We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always try to upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Came in through rci. Found out later that rci guests get the crispy rooms. So apparently rci guests aren't worth it to them.
Had a two bedroom unit in oaks it was old but ok. No view whatsoever. Overlooked maintenance area.
Apparently there are new units but they are not reserved for rci guests.
Double bed too small for two adults In need of new mattresses.
Not there to ski so way too far off the beaten path for site-seeing. Spent way too much time driving here and there.
Hearth and candle restaurant ok. Best thing they had was French onion soup. The rest was just ok.
Bought groceries to make our own breakfast.
Won't come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janice j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hello - Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay at Smugglers'. Your comments will help guide ongoing improvements. Our RCI guests are valued members of our community and it's disappointing to us that you were not satisfied with your visit. We encourage guests booking through RCI to call our Owner Services team to confirm the accommodations they have reserved, which would enable discussion of lodging location within our village. We certainly also welcome communication during a traveler's stay of any areas of dissatisfaction.

Many of our guests choose to stay at Smugglers' because of our quiet mountain location. We understand that it can be nice to minimize driving during a vacation. Those who like to sightsee beyond the resort can leave the driving to us, as we do offer a day trip program so that our guests can enjoy an outing with a driver.

We appreciate your comments.
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were disappointed in our stay. The resort was located “over the notch” which is like another world. There is absolutely nowhere to have a nice meal or have a good drink. The resort only had two restaurants open and had no entertainment for adults. It was like a ghost town after dark and very boring. Everything we tried to do was booked (zip lining, tree obstacles, and massages).

The condo we resided in was all the way up the mountain so we had to drive everywhere in the resort. Nothing was in walking distance. We were placed in an area that had no view at all other than a dusty old pool and some trees. The room was extremely hot, for some reason, and regardless of what we did we couldn’t get it to cool down. Therefore, using the fireplace was not an option. Our room also had an unusual odor to it that we couldn’t identify. So, we basically had a hot stinky room with a bad view.

Also, we booked through a timeshare and when we arrived they withheld our keys until we agreed to attend a meeting the following day. They were aggressive and pushy. We made the appointment just to stifle them, but canceled it the following morning. We found this to be a poor sales tactic and I wasn’t amused.

We would never reside here again. If you want a vacation in Northern Vermont I suggested you go to Stowe. It was a beautiful town with lots to do. Unless you enjoy a boring time with below par food I suggested you stay away from Smugglers Notch ( at least in the Fall).

Room Tip: Mouintain Laurels stinks. Too Far & bad views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephielee1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staying here now smack dab in the middle of rainy season/fall. I can only imagine the awesomeness of this place in the winter with skiing in full swing. This said, even now with it too warm to ski, but too cold to prance around in shorts & a t-shirt, is still an amazing location to base day trips out of. Bring some waterproof hiking boots/shoes, some rain gear and be prepared for some awesome hiking, wandering and sight seeing. Super quaint little towns like Stowe, Jeffersonville are well worth a few hours of exploring and Burlington is but an hour away if you want some "big city" civilization (costco, movie theatre, etc). Could even do a day trip to Montreal or Boston if you really wanted to. Or, just sit around and enjoy the heated, outdoor salt water pool or the indoor lap pool. Would have been nice to have the kids area open but I guess can't get it all...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Escape_The_Snow_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hello - We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Fall is indeed a great time to enjoy Smugglers' as a home base for area adventures since we are located within driving distance of many popular Vermont attractions. And for those who prefer to park their car and forget about it, we do offer day trips that include scenic areas, specialty food destinations and Montreal. Thanks for sharing your outerwear/footwear tips. The fall weather can be changeable and travelers who pack accordingly are able to enjoy outdoor adventures in comfort. Thanks for taking the time to share your review, and we hope you'll return check out our winter awesomeness!

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a 2 br unit in Sycamores, the very end unit, so we had a beautiful view from both the living room windows and the patio. The unit was scrupulously clean, with more than enough linens and towels. We had no sales pitch the week we were there. The kitchen had everything I could want to cook the meals we decided to eat in the unit. The kitchen had an open floor plan, and may have had smaller counters than some are used to having, but the courter space was as much as I have at home, so I definitely didn't feel cramped. We thought the unit was huge. We had a slight plumbing problem (lavatory sink drained slowly) and maintenance was there almost before I got off the phone. Check-in had directions to places of interest in the area. My only complaint was the television sets, although flat screen, were much too small for the size of the rooms. We had a marvelous trip, enjoyed the area, and would definitely return. Although the resort has no control of this, if you intend to buy groceries, buy them along the way (Jackson or Stowe). There are no real grocery stores nearby although the convenience store at the resort has more supplies than I expected.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank sfzCentury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hello - Thank you for reviewing your vacation experience at Smugglers'. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the beautiful mountain view from the Sycamores in our West Hill community, and that the home fully met your expectations for comfort and amenities. We're also glad to hear that your maintenance issue was taken care of quickly. Your observation about the size of the television screens will be shared with the appropriate department.

Our country store is well stocked with a variety of food and beverages, but your tip about stopping for groceries en route is a good one for guests who intend to take full advantage of the condominium kitchen amenities. Other travelers considering Smugglers' may wish to refer to the Driving Directions page on our website, which identifies suggested stops that have full grocery stores along the driving routes that are most popular with our visitors.

Thank you for your review,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Great Location for Outdoor Activities. The Unit was Large Enough, We had. 3 Bedroom in the Tamerack Building.

Cons. Check in was fast. I've been a RCI Timeshare Member for over 15 Years. I've Never seen a Sales Pitch upon arrival. Had to go into a different office across the hall to get my room key. House Keeping Fees of $70.00, not once did they come into the unit.

All in All a Great Place; Beware of the Fees and Sales Calls to Your Room.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stoweogunquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hello - Thank you for choosing Smugglers' for your recent vacation. We're glad you found Smugglers' to be a great location for outdoor activities - between the outdoor recreation opportunities here at the resort and the options in the area, you probably discovered plenty of ways to have fun and enjoy the Vermont landscape.

We're sorry to hear that the cleaning fee came as a surprise. Both the RCI confirmation and Smugglers' confirmation mention that there is a fee for those RCI Points stays that are less than one week long. This fee covers the cleaning of the home after your stay and is a standard procedure at RCI Points resorts, since maintenance fees usually cover one cleaning per week. The fee is not intended to cover maid service.

It sounds like our concierge desk was a little too forward during your check-in. Please accept our sincere apology for that. Please know that it has become our practice to try to touch base with all owners and guests as early in their visit as possible. This allows us to help you plan your vacation days using the expertise of our concierge staff, and to offer you the chance to view our brand new Owls Presidential Reserve homes as the demand to see them is very high.

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found your Tamaracks vacation home to be comfortable for your needs.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch Resort public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our fourth year spending Columbus Day weekend at Smuggs. We have 3 young children and we always have a wonderful time.

The units that we've stayed in have been pristine and roomy. We utilized their child care program, and the kids loved it. Happy kids= happy parents. (My 6yo daughter cried when we left because she wanted to stay so badly.)

And many thanks to guest services for sending someone to our unit to help us jump our car's dead battery!

Room Tip: We love the North Hill community because the pool area (only for North Hill) has a "sprinkler p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonnet103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for making Smugglers' your holiday weekend destination for the fourth year! We're happy to hear that your stays with us have been enjoyable for all the members of your family.

Best wishes,
Karen Boushie
Smugglers' public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Smugglers Notch is getting its RCI tineshare Gold Crown Status based on amenities not the Units (at least not the Maples). No 2 bedroom should only be 620 square feet with bunk beds in the second bedroom with no visible means to get into the top bunk. We also had to move the chair out of the second bedroom since there was no place to put it except in front of the closet door or dresser drawer.

As indicated by a previous reviewer the kitchen space is lacking to the extent that utensil tray needs to be in a drawer in a table in the living area. It's actually not so much that it is lacking but that there are so many other things, like rolling pins as previously mentioned, that there is not room for utensils in the kitchen. Also the small kitchen counter has to accommodate a blender a toaster oven and a toaster that leaves little room for anything else

In the living area, if you had 6 people, which is the advertised capacity, the people in the master bedroom would have to crawl over the people in the people in the sofa bed when it was open. Also 6 people would struggle to use one bathroom. Even though there are two sinks, neither has enough room to put anything but the basic necessities

I also question a Gold Crown resort that only has air conditioning as a wall unit in the master bedroom and a "gully" in the master bedroom bed big enough that only one person can sleep in the bed

The staff is helpful and facilities are good, except for the lack of pool towels, but you need to live in your unit for week or more not in the lounge or reception area.

They need to get a new interior designer at minimum.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 243Furby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello - We’re very sorry to hear that your recent Smugglers’ vacation did not meet your expectations. We certainly understand your disappointment in finding that the home booked for you was one of smallest two bedroom homes in the resort.

There are over 300 homes and a wide variety of floor plans available at Smugglers’ through the RCI Exchange Program. Due to the considerable differences between homes, we encourage all guests booking through RCI to call our Owner Services team prior to arrival to confirm the type of accommodation they have reserved. RCI does have the square footage and sleeping arrangements at their fingertips, so please don’t hesitate to ask those questions of RCI before booking your next vacation.

The Maples home that you stayed in may very well have been the only two bedroom home available at the time you booked your family’s exchange, due to the popularity of Smugglers’ during the peak fall foliage season.

We appreciate your feedback and will take it into account when we evaluate the home. We hope that you and your family will try Smugglers’ again. We’re confident that by using the advice here you’ll be able to book a home that is more comfortable.

Karen Boushie
Smugglers' Notch public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,367 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
154 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
7.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers' Notch Resort

Address: 4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range: $162 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smugglers' Notch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers' Notch is a year round mountain resort offering acclaimed programs for families and seasonal activities including alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and snowshoeing; enjoyment of 8 pools and 4 waterslides; guided hiking; children's programs and a zip line canopy tour. The resort village amenities include condominiums with fully equipped kitchens, restaurants, a child care center, two teen centers, a country store, a sport shop, a massage center, and winter ski & ride equipment rental and tuning/repair facilities. Smugglers' is nestled in Vermont's northern Green Mountains about 50 minutes from Burlington, Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smugglers' Notch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers` Notch Hotel Smugglers Notch
Smugglers' Notch Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing