We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you know what your getting into...”
Review of Jay Peak Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jay Peak Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Up until recently I had only experienced Jay as a skier. Wonderful mountain from that viewpoint, albeit crowded on the weekends and now with the addition of a full on resort I can only imagine it getting worse. Not enough skiable terrain and lift access to sustain the resort that they are promoting.
On another note was up there for a 2 day golf weekend. Here is the recap
Check-In: Well it took us 3 rooms (Golf Cottage) to finally get it right. 1st cottage had a nest of houseflies in it (how do you miss that?) and the phone didn't work so we had to srive back to the front desk. 2nd Room...beds unmade and finally settled in the 3rd cottage, 2hrs later (phone didn't work either, LOL). At that point it was late and we just wanted to get settled. We are also told we would receive a discount for our troubles...that NEVER happened.
Buyer beware...at 6am all the maintainence vehichles depart to the course for the day so if you are in the path you will be awoken as the maintenance shed is in the thick of the development.
Jay Peak Clubhouse/Golf: FANTASTIC!
Waterpark: Great for the kids but tiring I am sure for adults. They started breaking down the bar 2 hours before close incasing us between stools. How considerate!
Foundry Pub: Simple buffet breakfast but the mozzarella and calimari apps were tasteless and meager in terms of porportions. I brought it up with the bartender and he got all defensive. Ddidn't even offer to take it off the bill nor offer a free drink. All we were left with was over hearing him complain about how "he could wait to get away from the place."
Tower Bar: Nice set up. Me the Restaurant Mgr who was sympathetic to our experience and offered us a free app of maple flavored bacon with green apple slices on bread. Awesome! He was a very good guy to boot.
As someone who spends a lot of time in neighboring ski resport I can be sympathetic with the owners of Jay. Its hard to find and recruit talent to want to come up to such a remote location with nothing off mountain to offer. One thing that Jay and other NE resorts need to grasp is that they are in the hospitality business. You see it out west but not in NE. The attitude of the staff is not very welcoming and to the most point, lazy.
Jay Peak needs to expand its offseason offerings beyond golf...need zip lines, mtn biking, hiking and other activities to really make it a week long destination. What they are doing is great but they need to pay attention to detail and get their staff to be accountable.

Room Tip: Beware of the noise if you are opting for a golf cottage. perhaps its only temporary but the mainten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DasVerargerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoveUp_JPR, Manager at Jay Peak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thanks for the feedback Jonny but sorry for the ange--r though, by the avatar, it doesn't appear-at least--that we were the root cause.

Nevertheless, we take our guest's feedback, not to mention their satisfaction--if not their anger, seriously. Curious as to your pedigree and what allows you to make a comment suggesting the current ski infrastructure is incapable of handling our skier traffic. Assuming you're a resort owner-albeit one that hasn't been here in a few years. If I'm wrong, your basis is baseless, so I'll move on to address your concerns. Suffice to say, our trail, lift and guest service infrastructure is more than capable of handling guest loads well north of what we're experiencing. At least currently.

I've asked about any recent bouts with houseflies which, unfortunately, are not altogether uncommon in this neck of the woods--no matter how improbably clean all of our units tend to be. I think the issue you may have encountered was a result of the unit, in question, having not been rented for several weeks. Even in the most airtight units, nature can have at it. I believe the big brains call it entropy. Something like that. Regardless, it certainly isn't the norm--as hundreds of reviews here fore and aft have attested to, and we'd love the opportunity to offer you a free night to show you a better face.

Oh and sorry our Mozz balls left you, angry. Truth be told, they aren't my favorite thing on the menu either and it's likely they'll be rotated off. Again, and as per other reviews here, we feel pretty good about our menu at The Foundry (and as you identify, Alice's Table) and would happy to suggest an appetizer, on us, that's likely to welcome Happy, Content, possibly joyful Jonny back into the fold. Reach out to our almost inordinately happy Hotel General Manager, Dave Hayes, and he can help you out. dhayes@jaypeakresort.com

You're also right--recruiting and keeping good talent can be tough anywhere--especially up this way. And our staff hospitality reviews have mostly been 4-star. Still, we aren't beyond reproach and will sometimes fall short. We appreciate hearing these thoughts so we can address and improve them. Accountability. Detail. Friendliness. We will continue to work on them and create a better, happier experience-for sure.

I do appreciate the feedback and hope we get a chance to see you again.

Best

steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,015 - 1,021 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We bought a travelzoo voucher to try this resort out for the first time and I must say I was very impressed. It was a Sunday night in Sept, so it was very quiet The room was very large, clean and very comfortable. Keurig coffee machine, comfy bed and a great view. I was super impressed (and that says a lot sinc ei am normally a Hilton / Sheraton girl) The people who came with me were a little disappointed with the lack of a chair int heir room and had comments about the water pressure, but when you are in the middle of a mountain, I think you need to realize your shower pressure is not going to be super strong...esp when they have that waterpark attached to the hotel. The waterpark was great. The only negative thing I have to say is, although the restaurants were decent, they are not overly kid friendly. I have a 3 year old and he was served his drink in a glass two times instead of a plastic cup, huge portions for the kids meals and they are clearly not prepared to deal with kids, although the staff made every effort to try and accomodate us when asked.
Great trip and we will go back again and again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent one night here, but made the most of it. The main hotel is new and of very high quality, with large and comfortable rooms, very good restaurants and fun on-site activities. Many rooms are designed for multiple day stays, with kitchens and separate living rooms, and great views. Activities are abundant and range from the incredible adjacent water park to golf and hiking to the tram ride.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We didn't know what to expect going to Jay Peak - we were going to a wedding - but when we got there we were amazed at the scale of it. A huge hotel was built in 2011 and it looks like no expenses were spared. The rooms were beautifully decorated, and the common spaces very grand -- all with a great eye for detail. My favorite part was the main staircase between 2 buildings, in which the staircase going up to the mountain perfectly framed the tip of Jay Peak -- almost 4,000 feet - breathtaking.

Room Tip: They didn't have a regular room at first because we called late but I asked them to put me on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverapple857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a wonderful weekend we spent at the Hotel Jay. From the beautiful scenery to the shops, Water Park, and friendly staff all was very enjoyable. 1 Bedroom suite was spacious.
The only minor critique is associated with a lack of knowledge/awareness. Staff should have been a bit more informed about weekend activities.We were there for a Running Festival and the reservation clerk had very little information about lodging options or group rates, and the front desk was not entirely sure of the schedule of events.
Overall, however, we would highly recommend Jay as a destination worthy of the journey.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunnerNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I attended wedding held at Jay Peak over the Labor Day weekend. We stayed overnight and the room was small, but very comfortable. The beds were the most comfortable hotel beds we had slept in for a long time. The room was also very quiet, not usual in a long corridor of rooms. The overall layout of the hotel is very nice and the food at the wedding reception was excellent. The hotel was very busy, but the front desk staff did a good job of keeping the line moving. Rooms were very clean. The Hotel Jay or Inn at Jay can be a bit daunting to find on the internet, but you can google it. We did not get to visit the waterpark, but it looked awesome. We did ride the tram to the top of the mountain, great views, but the restaurant is closed right now.

Room Tip: You may want to stay in a suite instead of a regular room. It was only $20 more per night than a reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunamoth2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My mom, my husband, and I spent a night at the new Hotel Jay on Labor Day weekend. We got a good deal due to participating in the Jay Peak Trail Running Festival. Two hundred bucks and we got waterpark access both Friday and Saturday (only stayed Friday night) for the three of us, plus free tram rides. The room was beautiful. Full size kitchen - we didn't need it - but it was a nice bonus. Living room had a Murphy bed and a pull-out sofa, a balcony that you could actually sit on (ever rented a room that has a balcony you can barely step out on?!), a fireplace, and wall-mounted flat screen TV. Separate bedroom had a king size bed and balcony. A small changing room to keep your ski gear out of the way, or put your luggage in. Large bathroom.

Unfortunately, we didn't realize the waterpark closed at 8pm. We showed up at 7:50, after a great all-you-can-eat BBQ at Alice's Restaurant (only in summer, only $20, includes sunset tram ride!). We were disappointed to get one quick spin around the lazy river before we had to get out of the water.

An annoying part of the room - the lights! Couldn't figure out what switch went to what light. If this one is on, then that one won't come on, but if this one is off, then the other will. Very confusing. The bathroom fan is not powerful enough. Despite the doors in the room (bathroom, bedroom) being solid wood, they do not block out noise from the next room at all.

What was extremely frustrating for us was the check-out. We were participating in the Jay Peak Trail Running Festival Saturday morning. 3 back-to-back 5Ks. 8:30, 9:30, & 10:30. Checkout was at 11:00. They were sold out for Saturday night and would only extend checkout 'til 11:30. We had our bags packed and ready early that morning, but we really just wanted to take a nice, hot (private) shower in the room, not in the waterpark locker room!!! They would not budge and said it would be $100 if we stayed past 11:30. We only needed the room until noon. 11:30 did us no good - we would've finished our runs, got our shirts, and had to sprint up to the room with moments to spare to get out by 11:30. Instead showered in the waterpark locker room, had to bring soap and shampoo from the hotel room. I understand they had a lot of rooms to clean for incoming guests, but surely not everyone was asking for a late check-out. They couldn't see past 11:30 (and we asked three different people at the desk at different times). This was a major disappointment.

Room Tip: Ask for slopeside for a better view. We had the parking lot view...but that also provided a gorgeou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jay
0.1 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
12.9 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
12.3 mi away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#4 of 5 in Sutton
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Auberge Sutton Brouerie
3.3 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
77 reviews
6.6 mi away
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast ...
#1 of 2 in Montgomery Center
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jay Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jay Peak Resort

Address: 830 Jay Peak Rd, Jay, VT 05859-7046
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Price Range: $122 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jay Peak Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jay Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jay Peak Hotel Jay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing