We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT location, nice unit, poor service and NO laundry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Long Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GREAT location, nice unit, poor service and NO laundry”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We arrived on Saturday Dec 21 to a mountain covered in snow...but it began raining...and the next day Jay Peak did not even open AT ALL. The management refused to give us any money back, although we had a ski/splash/stay package, nor would they give us tickets for the skating rink. So I ended up having to PAY to entertain my kids, after I had already paid for skiing.
The major problem with this resort is that is is literally run by kids, and people who have been working there for 5 minutes. No one is in charge, and no one can make adjustments. When my kids went to use the laundry room the machine 'ate' their coins, the front desk told them they are not authorized to give money back...and then put OUT OF ORDER signs on the machines. So the ENTIRE hotel had NO LAUNDRY. Unacceptable when the hotel is sold out for a holiday week.
The room was nice enough and spacious enough. It was quiet, and is as ski in and out as it gets. Daily maid service was awesome, and they did a good job. Keurigs in the room, which I guess is nice for some, but when you want a POT of coffee, or you bring your own delicious coffee and cannot brew it, bummer. Bring your own french press!!!! Or suffer with crappy coffee made one teeny cup at a time...
If you like the water park or the fitness center, be aware they are both a solid 5 minute walk through tunnels to get to the Hotel Jay...btw the fitness center is very well stocked and it saved me when the snow stunk.

Room Tip: I had a corner room and have zero complaints about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keepingitanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    30
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

First of all it was a cold November day in Vermont we arrived at the Hotel and parked with Valet service which was great and fast. Check in was quick and easy. Wife, 2 girls 9,6 and me were all suprised the room was great full kitchen, Fire place and plenty of room. We went to the pizza place in the lodge and kids though it was the best pizza they ever had. Then the waterpark it was great plenty for the whole family to do. Later that night we went to the Pub/Restaurant in the hotel soup was very good but took a long time to come out so we decided not to finish our dinner there. Waitress was great she said sorry multiple times she did not know what was taking so long. So we went back to water park and kids ate at snack bar area. Arcade was good to kids loved it. Later that night we laid down in the most comfortable bed. Lots of fun things to do there and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ublrivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I'm not going to lie; I was dreading our stay at the Tram Haus/ Jay Peak (it's really one resort) after reading some of the negative reviews and the manager's comments on this site. (His comments made him seem like a jerk.) I WAS PLEASANTLY SURPRISED! We had an all around terrific experience! When we arrived, we were promptly greeted by the valets. The front desk staff was friendly. Our room was beautiful and clean. Everyone we dealt with was friendly and accommodating! The maids did a great job. Karen in the coffee shop was so nice.
My son lost his gold necklace in the water park. The manager Mr Rubin talked to the staff and they were looking for it with masks on! Impressive.
We all had a wonderful time and the kids loved the water park!
There is a 10pm quiet time. Some of the people in our party, their rooms were above the bar (3rd floor mountain view), it was loud until 1am. I guess if it's too loud you can call the desk and they will quiet things down. If you're worried about noise, ask for a different room upfront. Our room (3rd floor valley view) was quiet.
Also, they do charge a $15. Per night service charge. Is it a big deal? No but I agree with others on here-why not just include it up front?
Another minor complaint that I read, their website is hard to maneuver around. I agree. I never could find pictures of the different rooms. Is this a big deal? Not really but would have been helpful.
Also, the replies from the manager that I read on this site from Mr Wright were a real turn off! Please, it's such a wonderful hotel and experience; have someone else write those replies.
There was a wedding going on one day so we couldn't cut through to go from the the water park back to the Tram Haus. I wish the staff let the kids know they could go to the desk and ask for a shuttle. It was 17 degrees and snowing so going outside to get back to the Tram was not an option for kids who were wet and in bathing suits.
We wish there was a coffee shop/kiosk at the Tram Haus. And I do know my friend had a hard time booking the pizza party for the team in advance.
I brought up some of these MINOR issues because others had mentioned them on this site. Don't be put off! This is a GREAT hotel and water park. We had so much fun! We will plan another trip and look forward to it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23KK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

What a great setting for a hockey tournament. Park your car and leave it for the weekend as everything is right there. The design/decor of the Tramhaus units is minimalist yet spacious and highly functional - lots of beautiful wood and storage. The king bed in the 1 bdrm was extremely comfortable and we loved the duvet & pillows. The gas fireplace is a nice touch for instant warmth and atmosphere. The price was reasonable but beware there are add-on resort fees. Why not just include them in the cost because you don't have a choice. Use of the water park and ski facilities is extra so I'm sure what you're getting for the extra fee. We got more room than we needed because there were no studios left but the room we had felt luxurious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We travelled with a team of 13 year old boys for a hockey tournament and I have to say that the Tram Haus Lodge(s) were absolutely fantastic! They are like a mini-condo with one or two bedrooms available. You have everything there including a kitchenette with all the amenities including a coffee maker, pots and pans, ustensils and eating area, a family room (with a pull out couch) and in the basement you have a full bedroom with King bed as well as a washer and dryer. You can't get any better than that especially for hockey! We had room to dry out the hockey gear in the basement or wash it and lots of room to make meals or have people over. This is way better than a hotel room! We had a pot luck one night for the team hosted in one of the bigger condos and it went over without a hitch! The best part the shuttle back and forth so the boys could go to the waterpark or arcade at the main hotel and back without requiring any drives by the parents. The entire team was so happy to be at such a nice location and I would highly recommend it! BTW, if you forget any food items or liquor, you can always purchase store at the onsite store at the main hotel. Reasonable prices and a wide variety of items available for purchase.

Room Tip: We stayed in condo unit 4011 which was a one bedroom and many of the families stayed in the same uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Been to Jay Peak resort 3 times and tried both the Tram House and the Jay Hotel and The Lodge is so much nicer! The rooms have this cottage feel ans are really comfortable and well designed.
Just love the place.

Room Tip: Studios are ok if you are a couple but small with a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chagallvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We just spent the weekend at the Jay Peak Resort. Our room was in the Tram Haus Lodge. It was very new, spacious, and clean! We had a studio with kitchenette, a small dining area, gas fireplace and flat screen TV. The beds were so comfy, with down comforter and feather mattresses! We don't ski, but would definitely come back. If we were skiers, we'd be booking now!

The only downside: check in. The registration desk is small, with only two people. We waited almost half an hour to get checked in. The desk was clearly overwhelmed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jay
0.1 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
12.8 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
12.2 mi away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#4 of 5 in Sutton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Auberge des Appalaches
12.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#5 of 5 in Sutton
31 reviews
12.7 mi away
Auberge Sutton Brouerie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort

Property: The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
Address: 830 Jay Peak Rd, Jay, VT 05859-7046
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing