We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful water park”

Jay Peak Pump House
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Jay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Uncasville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful water park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The waterpark is spotless, beautiful, well managed and loads of fun. The snack bar serves typical kids' fare, but was quite good and had very friendly staff. Didn't try the bar, but it seemed to have lots of fans :-) Don't miss the Chute. My old self won major props from my son for trying it (especially since Dad refused :-)). We spent a great deal of time on the lazy river, which has enough of a current to make it fun for all ages. The surfing pool was fun, but be aware that it is to be taken seriously - we saw several people get minor injuries, which were attended to very quickly and professionally. Loved the outdoor hot tub - it was cool to sit back and watch the tram and the skiers! Seating in the water park can be tight, so get there early. I was most impressed with the customer service. We went during April School Vacation Week. Though the water park was scheduled to close at 7pm during the week (which was very well advertised as the closing time), management responded to customer requests and remained open until 9. Very unexpected and much appreciated!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsC25098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    119
    36
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great Little Park in Northern VT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Pump House water park is a fantastic family destination in northern Vermont. I have no idea how I haven't been here sooner! Our smallest family member (who is 3) enjoyed the toddler water area with dumping buckets, sprayers, and a zero-entry pool. There were complimentary life vests in all sizes, so he was able to join the family on the lazy river. The lifeguards were professional and vigilant.

Our older boys (Dad and a teen) absolutely loved the water slides. It was a busy Sunday, but cleared out quickly after 3:00pm when the week's guests headed home. We had the place to ourselves after that. Surfing was always busy, but the line moved quickly. And the upstairs bar was full, as was the hot tub. We skipped all of them in favor of a lazy day on the river, punctuated by an adrenaline-rush slide now and then.

One note: The Warming Hut snack shop offers a lot of snack and meal options; however, "warming hut" is just a name and the shop itself is freezing cold after a day in the warm water park. Brrrr! Lockers were also located around the perimeter of the park instead of near the changing rooms. It meant brining everything across the park twice to get changed. And there are not enough tables and chairs for the capacity of the venue. We were unable to find a spot to sit and eat lunch until later in the day when people cleared out. There are a handful of cabanas for rental, and I'd snag one in advance next time to ensure we had a spot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank taragl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun Family Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Visited Jay Peak Resort April 12-14. Rented a condo and visited the Pump House on Saturday with my three (young) 20-something children. We all had a great time. There was something for everyone. Indoor and outdoor hot spas, lazy river, indoor surfing and body boarding, and the tubes. If you're daring try the chute! Everyone loved it. There is also a section for small children to splash around in. There is a nice bar that overlooks the water activities and a reasonably priced cafe inside the waterpark for a bite to eat. You can also easily visit the other restaurants inside the ski resort buildings. Located inside the Jay Hotel, but close enough to the Village condos. Parking near the Jay Hotel was tough, but the resort does run shuttles. Also, it was difficult finding open chairs in the Pump House waterpark. Seemed like they were all "taken" by jackets, towels, but not people. There are a lot of lockers, but I am not sure that they were being used as much as possible. There were a lot of people in the waterpark, but it did not feel overcrowded. Overall, the Pump House is worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeachFeetGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little indoor Water Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

You can ride the tubes, play in the pools, relax in the "lazy river" or ride the Flow Rider (the best part of the park in my opinion!).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julio U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So Much Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Staff/lifeguards were incredible. The waterpark is so much fun, only thing we didn't like was that it closed too early during the week (7pm).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank boardgirl1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jay Peak Pump House also viewed

Jay, Northeast Kingdom
Jay, Northeast Kingdom
 
Jay, Northeast Kingdom
 

Been to Jay Peak Pump House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing