We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great price, great service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jay Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jay Village Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Jay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, great price, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here MLK weekend for two nights. Ate at the downstairs restaurant for breakfast twice and dinner twice. Both meals were awesome - the food was delicious, the prices were fair, and the portions were huge! Great beer selection (5 or 6 local taps, including SwitchBack). Best part of all, though, was the service. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and attentive. The real stand out, however, was Butch. He was our waiter both nights and made great recommendations on the food.

Bottom line: we will be making our stay at JVI a yearly tradition.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoTownBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
20
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed at the Jay Village Inn for New Years, and had a fantastic time. The rooms are perfect, the service is terrific, and they have a fantastic restaurant. And not much is better than getting in the hot tub and sauna after a hard day of skiing. I would absolutely suggest it. Ask for David on the phone for great service. He's the best.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Airbear33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

My son and I traveled from Florida which included and all day trio between flights and rental cars from airports. When we arrived the owner greeted us and said the most important words in hospitality...of there is anything that you need shout ASAP and it will be taken care of. We arrived late but not too late to get a massive bowl of chili and phenomenal lamb chops. Our room is quaint, clean and 1/2 the price of local accommodations. Given that I can go downstairs in shorts n the am for breakfast....I will give this joint a rave review!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudemanburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here in August, Jay's off-season. We were one of only a few people there. The suite set up for a family of four was great for sleeping, but there's no place to sit and read or watch tv other than the bed really. The beds themselves were not super comfortable. The pool was very nice, the hot tub was great, but we couldn't find the lights. I could imagine it would be very hard to sleep here during ski season, as I'm sure the apre ski goes on quite late and from our room, we could hear the dining room/bar area through the floor.
Our dining experiences here were excellent. Wings were awesome. Great local brews. Huge burgers. Very good breakfast. Had pizza brought up to the room one night and it fit the bill.

Room Tip: Our "suite" was right over the dining area, and it was pretty loud, even after closing, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnyqball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at the Jay Village Inn for one night last weekend after attending a friend's wedding at Hotel Jay. The room was comfortable and clean, and this Inn offered an affordable alternative to staying at Hotel Jay. The staff was hospitable and offered great suggestions for attractions to visit nearby. I only wish I had more time to stay and look forward to returning for another great stay in Jay.

Room Tip: For those warmblooded travelers be advised there are only fans in the rooms. I really didn't min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MISSMARYVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a great place to stay for activities near Jay Peak mountain. I had stayed there many years ago and the rooms seem to be updated - new bathrooms (although small), TV in rooms & free wireless Internet. We had Room 5 above the kitchen, which the owner had warned us might be noisy; but it wasn't. They had big crowds for their restaurant (which is excellent) on the first floor; but everyone seemed to clear out after 9 pm. The breakfast was really good and filling. The staff is very helpful & friendly. The parking is ample. They offer discounted Jay Peak tickets. The room was clean and big enough to accommodate all our gear. The only negative would be that they don't allow you to bring your skis in the room. I highly recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: They have suites to accommodate traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMingus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, MA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed one night at the Jay Village inn last week. It was just right for our needs and having the restaurant right downstairs for dinner and breakfast was terrific. It wasn't fancy or full of amenities but it was inexpensive, a great value. Dave and his crew took good care of us. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vistamotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jay
3.3 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
3.3 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
13.1 mi away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#4 of 6 in Sutton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
13.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#5 of 6 in Sutton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
13.2 mi away
Auberge des Appalaches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jay Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jay Village Inn

Property: Jay Village Inn
Address: 1078 Vt Route 242, Jay, VT 05859-9694
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jay Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Jay Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jay Village Hotel Jay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing