We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluce Village Condos are EXCELLENT”
Review of Jay Peak Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jay Peak Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Deluce Village Condos are EXCELLENT”
Reviewed January 15, 2008

We stayed in the Deluxe Village Condos - 2 families with 6 teenagers ages 12-18.

These condos are owned independently and rented via the Resort. They are absolutely fabulous -- lots of room, brand new throughout, a bathroom for every bedroom, full and equipped kitchen, huge dining area, living room with gas fireplace, huge balcony. The 3 bedroom condo (we booked a 2 and a 3 bedroom) had a grade entrance to a cloak room area (undress, store equipment) and a separate living space for the kids. The condos were ski in, ski out, though not off the main runs, but certainly nicely accessible.

The Resort people aim to please -- we arrived at midnight during a heavy snowstorm and they escorted us to our condo, and even plowed out parking spaces for our vans. They are extremely accommodating and want to help.

The only drawback is that there is no hot tub except for at the main hotel, which we had to drive to (only 5 mins). Definately something that we always enjoy and missed on this trip!

The snow was great. Get up early and get out as the afternoon tends to cool down quickly as the sun goes behind the mountain. Cafeteria food good and typical pricing ($15 for a large beer, soup and sandwich). No food or huts on the mountain. A few restaurants in Jay (we enjoyed the Village Inn) along with a reasonably stocked General Store.

The tram was overrated, but you gotta do it once I guess. Kinda like the TTC (Toronto subway) at rush hour. When you think you are full, they pack ten more people in. It only goes a bit further than the highest chair lift, but faster and warmer.

A great family holiday, we will go back!!

  • Liked — First class, lots of room, everthing you need
  • Disliked — No Hot Tub
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairbaij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    289
    97
    52
    38
See reviews for
825
107
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2007

Jay Peak is running a refreshingly honest advertising campaign. An attractive "older" woman relaxes in a bubble bath sipping on champagne...the caption: "I like black diamonds, they sound expensive".

In effect their pitch is that if you aren't going for the skiing, then you don't belong there.

We visited the resort after a very early storm brought massive amounts of snow to the mountain in early December 2007. The skiiing was excellent, but we were disappointed that about a third of the mountain remained closed on the first of our two days.

We stayed at the "Slopeside" condos operated by the resort. They are conveniently located with ski-in/ski-out access. However luxurious they ain't.

Our two bedroom unit had all the basics, but nothing more. The larger bedroom accomodated a queen bed and dresser, but was not spacious. The second bedroom had two twin beds, but the room was so small that the door couldn't be opened more than half-way as one of the beds blocked it. Living room was comfortable with a pull-out couch, sitting chair and coffee table. There was a smallish TV and DVD/VCR player.

The kitchen and dining room seemed fully equipped, although we didn't use either.

The bathroom was clean and functional.

Jay Peak Resort also operates the Jay Hotel at the base of the mountain, and there is a restaurant that serves a very good breakfast buffet ($10) and mediocre/overpriced dinners ($19-$26). Surprisingly there is no easy way to get from the condos to the restaurant. You have the choice of walking through the snow, across the bunny hill, or walking following the road (with no street lights) through the parking lot.

On the second night we decided to leave the resort for dinner. There was no information in the condo about local restaurants, even though that would have been helpful. We drove 4 miles to the town of Jay, and had a reasonable meal at the Jay Village Inn, although service was slow and inattentive.

You have to hand it to the marketers at Jay Peak Resort, they have taken something that could be a liability (mediocre accomodation and dining options at the resort) and turned it into a marketing pitch. Go to Jay Peak for the skiing, but don't expect much more than that.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smbrannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

Booked a standard room at Hotel Jay for a recent wedding. I was surprised about how inexpensive it was, but decided that it must be because of the off season. When we arrived, the heat was not on in our wing of the hotel. There was a small heater in our room that wasn't working properly. The room was absolutely disgusting - the carpet was HEAVILY stained, the bathroom was filthy, there were dead bugs around the room and the beds were hard as rocks.

My husband has been known to stay in some pretty seedy hotels, and even he was mortified that this was the condition of our hotel room. Luckily, we were able to upgrade (for double the price) to one of the recently built condos on the property. The condo was absolutely amazing. The kitchen had granite countertops and stainless appliances. The whole place was impressively clean. There was a nice fireplace in the living area.

I would HIGHLY recommend the newest condos at Jay Peak, but do yourself a favor and stay FAR away from the pathetic Hotel Jay.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank BOStraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2005

We stayed in a luxury 2 bedroom village condo over the Presidents Day weekend. The condo was beautiful, bright and clean and right next to the slopes. My only complaint was the blankets which looked grubby and were about as soft as horse blankets! The condo was pricey but included lift tickets and easily slept 5 of us. While the condos are self catering, we went to the Hotel Jay for dinner with the kids one night. The Hotel looks kind of basic but the restaurant had a nice family friendly atmosphere - most of the kids were making use of the nearby gameroom/TV while the adults waited for the food. A word of warning - I don't know whether it was because of the holiday weekend, but reservations were definitely required - there are few dining choices in the resort and I saw some pretty frantic families being turned away. Oh and the food was expensive and mediocre at best - but after a few glasses of wine and with the kids happily munching on chicken nuggets - who cares!

Helpful?
19 Thank lindsayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 26, 2004

As hotels go, Hotel Jay is about as standard as they come. Nothing to write home about, but not really lacking much. Its all there. The TV, the phone, etc. Its a little worn, but everything worked. They even had a nice little balcony to set the beer on to keep it cold.

The best thing about the hotel is that it is close to everything. The restaurant is right downstairs along with a bar. The tram is next door along with the Double Eagle Saloon. A convenience store is across the parking (they have beer).

The daycare situation is great. From 9 AM to 9 PM, you can leave kids 2-7 at the daycare. From 5-9 PM the daycare is in the hotel in the lounge/game room area. They'll even feed them dinner (for $6) so you can eat in peace.

Speaking of eating, the food is really good in the restaurant. Get it included with your room, because it can be a little pricey if you pay for it separately.

They bad things were: The doors let in too much noise from outside; the hot tube was in a back room downstairs (very dreary); and room with the ski lockers had quite an odor.

All in all the thing that makes the Hotel Jay a great place to stay is all of the things right around it. The condos are much nicer, but either you're fixing your own meals or you're driving down to base area (where Hotel Jay is) for food and drink.

Oh, and the skiing is really good, too. I was there in late March. Most of the people were coming down from Montreal because Jay was the only place with snow left. Glade skiing is one of Jay Peaks' strong points. They have all levels of glade (tree) skiing. If you can ski a green slope, you can ski Bushwacker. They go all the way up to serious, narrow, steep glades.

If you get a chance, take in the veiw from the top of Jay Peak. After you get off the tram and are heading to the slopes, look for a set of stairs on your left. From the top of the stairs you can walk up to the very top and get a fantastic view.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
52 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jay
0.1 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
12.9 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
12.4 mi away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#4 of 5 in Sutton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Auberge des Appalaches
3.3 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
72 reviews
6.6 mi away
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast ...
#1 of 2 in Montgomery Center
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jay Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jay Peak Resort

Property: Jay Peak Resort
Address: 830 Jay Peak Rd, Jay, VT 05859-7046
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Jay Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jay Peak Hotel Jay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing