We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We ski Smuggs often in the Winter and spend several weeks there in the Summer. The skiing is phenomenal with terrain for all levels, but if you're in excellent skier you'll appreciate all the woods runs. Apres ski can be jam packed with family events, swimming, sledding, tubing, skating, the Fun zone or you can sit in your beautiful condo overlooking the majestic mountains. Summer is just as fun with great camps for kids, water parks, mountain biking, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, trips to Montreal, zipline, lake swimming, the list is endless. I also highly recommend dining at the Hearth and Candle Restaurant which is located in the Smuggs village. The staff is over the top attentive and the food is superb, plus the atmosphere is lovely. We always leave Smuggs feeling 100% reconnected with our family, relaxed and refreshed.

I read some of the other reviews from people who visited in May, yeah, it's quiet in Vermont from mid April (ski area closes) through end of May because it's mud season. Picks up again early to mid June.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sn0wdncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Thanks for sharing your comments about your Smugglers' experience; we're delighted that you've enjoyed good times with us in summer and winter! And yes, as you point out, spring is indeed a quieter time, but it can be a relaxing time to visit as well as beautiful with all the emerging shades of green on the mountainsides. We hope that the spring addition to our website (coming soon) will be a useful resource for visitors during the mid-April to early June timeframe. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    304
    120
    56
    38
See reviews for
593
129
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

We've stayed at Smuggler's notch resort twice with our young son for skiing/snowboarding. We chose Smugglers Notch for the value and their children's ski programs. The children's ski instruction programs are very good. Our 5 year old son enjoyed the lessons and was doing very good skiing this year. Additionally, having our son with in lessons gives us the opportunity to ski all morning and through lunch. Then we pick him up and relax or do one of the other on-site activities like snow-shoeing, dog-sledding.

We're not very experienced, but for us the green/blue trails were fun and offered good variety. On weekends the trails can get crowded though. The rooms are a little dated but clean and well furnished. The on-site dining options are mediocre but we cooked in our room for most meals.

We've already booked for next winter and are looking forward to it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestPalmBeachDgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
We very much appreciate that you've chosen Smugglers' for the third time for your family's winter vacation. We strive to offer good value and quality instruction and programs for our guests, and we're glad that you recognize those elements as part of your family's experience here. It sounds like you have discovered a mix of fun activities and relaxation that works for you! While the condominiums' fully equipped kitchen do offer dine-in convenience, you might want to give the dining options another try - menus in the Mountain Grille and the Hearth and Candle are updated seasonally to accommodate changing tastes and interesting new flavors. Thanks for sharing your experience and best wishes for a wonderful stay this winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

We went as a family with my 4 yr old who never skied before and was scared. The ski instructors were so caring. He was booked on a group lesson but they gave him one-on-one attention at no additional cost or complaint.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triciads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thanks for sharing your comment. Our ski and snowboard instructors are passionate about those sports and work hard to create an experience that will leave their students (of all ages!) loving the sports as well. Children's instructional programs at Smugglers' are designed to teach skiing and snowboarding in a fun way, which is particularly important for very young children since they may be overwhelmed by the newness of their on-snow experience. For kids your son's age, supportive instruction in our all-day camps or private lessons builds confidence on the snow, with a heaping dose of fun mixed in with off-slope games and activities. We hope your son is looking forward to getting back on the snow this winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

We've enjoyed a great week at the Smugglers Notch resort in early June just before the start of all the resort summer activities. As one reviewer already pointed out, your level of enjoyment depends on which condo you're staying at. In the summer months, for families with young children, it maybe better to stay in the Village East and West because the facilities there cater to young families. However, most units there are older and a lot more crowded together. The units in the West Hill, Highland and North Hill are better for the spectacular mountain and valley views, and the units are much newer and quieter. We didn't count on taking part in any of the summer activities because we used the condo as a base for visiting nearby towns so the date & location suited us and the rate was very reasonable. We had a corner unit in one of the Sycamores buildings located in the West Hill with mountain view on one side and the valley view on the other. Our spacious unit is well-kept and it looked like it's been updated recently. The dishwasher and washer+dryer are all new. The housekeeping called twice to see if we needed anything else which I thought was good service.
Just a few complaints:
The BBQ provided is not the propane type so you have to buy charcoal and fuel to use it.
The beds are too soft.
The flat panel TV's are too small.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return….. maybe in the fall season the next time.

Room Tip: Request units facing the mountains/valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank timbuk2Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. As you point out, our lodging neighborhoods have different things to offer. With inquiries, our vacation planning professionals are happy to describe the lodging communities, each unique in their own way, and work to ensure that guests are lodged in a community that works well with their personal needs and vacation interests.

You mentioned the fall season - it is indeed a wonderful time to visit, with beautiful foliage and events such as harvest festivals and craft shows going on.

Thanks for visiting Smugglers', and we hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

First of all the website is definately misleading. It does not look like that. Our room in the Hakone section was very outdated and dark and dreary inside. I will say the kitchen was fully stacked with supplies and appliances. I went with a friend in May and nothing was open ie waterslides, outdoor pools, restaraunts etc. The waterslides looked dirty and old too. It was a half hour to any half way decent places to eat. An hour ride to any kind of stores or other eating places. The indoor pool didnt open till 12 noon. Nothing to do for fun around the area except the zip line to which i called and they didnt get back to me till late that evening. Everything was shut down or closed. The also double charged my friend for our stay on her credit card. All in all our stay was just ok. We made the best of it. Im sure its better to stay there for skiing but definately not for the summer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JilMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for your comments about your May stay. We are currently making adjustments to our website that we feel will clarify what activities and amenities are offered at the resort in the spring - between the close of winter programming in early April and the kick-off of summer programming in mid-June. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope the billing error was resolved to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Smuggs at the end of May for a long weekend get-a-way. This is the first time we've decided to comment on tripadvisor, because there were a few things we wish we knew before going...
First, WHERE you stay in the resort is extremely important. We were originally "assigned" (seemingly randomly) to stay in Hakoney. Our room was OK but a bit run-down/outdated with a slightly odd smell (and a very campy feel). We then moved to the Balsams, which was extremely nice and had a luxurious feel-- it was a world of a difference even though it is all part of the same resort.
Second, there is definitely an "on" vs. "off-peak" time at Smuggs. During the spring, the resort seemed like a ghost town- most of the amenities described on the website were not available and the restaurants were closed.
In all, though, it was a nice stay-- the staff and scenery was nice, but we felt that the website was very misleading. And, just be aware that the whole resort has a very "campy" feel (less like a hotel/resort, and more like the over-night camp days from when we were young).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank julieM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersNotchResort, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers' Notch Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Regarding your lodging experience, we're very sorry that the first home did not meet your expectations. The five neighborhoods within our resort feature unique homes and amenities, and we strive to offer accommodations that satisfy our guests and meet quality standards. Our reservationists can assist guests prior to arrival to identify a neighborhood that meets their needs. As with your visit, if a need for an adjustment is requested, our staff is happy to work with the guest to try and provide an alternate vacation home.

The spring season is quieter than our busy summer and winter seasons, and is generally a time when guests who stay at the resort venture out to explore the countryside or attractions in the area. We do appreciate your comments indicating that you felt inadequately informed about resort activities in the spring. We're in the process of updating our website so that the spring season is more clearly represented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

Just spent an amazing week at Smugglers' Notch Resort with our family and a couple friends. We love this resort and stay in the Willows III or IV building several times each winter. Both of these Willows locations provide some of the best ski on/ ski off properties at the resort where we are able to step out the back door right onto the slope. The condo was spacious and lovely - such nice amenities - jacuzzi tub, 4 flatscreen tv's, fully stocked kitchen, enough room for family and friends. Not only do the three mountains provide a wide range of challenge from lots of beginner and intermediate terrain to very challenging and beautiful trails, lift tickets are much more reasonable (you can find discounted tickets in the area and the Bash Badges are great if you stay for more than 3 days - each year in early and later season (after March 7) you ski for free after buying the Badge, otherwise, it's just $25 per day with no blackout days. There are so many activities going on at the resort - family activities, snowmobiling, sledding, skating, dog sledding, massages, cooking and art lessons, and the new zip line, just to mention a few. This is a vacation that our kids love to do several times each winter. It's also a great vacation for extended families. The grandparents have the best time! This is our favorite ski resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeLoveSmuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
21.3 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
4.3 mi away
Smuggler's Notch Inn
Smuggler's Notch Inn
#2 of 3 in Jeffersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers' Notch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers' Notch Resort

Property: Smugglers' Notch Resort
Address: 4323 Vermont Rte 108 S, State Route 108, Jeffersonville, VT 05464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smugglers' Notch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers' Notch is a year round mountain resort offering acclaimed programs for families and seasonal activities including alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and snowshoeing; enjoyment of 8 pools and 4 waterslides; guided hiking; children's programs and a zip line canopy tour. The resort village amenities include condominiums with fully equipped kitchens, restaurants, a child care center, two teen centers, a country store, a sport shop, a massage center, and winter ski & ride equipment rental and tuning/repair facilities. Smugglers' is nestled in Vermont's northern Green Mountains about 50 minutes from Burlington, Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smugglers' Notch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers` Notch Hotel Smugglers Notch
Smugglers' Notch Resort Vermont/Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing