We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Employee drug use!!”
Review of Jay Peak Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jay Peak Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Certificate of Excellence
Jericho, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Employee drug use!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My spouse, 16 year old brother in law and my two children, infant and 1 year old booked a one bedroom suite. The room was plenty big for us with a good view. The room had minor problems such as a dirty shower, crusty dishes and dishwasher cleaner on the floor. That all seems like a big deal paying $240 a night but the worst was when we were in the water park my brother in law made small talk with a lifeguard. Turns out this specific lifeguard took him to the changing room in the family room and offered him marijuana. Later that evening my brother in law took us to the place.the guard even offered to sell him the drug. I find this a complete shame as we were planning our wedding here. Other then what's been stated, the pump house was great!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    287
    96
    52
    38
See reviews for
822
106
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Allis, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Booked lodging here as had a funeral in the area & this was the closest hotel. We explained this would be for lodging only, we weren't interested in golfing or the water park so was booked into the Stateside Hotel. Pluses: Stateside is less than a year old, everything was clean. Room was huge with a great view. Beds comfortable, room had mini fridge & microwave. Desk staff was very friendly. WiFi worked fine. Price of $99 per room couldn't be beat. Negatives: Restaurant at the Stateside was closed, meaning we had to go the 2 miles to the other side of the resort for meals. Could not gain access to hot tub with room card. After first night left rooms around 10:30 for funeral, maid service was working in rooms across the hall. When we returned that night our rooms had not been made up-no new towels, beds unmade, etc. Only 10 cars were parked in the lot (hotel is 85 rooms) so they shouldn't have been particularly taxed, they saw us leave so hard to imagine why they didn't do our rooms. On checkout, we found we had been charged a $20 per day 'Resort Fee' which we were never told about during the making of reservations or at check in. Made no sense to us as they put us in the Stateside specifically because we were using it for lodging only and had neither time for nor interest in the resort. As we had an 1100 mile drive home to do had no time to sit and argue about it. If not for the unexpected fees & lack of housekeeping this would have been a higher rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Spent a weekend at Jay. Plenty of things to do even during the spring. The front desk was very helpful and the lobby clean. The room was very comfortable and the room had a kuerig. The waterpark was huge and everyone had a great time there. The golf course was top notch and overall was a really nice place. The view from the top of the mountain was breathtaking. Well worth a trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redwing227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

After reviewing the room available for booking I reserved a Penthouse King at Hotel Jay. Upon arrival, the front desk was not very welcoming, it took someone almost 3 minutes to look up from their computer to greet me. The lobby was very nice and clean. Hallways to rooms are bland, no artwork, very dim lighting, very bland. The room, which seemed great online, was underwhelming. It was small, did not have a porch like some of the other rooms, and basic. Magazines on the table were issues from Febarury had great winter activities... none of which could be done in June. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The room was HOT ALL NIGHT LONG. We changed the thermostat to cool, yet still we were up sweating all night. Another guest in our party had the same problem in their room as well. We were disturbed early the next morning to ask if we were checking out, our fault should have put the do not disturb on the door, but after the fourth banging knock I think housekeeping should have realized we were sleeping. An amenity was delivered to my room, from a stranger. Apparently delivered to the wrong room they said. The parking lot was dirt, not conducive to a rolling suitcase. All in all, I would only come back if I was bringing a child to the water park or on a ski trip. Definitely not worth it in the summer or a weekend getaway. Hotel "resort" spread out, staff just locals with seemingly no hospitality experience, service seemed unorganized.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We booked a last minute trip a couple weeks ago and stayed in the Stateside hotel. It's about 2 miles from the waterpark and was basically brand new. I got the impression we were maybe the first people to ever stay in our room. The room was nice and well appointed. Very clean. We enjoyed the water park with our girls, ages 5 and 3. We had fun and enjoyed ourselves, but for our family, we prefer Great Wolf Lodge. The water park at JP is good but def geared towards older kids. Our girls could only go in one portion without us being right there with them. At GWL there's a whole section of small slides where we can chill in the shallow pool and watch the girls go on the slides over and over and over.....The La Chute waterslide was AMAZING and exhilarating!! Def a must ride!! All in all, we enjoyed ourselves. It was a gorgeous drive there and the countryside was lovely. Not much to do around JP though so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_Maria2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in summer for one night. The water park is beautiful. The rooms are really impressive. There was plenty to do with two young children. We took the gondola, played in arcade, and had dinner at the restaurant. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilaCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I drive 4 hrs. From Boston. NOT WORTH the trip! The hotel is dark and drab inside. The bedspread was thread bare. It's weird, our room had a tiny window that barely opened. Dark and depressing place. The Water Park is connected to the pool, which is playing LOUD pop music ALL day long! The Water Park was so LOUD between the LOUD music and water, the bartender had to ask people 2 times what they ordered! Even the outside pool all you can hear is booming music and screaming kids and parents. There is NO ADULT POOL to relax by. They don't accept AAA. When we checked in the girl said the room was $99, plus tax and "resort fee". I asked her what the $20 resort fee was? She said "it's for the complimentary coffee in the rooms and valet parking." I had to chuckle because I have NEVER paid $20 for coffee in a hotel room before! Even "resort" guests have to pay $10 per person to use the pool! The water park is $35 per adult. NOT worth it, unless you have kids 14 and under! There are hotel rooms right above the pounding LOUD Water Park. There are NO real good rooms with views of the mountains. They are obstructed by buildings. Parking garages and trams. The golf course looked nice. BUT there are NO PLACES to take nice walks! It's so depressing here. I am counting the minutes till we leave. We tried the Water Park and the. Sat outside by the pool. You cannot get away from the LOUDNESS of this place! At 4pm I had to go to our room for peace and quiet. This place is good for avid skiers or families with kids. My husband wanted a frozen strawberry margarita by the pool. You have to go to the waterpark bar to get your drinks. NO Waiter or Waitress to get your drinks for you folks!! They don't serve Frozen Strawberry Margaritas. They only serve a disgusting margarita drink with ice cubes in a plastic cup. It was gross. My husband did not even drink it and he loves any kind of drink pretty much. The Jay area is boring, tons of property for sale, no cute town to walk through like Stowe, Vermont. There is nothing at this resort, not even peace and quiet. I cannot wait to get out if here and go home first thing in the morning?

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mareawende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jay
0.1 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
12.4 mi away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#4 of 6 in Sutton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
12.9 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Auberge des Appalaches
3.3 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
6.6 mi away
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast ...
#1 of 2 in Montgomery Center
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jay Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jay Peak Resort

Property: Jay Peak Resort
Address: 830 Jay Peak Rd, Jay, VT 05859-7046
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Jay Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jay Peak Hotel Jay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing