We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C'EST BON POUR LE MORAL!!!”
Review of Jay Peak Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jay Peak Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Certificate of Excellence
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“C'EST BON POUR LE MORAL!!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2009

The sun was shining in Montreal on Tuesday afternoon... quick decision, let's go on a short two days skiing trip at Jay Peak... A few hours later arrived at Jay Peak Resort for dinner and a bed at the bottom of the slopes. Just under U.S. $100.00 p.p./day for (1/2 day skiing day of arrival) lodging, breakfast, full day of skiing and dinner ... hard to beat deal!!! Don't expect five star lodging but staff are extremely friendly and helpfull! YOU ARE WALKING DISTANCE from the lifts or gondola. Buffet breakfast and evening menu selection is varied and one can certainly enjoy "non gastronomic food" for a few days. Skiing terrific though VERY cold on Wed. especially on Flyer quad chair... but great on Thursday. Definately a highly recommended two day great escape get away skiing trip! Don't forget the bathing suit like we did, as they have jacuzzis to warm up after the skiing!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wherenextduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    289
    97
    54
    38
See reviews for
826
110
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Walked to the front desk and got a very good deal $550US: Thu / Fri 2 nights (2 adults + 2 kids (6 & 8)) plus breakfast, evening meal and 2½ days of ski passes. The hotel is located right next to two chair lifts and the new gondola. It is therefore Ski in / out and yet prices are rock bottom. The catch is that the hotel is showing its age. The rooms are worn and the décor fading. It is well past its prime and reminded me of skiing as a teenager….. however do not be put off. Location, location, location. The staff were all most friendly and the food was first rate. Breakfast was a large buffet and the evening meal was a 3 course, with over 10 entrees including duck, ribs or pork medallions, which were all very well presented. The room had a double bed and queen size with a single bunk bed overhead… the TV was antiquated and black masking tape adorned the patio windows in a vain attempt to keep out the blowing wind. Who cares, Jay is all about the skiing. They will soon knock down the Jay Peak Hotel and you will have missed your chance to stay at a great location for next to nothing! If you want to know about the skiing, you'll find our entry under Jay Peak Travel - Before You Go.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiancaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York,New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We stayed at Jay Peak in Febuary 2008 with 3 families with kids ages 7-15 who had all skied before.We had a Blast.We stayed in 2 new slopeside condos they were great 4 bedrooms and a pullot couch and 2 large bathrooms.The kitchen was big and fully equiped and we had a washer and dryer.The best part was it was right on racoon run(great for beginers) and there are trails from the top of racoon run all the way to the main base(about a 3 minute ride on flat trail)The only thing we didnt like was the 7 hour ride from New York.

  • Liked — Slopeside condos
  • Disliked — Distance from NY(but we got to see great scenery)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Just returned from 3 great days at Hotel Jay.
Skiing was great. Hotel was nice enough.
Great package deal, that included lift tickets, breakfast and Dinner. Staff was very nice, food was good.
This is not a 5 star hotel, but certainly very adequate, if your main intent is to ski. Nothing else here but skiing. Only complaint was that walls between rooms was thin, and I was awakened at 2am by my neighbors partying. A few knocks on the wall, and they quickly quieted them down. I would highly reccommend this hotel,and the mountain.

  • Liked — friendliness and Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Age of hotel, thin walls
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sehr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2008

I've been skiing in New England for over 40 years and have always wanted to ski Jay. We spent 5 days there in one of the slopeside condos. We loved it and will be back before the season is over. Although Jay is known for being a hard core skier's mountain a friend who joined us skied for the first time and had plenty of terrain to keep her happy. My kids loved the glades. Not a place for those whose interests lie in the bar or restaurant scene. Posers will find themselves more comfortable in some of the southern Vermont ski resorts. If you enjoy skiing and spending time with your family , Jay can't be beat.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bcsmvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2008

We're just back from a 5 day stay in Jay Peak and I have to say we loved every minute. There were 3 adults in our group and none of us had ever been skiing before, and our trip to Jay Peak has turned us into true ski lovers.

We stayed in one of the luxury village condos which were beautifully clean, well equipped: TV, Washing Machine, Tumble Dryer, Microwave, Dishwasher, etc but no internet access (not that it was an issue as we were out on the slopes for the day).

The bar food in the hotel was lovely though the restaurant was very over priced for what it was. The Mini Mart has basic supplies but if you're cooking for yourselves you're better off doing a quick shop in Jay before you get to the main resort.

The Ski instructors are great and really patient. I can't rave enough about our holiday and I know we'll be back.

  • Liked — How clean and well equipped they were
  • Disliked — Heating was almost too hot and we had very little control of it
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2008

We just got back form a two night stay at Hotel Jay. It's an older hotel that's starting to show its age. The carpet in our room was a bit worn and stained. The decor in the rooms was very 1970's. Bedding was passable albeit with crusty nylon comforters. The whole hotel had a very "The Shining" vibe to it.

We had booked a room for two but were pleasently surprised that it came with a queen bed, a double bed and a single bunk bed! The size of the room was pretty large so it could have slept 5 people comfortably. The bathroom was very basic and we always had hot water.

The location of the hotel was perfect - right at the base of the mountain and relatively close to the cafeteria. Food at the cafeteria was outrageously priced (not uncommon for ski hills).

The hotel's amenities were pretty minimal. No coffee machines or small fridges in the room (we used our balcony to keep our drinks cold). No business facilities with computer or Internet. There is a cozy living room with fire place for lounging and a games room with a few arcade, pinball and vending machines. The hotel's two jacuzzi tubs and sauna were located indoors in the basement near the ski lockers...the tubs looked a bit grimey and if you value your genitals, I'd advise not stepping in.

Hotel staff were quite friendly and helpful...there is a restaurant attached to the hotel that we were able to get a free coffee in the mornings and a hot chocolate after a day of skiing. The restaurant offers a buffet breakfast for $15/person.

My only complaint is that our room faced the parking lot and one night, they started plowing the parking lot at 3:00am so we were awoken to the sound of beeping and plowing. We will try to get a room that faces the hill next time.

Overall, we had a fantastic weekend at Jay Peak and Hotel Jay was a good choice for lodgings at the hill.

  • Liked — The hotel was very close to the hill.
  • Disliked — No amenities - no coffeemaker, bar fridge, Internet
  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jay
0.1 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
12.9 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
12.4 mi away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#5 of 5 in Sutton
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sutton
31 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
72 reviews
6.6 mi away
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast ...
#1 of 2 in Montgomery Center
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jay Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jay Peak Resort

Property: Jay Peak Resort
Address: 830 Jay Peak Rd, Jay, VT 05859-7046
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jay Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jay Peak Hotel Jay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing