We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the drive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

It is an eight hour drive from Toronto to get to Smugglers but worth every minute. The staff are great at looking after you and the rooms are nice and clean and lots of room for the kids. Really nice indoor pool and play area that any child will have a fun time in. The restaurants were not all open when we were there but the one that was had some fantastic french fries. The rest of the meal was nice too. We had our pick of three different places to stay so it wasn't just walk in and be told where to go. Take a trip on the 108 if it is open. Drive slow but some great pictures there. Stowe is not far and lots to do there. I got my deal on-line so check it out. I will go back if I manage to get the same price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wewilldoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    304
    120
    56
    38
See reviews for
593
129
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

It was the beginning of our Vermont and New Hampshire trip and we decided to stay at this resort for a night. The front desk did a great job informing us of nearby locations as must see and also many of the resorts amenities. Our room was great, very ski-lodge-esque but worth it, a wonderful full moon that lit up the night sky with wonderful views of the mountain behind. No complaints here as we were in and out!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbrayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit it was very nice, My only gripe is. the people behind the front counter, do not know what is available for your family. Lack of help from the front counter, they do not know what activities are available onsite and off site,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Spent Columbus weekend at Smuggler's and it was superb. Rented a four bed unit and shared it with another family so it worked out to be a very reasonably priced weekend. The location of the unit was close to the main village which I would recommend as then you're close to the restaurants, shops, basketball courts, pool, etc. The kids enjoyed swimming pool and went to the Indoor area called Funzone, my only complaint was that the staff in Funzone were not at all child friendly! Lovely hikes nearby too.

Room Tip: Ask how old the unit is, also some of the units are up much higher than the main village area so dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa29503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We visited Vermont for the first time in mid-September with a group of 10 friends. Smuggler's Notch is a Wyndam resort and affiliated with RCI time share company. While I think the Stowe area is better known as a winter ski attraction, there is plenty to do during the summer as we found out.

We went on the Arbor Trek zip line tour. Great fun and not too overpriced. Some of us had been zipping before and this tour was right up there. Good guides and they accomodated our large group well. Check in went smoothly and there is lots of information available regarding the area and Vermont in general.

You could play mini-golf, disc-golf, basketball, tennis at the resort. They have a decent indoor pool, but we didn't actually swim. Plenty of hiking of course and while our group didn't have any children in it, the place definitely seems set up to entertain families very well.

Our condos were in Balsam and Evergreen buildings. Spacious, comfortable and well equipped for their purpose. Central "village" is convenient to these buildings with a couple decent restaurants and a gift shop/convenience store that was only moderately overpriced. We pretty much ate breakfast at the main restaurant every day with a couple of lunches as well. Dinner we ate out about every night, with a very good Italian restaurant (Stella Notte) located directly across the road from the resort entrance getting our business twice.

Stowe is about 25 minutes drive (back down through "The Notch" which is an experience in and of itself) where you can find all the civilization you care for. Tons of shops/gallerys/restaurants to visit, all geared to the tourist. We spent a couple afternoons strolling about and wandering in and out of the various establishments. There are also a couple grocers in Stowe that allowed us to stock up on whatever provisions we had to have.

Smugg's is well located for day trips into Burlington if you desire to go. Also there are several small villages/towns within a short drive and we spent a day searching out some of the covered bridges in the area with pretty good success. Of course we did the obligatory maple syrup shopping/shipping so now all our other friends and family will be swimming in the delicious amber!

We did have an unexplained fire alarm in the Evergreen building at 4am one morning. After an hour it was deemed a false alarm and of course we would have rather NOT experienced such an event. But it was interesting to see the local VFD's show up and do their under-appreciated duty. THANK YOU for showing up fellas!

Overall Smuggler's Notch Resort met our expectations, but really didn't exceed them in any particular way. That is why the "average" rating. Vermont is a beautiful place and we hope to visit the area again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council bluffs, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Just got back from spending a week at Smuggler's Notch to see the fall color. It is located less then an hour from the airport but it feels like a world away. The check in was quick and easy. Our condo was in a building with about 12 other units. Each appears to be separately owned. That seemed to confirm some of the comments I read before I left concerning the variability of furnishings. Our room faced the lift and had a nice little patio. There was a fireplace, which we couldn’t figure out how to turn on, but we did not need to. Check the upper right corner on their website and the website will change with the seasons selected, very sophisticated.

I was pleasantly surprised to get a call from housekeeping checking on us and asked if there was anything that we needed, especially since we did not pay for daily service. When we did need something they were quick to respond.

There were quite a few options to eat on site as well as a number nearby. Since it was towards the end of fall colors only the Morse Mountain Grille & Pub and the The Hearth & Candle were open. We ate meals at each. The Hearth & Candle made for a quite unique food experience in a small rustic setting. Great place if you want to have a meal with someone special. We enjoyed the prime rib special and got our first taste of Vermont cheese as our appetizer. Service was good and the waiter seemed to know his menu. Morse Mountain Grille is usually crowded according to our waitress, but it was empty that night. Food was the usual bar food, prices were reasonable.

The resort is obviously a family affair. If this were summer or during ski season, there would be lots to do. The pool was in an inflated roofed building just done the road from us. We did take the time to walk some of the trails and view the foliage. For those that are adventurous there is a zip line down the road.

Smugglers Notch is a pass in the mountains just down the road. One thing we noticed is Vermont does not mark its trails or other attractions very well. It took us three times to find the trail off the road to a waterfall. Definitely get out of the car and walk around, it is beautiful country. The damage from the hurricane was evident but it did not prevent us from driving anywhere.

Hope you find this helpful. Considering coming back, maybe during the summer with the kids and grandkids.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrapeGrower60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at Smuggs' in August; we all had a wonderful time!!! Kids enjoyed the waterparks, camps, movie in the green, bingo & funzone. Parents enjoyed watching the kids have a blast while we were free to explore, enjoy meals together and hike as well as spend time with the kids.

Room Tip: We stayed at Sterling Loft #8. Our condo was a one bedroom with a private bedroom for the parents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsWithTweens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
21.3 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
4.3 mi away
Smuggler's Notch Inn
Smuggler's Notch Inn
#2 of 3 in Jeffersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers' Notch Resort

Property: Smugglers' Notch Resort
Address: 4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smugglers' Notch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers' Notch is a year round mountain resort offering acclaimed programs for families and seasonal activities including alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and snowshoeing; enjoyment of 8 pools and 4 waterslides; guided hiking; children's programs and a zip line canopy tour. The resort village amenities include condominiums with fully equipped kitchens, restaurants, a child care center, two teen centers, a country store, a sport shop, a massage center, and winter ski & ride equipment rental and tuning/repair facilities. Smugglers' is nestled in Vermont's northern Green Mountains about 50 minutes from Burlington, Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smugglers' Notch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers` Notch Hotel Smugglers Notch
Smugglers' Notch Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing