get a call that our room is ready. For those of you that have never been to the Notch, the layout of the property is a bit confusing, so I had to ask for the woman to show me where my room was, versus just being shown where it was on the resort map.

The room was ready about two hours later, we picked up our room keys and since we were with Club Wyndham Discovery package, they tried setting us up for a time share tour. ( Which I had already told them the day before I wasn't interested with over the phone.) The room was very nice, I was told it was one of the newer rooms and buildings. The bad thing about the resort is that all the buildings are separate so you have to drive to everything, (around all the potholes).

A negative is that you have to walk or drive to the pools. ( We found out two days into it that they have a shuttle.....probably should of been told that at check in). The pools are decent, all are heated, the indoor kiddie pool area is very nice.

The food at the Morse Moutain Grill was terrible, we ate there once and that was it for me, we ate off the property every night. They do have a Ben & Jerry's on site, but don't ask for a Banana Split because they have no Banana's....lol

My in-laws checked in On Saturday night and that was a whole ball of confusion. I had to call the front desk twice to correct it.

All in all, the room was very nice and roomy, some areas of the resort definitely need upgrades such as arcade, Rigabello's, the roads, etc. I would only go back if they upgrade the whole resort, otherwise I have seen much better places to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vincentp452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello - We appreciate that you took the time to post a review of your June stay with us. We're glad that your lodging was comfortable for your family and that you enjoyed our pools.

Thank you for providing comments on some of the areas where we can seek to improve; for instance, the roads, and certain facilities. It's disappointing to us that you did not enjoy the Mountain Grille. The restaurant has a quite extensive family-friendly menu and strives for a high level of quality. We're very sorry you did not have a positive experience.

As you mention, the Smugglers' campus is served by an on-call shuttle; please accept our apologies that was not made clear as you checked in. The shuttle provides an extra measure of convenience for those who prefer not to walk. For those who like to walk, our village accommodates pedestrians with green space, paths, and posted low traffic speeds.

Again, we very much appreciate your feedback.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Wifey & I stayed in a 2 BR Presidential Suite week of 6/8/14. Accommodations were fit for a KING, the suite should be named a King Suite. The entire resort is top notch, and worthy of having the distinction of being our favorite resort, so far. The activities offered are very attractive. Be prepared to pay for them, but they are worth it. Highly recommended. This stay was at the tail end of our New England Tour, which started in Hancock Mass. Definitely worth the drive, from Ohio. Plenty of things for kids to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlitos_Papichulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello - Thank you for posting a review of your June stay at Smugglers'. We're delighted that you recommend us so highly, and that your lodging and activities were particular highlights. Thank you for making us a part of your New England tour - we hope you'll consider another stay with us if you're back in the region again!

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just got back from a week at Smuggs, and we basically had a wonderful time. It is easy to see why they call them the Green Mountains. The ride up through Smugglers Notch down towards Stowe should not be missed. This is the route the bootleggers used to smuggle in booze from Canada during Prohibition. Smuggs is a beautiful resort, with a lot to do on-site for kids -different "camps" for different age groups. We are timeshare owners, and have been for over 20 years, but...you really get the high pressure sales pitch here - if you choose to go. We had a beautiful, large 2 bedroom unit in the Oaks building. But you can't sit outside on your deck when it is raining (and we had a couple rainy days), even if it is a nice gentle rain. This is because the rain come through the boards of the third level deck (which, at least at Oaks, does not have a roof over it), down through the boards on the second deck and down to the deck on the first floor. A roof over the top deck would have eliminated all of this. Also, as has been previously noted by others here, the pot holes in the dirt roads of the complex are atrocious. I am from Pennsylvania, the pot hole capital of the U.S., and even I was really challenged to navigate some of them. The resort needs to get them filled in or graded or something. Also, when we checked in to our unit we informed the staff of two deficiencies: one was a burnt out spotlight over the dining room table and the other was a 4 slice toaster that was broken on one side making it a 2 slice toaster. Our request to have these deficiencies corrected was never fulfilled. Perhaps we should have brought it to their attention again - but one expects a different level of service and attention to detail from an RCI Gold Crown resort. The staff was very friendly and helpful, when you asked them about what to do and where to eat. But I would have liked to have seen a general open to all briefing early in our week given by the staff on the sites and events in the area - like we have experienced at other resorts. It was up to us to find out everything on our own. Would we come back to Smuggs? Probably ....but not in the near future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ZeroTTZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello - We very much appreciate your comprehensive review of your June stay. We definitely agree with your assessment that the drive through the Notch is not to be missed - the rugged landscape the road passes through is spectacular.

We're glad that you enjoyed your lodging in the Oaks. Please accept our apologies that the issues related to the toaster and spotlight were not addressed during your stay. Your observations will be shared with appropriate departments here for consideration as future improvements.

Thank you for the suggestion of hosting a general informational meeting early in the week. We do so in the fall and spring seasons when our visitors tend to explore the area more. We appreciate your input that such a meeting might be useful at other times of the year.

Thanks for choosing Smugglers' for your stay; we're very glad that you would consider a return visit.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was my first visit to the resort. This actually was our first trip to northern Vermont. The accommodations were very clean and warm and cozy. All of the beds were comfortable in the space was more than adequate. If you plan on taking part in outdoor activities such as hiking at smugglers notch or participating in the Arbor trek activities do keep in mind you will spend quite a bit of time and money on driving and finding gas.
Don't go during mud season which is spring up thru mid June unless you enjoy cold rain and wind all day and nite.

Room Tip: Willows are good locations for skiing trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello - Thank you for sharing a review of your June visit to Smugglers'. We're honored that you chose Smugglers' as your destination for your first visit to northern Vermont, and very glad that you found your stay with us to be positive in terms of value, location, cleanliness, service and sleep quality. We hope you'll return for a future stay!

You mentioned the spring weather, which indeed can be changeable during April and May. It's best to pack accordingly with clothing that can be layered to provide comfort during any changes in temperature.

You also mentioned the availability of gas stations. Other travelers reading this review may like to know that there are indeed gas stations on both sides of the mountain. If approaching Smugglers' from the east, gas stations are located just off the interstate in Waterbury and further up route 100 as you approach Stowe. If approaching Smugglers' from the west, there are gas stations in Jeffersonville at the base of the mountain. Our website has a directions & travel info tab under "Plan your vacation" that identifies strategic stops, many of which offer fuel, dining and other amenities. Hopefully this information will help other travelers as they plan.

Thank you again for posting a review.

Very best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

A resort in transition is what I'd call Smuggs. Trying to span the big gap between skiing seasons is tough. Most of the restaurants were closed but the one that was open was decent enough. The unity we stayed in was fantastic and the best part of the entire resort was the outdoor saline/heated pool. My kids just about lived there.
The staff was nice and helpful although not very knowledgeable about the local "Stuff To Do".
The timeshare people drove us nuts with calls and messages to attend a owners update.....
All in I probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello - Thank you very much for selecting Smugglers' as your school break destination. We very much appreciate the feedback you shared about your stay. We're so glad that your family enjoyed your condominium and plenty of pool time during your stay!

Please accept our apologies that our staff was not able to respond to your satisfaction about attractions to enjoy locally; we'll work on improving in that area in the future.

Thank you again for choosing Smugglers' for your getaway and for sharing a review.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We traveled to Smuggler's Notch over Memorial Day weekend. Check-in was easy, although the pressure to attend an Owner's update is getting a little old.....every time we go somewhere it seems like we are asked over and over to attend, doesn't matter how many times/ways we say no. They even followed up with a phone call the next two days to see if we wanted to attend. It seemed like there were quite a few people at the resort, but as others have stated, many of the resort's restaurants are closed or have limited hours. The family above us let their kids run & jump until late at night. We called the front desk and were told that quiet hour starts at 9:00 p.m. Fine - but that didn't stop them! Maybe a suggestion to put families with small children on the ground floors. Overall, our trip was nice - we saw some beautiful scenery and traveled through the "Notch" - quite an experience! Not sure we would stay again as it was quite a drive, but am glad we stayed once.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hello - Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Smugglers'. We appreciate your feedback, which will be shared with the appropriate managers here at the resort. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit here and the opportunity to take in Vermont's beautiful scenery. The drive through the Notch is indeed, as you say, an experience, with great views of the rugged terrain surrounding the pass. Our thanks to you for choosing Smugglers' as your Memorial Day weekend destination.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
21.3 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
4.3 mi away
Smuggler's Notch Inn
Smuggler's Notch Inn
#2 of 3 in Jeffersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers' Notch Resort

Property: Smugglers' Notch Resort
Address: 4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smugglers' Notch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers' Notch is a year round mountain resort offering acclaimed programs for families and seasonal activities including alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and snowshoeing; enjoyment of 8 pools and 4 waterslides; guided hiking; children's programs and a zip line canopy tour. The resort village amenities include condominiums with fully equipped kitchens, restaurants, a child care center, two teen centers, a country store, a sport shop, a massage center, and winter ski & ride equipment rental and tuning/repair facilities. Smugglers' is nestled in Vermont's northern Green Mountains about 50 minutes from Burlington, Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smugglers' Notch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers` Notch Hotel Smugglers Notch
Smugglers' Notch Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing